We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pub-Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of An Sugan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
An Sugan
Ranked #12 of 16 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pub-Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Delightfully, friendly Inn; Room accommodation very friendly; Dining very, very good; Owner and staff pleasantly efficient, yet, extremely welcoming. Would definitely recommend staying here when touring West Cork.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. It means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    11
    7
    14
See reviews for
21
51
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a very well known and liked west cork restaurant and bar. Specialising in sea food but with good all round menu. The home made chicken gougans are delcious, and really cosy eating in front of the fire. Reasonably priced and good for families as well, call in if you are in Clonakilty shopping or passing through.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks Dave for taking the time to give us feedback. Its very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband is from this town and we have stayed in many places over the years. An Sugan is just SO charming and beautiful. The location in the smack middle of this gorgeous little West Cork coastal town can't be beat. We have been going to their restaurant for 30 years but this is the first time we stayed there . The dining room where they serve an amazing Irish breakfast ( everything homemade) is bright and sunny . Adjacent to that is a beautiful fireplaced living room. The bedrooms are bright and extremely comfortable , irons in the room which was very helpful as we were attending a family wedding. My only suggestion would be for them to have a few adapter plugs for US/or Europe > UK for guests to use . We would HIGHLY Recommend to anyone visiting Clonakilty!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsayOdonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback Lindsay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the stay on our guesthouse and are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a lovely meal in An Sugan this weekend.

We shared the Clonakilty pudding starter which was a lovely mix of white and black pudding. A must for any tourist when in Clonakilty.

I had the mixed seafood in the filo bowl which was really nice and my fiancée had the seasbass which was even nicer.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murpmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks you so much for your review and kind comments.
We really appreciate you taking out the time to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Comfortable bed clean room and spacious! Breakfast was a big let down. Myself and my partner both ordered a full Irish. I got scrambled egg instead of the fried egg. The scrambled egg was awful and both plates were swimming in grease it was like the frying pan was just turned over completely on the plate.. I ate half a rasher and couldn't look at the rest. My partner ate his but only because he was hungry! For me I simply thought it looked disgusting. I have stayed here before and had no complaints so maybe it was a different chef. Overall very disappointing.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maireadsemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Please accept our sincere apologies.
We take this very serious and will look into the matter raised and make sure it will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I completely agree with the previous review which was also my experience. Being a solo traveller it's always difficult to find somewhere which won't charge you over the top. At €30 for a lovely single room with a breakfast included, I felt it was really good value for money. The waitress who showed me to my room was very friendly and helpful, found a place for my bike in the foyer and happy to search through her pamphlets for a pub with music for the evening. I decided also to have my evening meal there, as the atmosphere in the restaurant was warm and comfortable and the food was delicious. I would recommend it to anyone going through Clonakilty and I also must add that I loved the artwork on the walls, fabulous !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
And thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Hope to see you again soon some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked 2 nights B+B at An Sugan and were really impressed with the gorgeous rooms, great shower, crisp white bedlinen and fab location,all this for €35 B+B per nite! the breakfast is to die for especially the Irish Mist porridge+ scrambled eggs+ smoked salmon. Previous comments on staff were certainly not our experience with everyone being friendly+ helpful. Would definitely recommend the restaurant the atmosphere, food and portions were superb. Will be back!

Room Tip: The bedroom windows are single-glazed so if you have trouble sleeping ask for a room at the back as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosieposie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezebel5, Public Relations Manager at An Sugan, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.2 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
0.7 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Sugan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Sugan

Property: An Sugan
Address: 41 Wolfe Tone Street | Co.Cork, Clonakilty 00000, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — An Sugan 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Georgian property, once home to poetess Mary Jane Irwin, An Sugan is a family-run guesthouse and seafood restaurant. Located at the heart of the historic city of Clankilty, the guesthouse is 10 minutes' walk from Clonakilty Museum, which boasts a display of Michael Collins memorabilia. Each room at An Sugan feature a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, and tea/coffee making facilities. The furniture is chic and modern and guests can enjoy a stylish environment. Yoghurt, cereals, and Full Irish breakfast are also included in the room rate. Next door to the guesthouse, the An Sugan seafood restaurant boasts an award-winning menu which is designed to complement fresh fish delivered daily and local produce. Guests can enjoy the West Cork Seafood Pie and Traditional Fresh Fish & Hand-Cut Potato Chips. The restaurant also offers lighter options and home-made desserts. 5 Km from the property, Inchydoney offers beautiful beaches and scenic views of the sea. Whale watching, fishing and surfing are amongst the activities available in this seaside town. Templebryan Stone Circle, also known as the Druid Temple, is 2 and half km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your An Sugan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing