We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will hard to find better, the homebaking is simple great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glendine Irish Home
Ranked #5 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Mick & Mari run a great B&B together, Mick is an excellent host with great local knowledge & advice of what to do & where to go. Mari works very hard in the kitchen & makes some fo the nicest cakes & scones we had on our trip.

Our room was spotlessly clean with the spacious bathroom, the bed was very comfortable and we had a brilliant nights sleep waking to a lovely view & the smell of coffee brewing. Breakfast was divine with a great selection & a very nice change. The homemade breads by Mari would make you want to stay & return again, recipes have been shared and the challenge is on to see if, when baked in the US the results are the same.

Mick & Mari take great pride in their home & in the manner in which they tend to their guests & we felt right at home & really welcome in their home.

We cannot recommend highly enough & hope to return if we ever visit that area again

Room Tip: you simply have to try the home baking
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JunGraham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Glendine Irish Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 113 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

Greeted by Mari with tea and cake on arrival Glendine promised good things!
The room was large, well equipped and very clean. That evening the local knowledge was much appreciated. Mari gave us a choice of recommended places to eat and the local music spot An Teach Beag - worth a visit for true Irish music.
The choice at breakfast was excellent, and where possible sourced locally - and great to meet the local sausage producer hand delivering the sausages the day before! Even down to homemade jams and Micks homemade pate!
Both Mick & Mari made sure we didn't want for anything, and if we did....they'd go to great lengths to help. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em45masham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have visited Ireland many times, playing golf and staying at many lovely bed and breakfast inns. This was probably going to be our last trip for golf as our walking is now limited. What a pleasure it was to enjoy Mari's and Mick's warm hospitality for our final memories of this beautiful country. Our room was very comfortable but the wonderful breakfasts were the highlight -- so much so that we very much wanted the recipe for the Irish soda bread. Mari generously showed us how it was made in her lovely kitchen and then, when her recipe did not quite work with American ingredients, emailed her suggestions until we finally got it right! There are many interesting places to visit nearby and, of course, plenty of golf courses. We especially enjoyed visiting the museum in Cobh describing the terrible potato famine and resulting emigration to America. We highly recommend Glendine Irish Home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Hanly's run an establishement that sets the mark for excellence in accomodations and service. The home is beautiful and flawlessly maintained, the decorating is tasteful and has thee ambience of "home". Tea seems to be ready at any moment. The Hosts, Mr. and Mrs. Hanly are inteligent, witty and concerned about their customer's comfort.
The food is excellent and the menu discloses a sensitivity to environmental issues and the health benefits or organic foods. I have travelled Ireland for over 30 years and have never found a finer lodging. For the wearied traveller 'Glendine" is surely a sanctuary.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a best room ....they are all uniformly wonderful.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlaviusSylva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is a lovely, friendly b&b complete with homemade cake & tea on arrival (we got millionaires shortbread, amazing). We were told not to waste our money on a taxi home after our evening out and given Mairi's mobile number to call for a lift home, when we had car problems the next day Mick brought out his toolbox to see if he could help. A genuinely lovely, lovely place to stay & if I find myself back in Clonakilty I won't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorrW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I really enjoyed our stay at Glendine. It is run by a lovely couple who make you feel right at home as well as giving you all the info you need to know on the local area. The b&b Is situated above Clon, 8 min walk down 10 min up with a lovely view and nice and quiet. Great beds, showers and a quality breakfast. Absolutely no complaints!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanCairnsNualaSheehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This was our 8th trip to Ireland and Glendine House is one of the best places we’ve stayed. It is the perfect place for those seeking good food, a great location, and an excellent night sleep. The breakfast menu is extensive, with of course the traditional Irish available, but choices such as salmon, fruit platters, and other delicious selections were amazing. Fresh bread, muffins, scones, and other bakery goods were much appreciated on arrival, with breakfast, and after a good day’s hike. Glendine’s location allowed us to easily walk to Clonakilty, although Mick is always quick to offer transportation to and from town. Cork, Cobh, the Beara, and even Killarney are all easily accessed. There are abundant ruins nearby, some within easy walking distance. The area is also rich with political history. As for bedrooms, ours was incredibly quiet, the large bed was undoubtedly the most comfortable we’ve ever experienced in Europe, and the hot shower could not have been better.

While we love seeing the country, for us the most meaningful experiences come from the connections with people. The owners of Glendine house, Mari and Mick, are two of the best! They are a wealth of information on the history of the area. They epitomize Irish hospitality and Irish humor and are brilliant together! Just asking them for directions became a great source of laughter. Staying with Mari and Mick was one of the highlights of our 3-week trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SimnCaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.9 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
388 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
258 reviews
0.9 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macliam Lodge
Macliam Lodge
#3 of 15 in Clonakilty
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendine Irish Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendine Irish Home

Address: Tawnies Upper, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range: $105 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendine Irish Home B&B, Clonakilty is a traditional, charming, relaxing bed and breakfast accommodation in the beautiful and unspoiled region of West Cork, Ireland. King sized beds occupy all spacious en-suite bedrooms. Mari & Mick's B&B accommodation caters exclusively for adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Glendine Irish Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing