We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten out of ten”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glendine Irish Home
Ranked #5 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in six hotels and b&bs during a recent trip to Ireland, and this was by far the best of them; Mari and Mick are wonderful hosts, and it was a real pleasure to stay in their lovely home. We were welcomed with tea and rhubarb muffins (delicious!), and lots of helpful advice about local places to visit and eat. Rooms are comfortable and well-equipped. Breakfast was excellent - bread, marmalade and jam all homemade, locally sourced meat and yogurts, and eggs from their own hens. A great place - I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendine, Owner at Glendine Irish Home, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hi Melissa,

It's great to hear from you so soon after your stay with us. I hope your trip home was a pleasant one and that you're totally refreshed and ready to hit the books again. We were actually talking about you after you left because we couldn't remember the name of that Irish poet/writer that you recommended to us and it was a name we had never heard. Mari has been tearing her hair out over it since. Before she goes bald completely, perhaps you might be good enough to drop us a quick email on glendine@eircom.net with the name. We'd really appreciate it....and it'll save me the price of a wig for Mari :-)

Many thanks and regards to Peter,

Mick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 115 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

My friend and i were driving long distances around the UK & Ireland and had been staying in youth hostels. Originally we had tried for accommodation in Cork but was all sold out due to a Bruce Springsteen concert! However the Glendine B&B and the wonderful hospitality of Mari & Mick helped recharged our batteries. They provided details of where to eat & drink and there was even an offer to come & pick us up from the pub! We enjoyed a delicious home cooked breakfast and had us wishing to stay longer. Definitely a highlight of our time spent in Ireland.

thanks Simone & Melanie

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendine, Owner at Glendine Irish Home, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hi Girls,

You're so good to put up this kind review of your stay with us. As I mentioned when you were here, isn't Bruce Springsteen a great man when he can make money for me, even though he's playing over 30 miles away :-) .

Anyway I hope that your trip around Ireland was a memorable one. You certainly enjoyed some of the finest weather we'd had here in years.

Many thanks,

Mick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent accomodation My english partner and i have just spent 0ne night in this BB and we absolutly do not regret our choice ! The bedroom was a good size and very comfortable, the bathroom was very well equiped and the viewpoint was great .
Some words now about the welcome : very very kind !
Oh yes about the breakfast : delicious ! Thanks to Mari for her excellent home made bread !
By foot this BB is around ten minutes far from the town centre .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudeGrenoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendine, Owner at Glendine Irish Home, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Claude,

Thank you for your very nice review on your stay with us. As I mentioned to you when you were here, we took a three week holiday in your lovely country since and it was wonderful. We didn't get as far as Grenoble this time. Lyon was as close as we got. However we had a fabulour time on our journey with Rosebud. I hope you had as much enjoyment while on your travels here too.

Lovely meeting you and regards to Kathy.

Mick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

In our experience over many years this accommodation beats the lot ~ A very warm welcome by Mari and Mick ~ very clean and comfortable ~ great food ~ we were given very useful information and maps which allowed us to gain the maximum enjoyment from this wonderful area of West Cork . Transportation to and from local Restaurants was offered every evening . Also Muffins were waiting for us in our rooms on our return each day ~ Most welcome !! This B and B is of a very high standard . This is the perfect base to explore the West Cork Area . Thank you Mari and Mick for your wonderful hospitality and kindness ~ Roma,Roger and Rachel .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendine, Owner at Glendine Irish Home, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hi Folks,

Thank you for your lovely review on your recent stay with us. You also made it a pleasant few days for us, particularly the 'few drops' in the evenings and that's not the rain we're talking about :-). Glad you made it back to Wales safe and well. Looks like the Summer has finally arrived so hope you take some time out and soak up some of that long awaited sun.

Warmest regards to all,

Mick & Mari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is my second stay at Glendine. I was there for a couple of nights in December 2011 to run the Clonakilty marathon and in February 2013 to run the Back2Back marathons. Both Mari and Mick were delightful hosts and made me most welcome. The accommodation and the food was excellent and just what I needed in order to recover from running in this beautiful part of the West Cork. The scenery in the area is lovely and the sea views excellent. Glendine is definitely a great base from which to explore and the people are so friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendine, Owner at Glendine Irish Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Hi David,

Thank you for your review. You must be nearly recovered at this stage. Back to back marathons is definitely an early sign of dementia. It's madness to do it once, but twice in two days !!!!! Still, well done on completing them. It's a feat not many people can boast of.

Looking forward to seeing you again sometime.

Cheers,

Mick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife, Jill and I stayed at the Glendine in mid September, 2012. Mari and Mick are fantastic hosts. The inn and rooms are very clean and well maintained. The breakfast was wonderful, very filling and a great start to the day. We chose to stay there based on the Trip Advisor reviews and were very pleased with the choice and the value. The location is great. It is about a 10 minute walk to the downtown area. Plenty of restaurants. The walk back is a little up hill, but not strenuous. Highly recommended. You will be very happy you chose to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendine, Owner at Glendine Irish Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Hi John,

Thank you for your review. If my memory serves me correct, you and Jill were here during your honeymoon. Glad to see that ye've made it past the first six months together. Hopefully you'll enjoy many more. Maybe as the big anniversaries go by you might decide to retrace those steps again and if God spare us, we'll still be here.

Cheers,

Mick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night in December 2012 and chose it after reading other reviews on here.

Mick welcomed us with tea and delicious homemade muffins and gave us some great recommendations as to where we should go, and also very helpfully a map! Our room was large, well furnished and spotlessly clean and the books and magazines were a real thoughtful touch.

As other reviewers have mentioned Mick very kindly offered to drive us into town and pick us up afterwards - definitely above and beyond the call of duty and very generous.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I don't think I ever got chance to tell Mari just how amazing her homemade bread, jam and marmalade was - I hope you read this at some point!

I'm so pleased that we stayed here - the name Irish Home is definitely true, we were heartily welcomed into Mick and Mari's beautiful home and it was a pleasure to meet such lovely people.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendine, Owner at Glendine Irish Home, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Hi Kate & Helen,
It's lovely to hear that you got home safe and well. I hope you enjoyed you few days of 'Pete McCarthy revisited'. Mari has also read your very kind review of your stay with us and is delighted that you enjoyed it so much.
I hope that you have a very merry Christmas and a happy New Year for 2013, especially for Kate!!
Cheers,
Mick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.9 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macliam Lodge
Macliam Lodge
#4 of 15 in Clonakilty
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
An Sugan
An Sugan
#12 of 15 in Clonakilty
117 reviews
3.1 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
3.4 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendine Irish Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendine Irish Home

Address: Tawnies Upper, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range: $111 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendine Irish Home B&B, Clonakilty is a traditional, charming, relaxing bed and breakfast accommodation in the beautiful and unspoiled region of West Cork, Ireland. King sized beds occupy all spacious en-suite bedrooms. Mari & Mick's B&B accommodation caters exclusively for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glendine Irish Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing