We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace & quiet with comforts of home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Blue School

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
wet room
wet room
wet room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharoneva
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here in the winter”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We arrived at 3pm as we were told could not check in until 2pm. The cottage was freezing and Ina had to wait until her husband came home to light the fire to heat the cottage. We had travelled all night and and just wanted a hot shower and a cosy nap before going out to meet family. And although there was hot water, it was too cold in the cottage to get showered & dressed again so went out the same way we had travelled from the evening before, hoping the cottage would be warmer when we returned. We did tell Ina it was too cold and it needs the fire on constantly to warm the radiators to which she said they would do. It did slightly improve but if we came back in an afternoon it would be just as cold again as there was no heating on in the day. We were lucky to have family nearby and was spending a lot of time with them including most of our meals. If we hadn't had anyone nearby it would have been an expensive horrible holiday as the weather was also appalling. If it hadn't been for my sister lending us an oil heater we would have been miserable with the cold. The house was warming up towards the end of our 10 day stay.

For £600, that is £60 per night, this was poor poor service, we didn't need much, just some warmth. This might be a good house in the summer but if they cannot keep the heating going for winter guests, then it should not be let out on the winter.

We stay in many different cottages throughout the UK & Ireland and this is the first time I have ever ever done a bad review!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2014
This was our first December/January let during a particularly cold season. The cottage had been heated prior to your arrival but just happened not to be on when you arrived in the afternoon as we had regulated it to be on for long periods (except for a few hours in the afternoon and during the night). However, we had genuinely underestimated how long the cottage would need to warm up fully prior to a guest's arrival which is why, although the heat was on almost continuously, it didn't seem warm enough initially. We apologised profusely for this and turned it on continuously over a 24 hour period for the remainder of your stay.

We should like to point out that had your demeanour (from the moment you arrived even prior to entering the cottage) been less antagonistic and negative, we feel this would have been a much more pleasant encounter for all. We feel your expectations are perhaps best suited to hotel style accommodation where communication is at a minimum and you feel that, traveling with a large dog, to leave the accommodation in a very neglected state without saying goodbye is acceptable.

Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gesanners
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace & quiet with comforts of home”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We've just returned from a week at Ina and Jean Luc's lovely cottage. We wanted to get away from the city but needed to keep in touch with people on the internet so the facilities were perfect for us. We were especially appreciative of the hosts unobtrusiveness and we'd certainly look to re-visit some time when we visit Clonakilty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossConke...
Redlands, California, United States
2 reviews
“Cozy Vacation Cottage”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Blue school and cannot recommend it enough. The price was a bargain for what we received---a comfy bed, plenty of space for both of us, a well appointed kitchen, and a quiet, serene getaway for our trip. The location was great for day trips to beaches, West Cork, and County Kerry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable Living
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freek V
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

I was suprised by the misses with a weekend away to the blue school. The cottage has a very good atmosphere. We arrived late in the evening in february but Ina and Jean Luc were waiting for us and gave us a warm welcome. The cottage was pre-heated and clean. It is equiped with everything you could think of. The bathroom is rather small but has a very good shower. The living area is spacious. The cottage is close to the village of Clonakilty and this gives you all the possibilities from a good breakfast to some shopping and very nice pubs. The area surrounding the cottage gives you enough adventure. If you like hiking there is a good book for sale in the local bookshop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ojai, California, United States
Reviewed February 15, 2013 for a stay in November 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: modern, clean and yet an authentic barn feel
Liked least: the drizzle (all over Ireland)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clonakilty, Ireland
Reviewed December 30, 2012 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, area. A nice ambience in the studio. Local food and scenery
Liked least: Small bathroom, Getting used to the narrow roads
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing