We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay”
Review of An Garran Coir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
An Garran Coir
Ranked #7 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 15, 2009

It was about 2 years since we stayed and I meant to do a review but better late than never. This is a modern well kept home with beautiful views if the weather had been better! The only thing against it and it is not a problem really was that the jaccuzzi part of the bath in our ensuite wasn't working. And there wasn't much tv channels either but we were there to see the sights so that really doesn't count. We had thought is was nearer a village or town, but it is out in the middle of the countryside so there is no local pub to walk to which was a downside but the property itself was very clean and well maintained.

It has a lovely garden and even private tennis court should you wish to work up an appetite for the lovely breakfast which was set out in a lovely dinning room like a top notch hotel. The pancakes were supreme!

It was great value for money, the room was massive for a B & B and so was the ensuite, with it's own full size window, you normally get a dark poky windowless ensuite in B & Bs and hotels, not here, bright, airy, clean, modern with fluffy towels.

We were greeted by the man of the house who was a very friendly chatting fellow and he even offered to carry our bags to our room, even though he was older than my partner! They have lots of leaflets and tourist information available to their guest and they even have binoculars in the guest lounge for you to view the countryside. Every little detail thought of.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2008

My son and I stayed at the An Garran Coir for ten days and we enjoyed every one of them. The place reflected the friendliness and warmth of its owners in every detail. The surroundings were perfect for families with children. The landscape looked like taken directly from an irish picturebook.
Our room was comfortable, clean and very cosy. Sitting in the comfortable chairs and having tea in the evening was the perfect ending to our days. Adapters for central-european electrical plugs were provided.
The irish breakfast was delicious and kept our hunger away easily until 5 o'clock in the afternoon. Try to have an evening meal at the hotel at least once. The landlady is a great chef and the vegetables are usually homegrown.
The guarded Inchydony beach is about 7 km away and also features an inexpensive hotel restaurant. There are other beaches nearer to the hotel, which are not guarded and more quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank noerdlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2006

This award winning farmhouse was one of our favorite B&B's during our 3 week vacation! Located in the rolling farmhills west of Clonakilty, this B&B had panaromic views of farms and is minutes from powdery sand beaches. This was the most amazing breakfast...we actually had eggs benedict instead of the typical Irish breakfast (although that is available from the vast breakfast menu). What a peaceful place to stay!

7  Thank nanaBnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Taldira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wij hebben maar een kamer gehad en die was geweldig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemarie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank did45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Nico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
433 reviews
0 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
183 reviews
0 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
163 reviews
0 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Garran Coir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Garran Coir

Address: An Garran Coir An Garranecore Rathbarry/Castlefreke, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Price Range: $105 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — An Garran Coir 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your An Garran Coir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing