We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why so grumpy?”

Aris Cafe & Wine Bar
Ranked #25 of 47 Restaurants in Clonakilty
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: We are delighted to bring you a taste of West Cork in beautiful Clonakilty. We opened in 2012 and are constantly improving our menus to bring something special to your experience with us. A simple yet locally sourced and affordable menu await even the most discerning palate, and our freshly baked cakes, scones and home-baked goods will tempt anyone. Added to that are local cheese, meats, chutneys, jams and salads. With specials every day on our menu, there is always something to enjoy. Cool and Refreshing Experience something out of the ordinary with our hand-picked collection of craft beers. With a small but varied selection of micro brews, we've done the hard work so you don't have to. While there are a few familiar beers available, why not enjoy a cider from Kinsale, or one of a range of refreshments from the Dungarvan Brewing Company.
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Why so grumpy?”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have been two Aris twice now, both just for coffee or drinks, and I have to say the staff, on both occassions, seemed completely uninterested and rude. On my last visit, I asked if they were still doing breakfast. It was 10:45. The waitress just gave me a gruff 'no' even thoug I later saw on the menu it said breakfast until 12. It gives off a really negative vibe to the place, which otherwise is quite charming and lovely when the sun is out! What a shame...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arisclon13, Guest Relations Manager at Aris Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review, November 30, 2015
Thank you for your constructive review. We took your concerns and recommendations on board. We are sorry your experience was not what we want it to be. We have engaged in staff training across the board and hope you will give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    37
    15
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Coffee”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Nice looking cafe in town with outdoor seating which was lovely so we could basque in the sun which is lovely when we get it in Ireland. Just had a coffee, which was nice and staff were very friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccalyons1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arisclon13, Guest Relations Manager at Aris Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review, November 30, 2015
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmerick
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This is indeed a nice place to sit! You can sit outside next to the monument! And when the sun is coming out it's just beautiful! Staff was friendly! If you're looking to go for a snack and a glas of wine in the sun it's a nice place to go

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susangold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arisclon13, Guest Relations Manager at Aris Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review, November 30, 2015
Delighted you enjoyed your al fresco Clonakilty experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A little bit of old a little bit of new”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This cafe is a surprising little bit of continental Europe in a small Irish town. It is in a traditional building on the conner of Astna Square which was renovated by an Italian architect for the town's 400 year anniversary in 2013. Great for coffee, light meals, wine etc. in a sophisticated and arty environment. Don't go there if you are looking for the traditional Irish meal, you will find it in most of the other coffee shops and bars in Clonakilty. This place is for people with a spirit of adventure who enjoy a taste of the wider world. If this is you, try it. Go upstairs for peace and quiet and a great view of the cute and attractive townscape from the old style windows.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arisclon13, Guest Relations Manager at Aris Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review, November 30, 2015
Thank you for your review. We hope you will come back and emjoy the square (and some food) again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

When for a meal with my girlfriend and only ordered a main , the waitress was a bit unwelcoming and was't really on the ball e.g. dropping stuff , no cutlery on table etc. I ordered the pasta carbonara and my girlfriend ordered the mushroom and pepperoni pizza , the pizza was a bit underseasoned and just tasted of a tinned tomato and my pasta carbonara and was obviously reheated because the sauce was after turning into scrambled eggs. Quite disappointing for such a nice interior for a cafe/ restaurant

Helpful?
Thank jack r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arisclon13, Guest Relations Manager at Aris Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review, November 30, 2015
We are sorry your experience was not what we want it to be. We have engaged in staff training across the board and hope you will give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aris Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

Clonakilty, County Cork
Clonakilty, County Cork
 
Clonakilty, County Cork
Clonakilty, County Cork
 
Clonakilty, County Cork
Clonakilty, County Cork
 

Been to Aris Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing