We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable rural cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Blue School

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
wet room
wet room
wet room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
e0inmccar...
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Comfortable rural cottage”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This is a comfortable and fully equipped cottage in a rural location suitable for two people (incidentally we stayed here with our 6 month old as a cot was made available). The location is excellent, close to amenities whilst also being tranquil. The owners were very helpful, answered all our queries and made sure we had an enjoyable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
Thank you, Eoin and family - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - it was a pleasure having you stay! Ina & JLuc
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad6671...
1 review
“Great place for a country side getaway”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Service was great! The owners were nice and helped us with anything we needed.
The property was beautifully decorated in a vintage way, we loved the decor.
It is an ideal place for a couple looking for a cottage in the country side surrounded by nature & farms that is also near the Inchodoney beach and is also close by to many pubs and the main street for shopping. Also walking distance from the Michael collins birthplace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelpre...
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a relaxing week away”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The perfect base for a great break in West Cork - the Blue School is open and airy with everything we needed for the week.
The area is beautiful with dramatic coastline, long sandy beaches and quieter coves, lively evenings in Clonakilty (if you want them) and friendly people.
We'd definitely go back.
Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2016
Thank you, Rachel. So glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to host you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballyerma...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely & charming little cottage”
Reviewed January 13, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed here with my girlfriend over new years. Really nice setting where the property is located.Cottage is spotlessly clean and equipped very well. The two owners were really helpful with organizing taxi into clonakilty and giving general information about the area.
We will stay here again when we are in this part of Cork

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners were kind nice people
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
457jsw
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat !”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We absolutely loved our stay here - a peaceful and leafy setting (I rather liked hearing the odd tractor going past), a big comfortable bed with proper hotel quality bedding, helpful hosts who were on hand if needed but gave us complete privacy, and apart from the lack of a full length mirror (back of the wardrobe door perhaps?), the studio was really well-equipped. We will definitely return !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting, wonderfully comfortable bed
Liked least: lack of a full-length mirror
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling...
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene, Impeccable, and Perfect Holiday Let”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I needed a restful getaway prior to moving into our new home and The Blue School was the answer to our prayers. Convenient to Clonakilty, beaches, and all the attractions of West Cork yet nestled in the countryside. The owners were charming, accommodating, and helpful. The house itself was a delight; renovated just enough without losing its character, light, spacious, and modern with a functioning kitchen and laundry facilities. We would definitely stay again and/or recommend to guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts and the ambience
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HazelJane...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Adoreable Retreat .... cute dog and foraging on the farm optional”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I spent 5 blissful days at this adorable country retreat last week and could not have asked for more. The cottage is housed in a former stables, elegantly converted to ensure complete privacy and peace. Nevertheless I found myself knocking at the door of my gracious hosts every morning .. I still miss them! Ina and Jean-Luc are wonderful hosts and encouraged my raiding of the heirloom crops and provided wonderful local knowledge re. restaurants, local markets, ferries to outer islands etc. They even loaned me their delicious dog "Coco" who came to visit every morning and afternoon.
The cottage has everything one could need including a modern kitchen that was better equipped than my own, indeed I often found myself cooking wonderful local produce which I enjoyed at my own picnic table just in front of the cottage. The location is idyllic, and perfectly located for day trips to Kinsale, Baltimore and the islands, Schull etc.
I couldn't recommend this property more, I loved it and can't wait to return next summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Elegant conversion of stables, access to garden goodies, al fresco, picnic bench, Coco the dog
Liked least: Nothing to dislike, just that I should have stayed longer.
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing