We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for young kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Cork Model Railway Village

West Cork Model Railway Village
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for young kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Visited with my 9, 6 and 3 YOs. They all enjoyed it, loved running around the model trying to follow the trains and my 3 yo really enjoyed the little train ride around the town. Had a coffee and soft drinks for the kids in the cafe which was lovely, with fresh from the oven warm scones and the coffee shop is an old train carriage, so kids thought it was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    100
    32
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brings out the kid in you!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

What a fun way to spend an hour wandering around this fantastic attraction. It is aimed at families and has a café and playground. Kids will be entertained by the trains moving around the model towns of Bandon, Clonakilty and Kinsale and adults will appreciate the detail of the models. There are beautiful flowers on the grounds too. It is €7 in for adults, I think €5 would be more appropriate but despite that I really enjoyed this attraction and would recommend it to everyone, not just those with kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sibh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fantastic Outing for our 3 train obsessed little boys :0)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This local train museum and almost life size (child size) models were amazing and fun for children. They would have stayed there all day if we would have let them. The playground was enjoyed as well as the snack we had in the charming dining car. The ladies in there were very friendly and helpful. A local train/tram ride through the town of Clonakilty was a great history and introduction to the town. Charming and fun for the kids. We would return and if we lived closer we would be regulars I am sure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank botanical_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great fun for kids, great history for adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

What a lovely place. Kids love the model trains as they wend their way through the model towns, villages, docks and countryside. Adults will be interested in the information plaques giving a detailed history of the different Cork locations the trains pass through. A great few hours to spend wandering. The trip around Clonakilty on the "choo choo" was food fun for kids, with interesting commentary from the driver

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DeirdreM631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
275 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“A good day out for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a lovely attraction and not too pricey for a family to visit. Cafe on site is a train! There is a play area for children.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Cork Model Railway Village also viewed

Clonakilty, County Cork
Clonakilty, County Cork
 
Clonakilty, County Cork
Clonakilty, County Cork
 

Been to West Cork Model Railway Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing