We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Ard Na Greine(Clonakilty)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'Donovan's Hotel(Clonakilty)
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre(Clonakilty)(Great Value!)
$150
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Emmet Hotel(Clonakilty)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macliam Lodge(Clonakilty)(Great Value!)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
An Garran Coir(Clonakilty)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Lodge(Clonakilty)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,251)
Filter reviews
2,251 results
Traveler rating
1,675
316
164
63
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,675
316
164
63
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgulfstream restaurantdunes barresidents loungeirish mistrelaxation roomsea watergulf stream restaurantwelcome drinksalt waterrelaxation areaturn down serviceinchydoney islandwalnut breadon arrivalnespresso machinemain restaurantcrab claws
Filter
Updating list...
2,086 - 2,091 of 2,251 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2010

What is the story with this hotel?? I have never eaten in such a filthy bar in my life! We stopped off here this week for some lunch, took a seat by a window, the window sill, my chair, the floor and table were not just dusted with food pieces they were absolutely filthy! My leather seat in bad need of a wipe down with a hot cloth to shift the age old food stains! Hanging behind my husband's head was a cloth of some discription, half tacked to the wall, we think it may be a sheet of some sort used for showing widescreen matches etc.. anyway it was revolting! I would hate to have been booked in to stay, judging by the cleanliness of the eating/ drinking area I would imagine the bedrooms are horendous! We were served by a young lady who's uniform was also dirty with frayed threads covering her waistcoat jacket. I ordered a glass of Red wine and it resembled vinegar, it was replaced with a glass from a newly opened bottle without a problem. Our lunches were 30 minutes coming fromt the kitchen.. far too long for chips and noodles! The most basic expectation you would have from a place like this is that it would be as clean as possible, I couldn't believe my eyes looking around. I appreciate that people will come from the beach to this bar, but the dirt wasn't sand it was lack of regular cleaning and the managment of this bar and hotel should be ashamed of the filthiness of this room!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelaspangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Manager at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2010

We are very concerned to read your views as expressed here. We can only apologise that we didnt meet your expectations on this occassion. The area in the bar which has the cloth on the wall is an area that is currently being refurbished.

I can only apologise that you were seated in an area that is presently being worked on.

We hope that you will consider returning to us, so that we can truly show you our level of service and commitment to our guests.

Kind regards
Ruth McCarthy
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

As a starting point, the star of the show here is the beach so if you are not going for a dip in the sea or a walk on the golden sands then you may lose patience quicker than we did.

The beach is a beauty and given that we were coming from Wexford that is not exactly an idle bouquet. We had good weather and were able to enjoy both the beach and the facilities in nearby Clonakilty, specifically the tennis courts as unlike Kelly's in Rosslare, Co.Wexford there are none on site here.

As for the hotel, the reception staff are helpful getting you to your room and in general with way-finding queries and taxi booking. The waiting staff on the other hand are friendly but inattentive. Each morning (we were here for three days) we had both finished our breakfast before our coffee arrived - a delay of between 10 and 20 minutes each day between our being served breakfast and our coffee.

A second gripe is the well appointed and comfortable residents lounge and cocktail bar. The hotel bar downstairs is poorly laid out and quite busy and noisy so naturally having an alternate location to have a quiet drink seems like a good idea. We were charged more than three euros more than we had been charged for the same round a few minutes earlier downstairs. Not much of a privilege in that case.

A third issue is the spa. While the waters are lovely and enjoyable and they are onto a winner with the over 14s (i.e. adult times) for access, three pieces of machinery remained out of order for the three days we were there. The sauna and the steam rooms are very small and can't hold more than 6 people (at a push) at a time.

Given the money it costs to stay here, I wonder whether this is a destination spa. We have stayed in the Monart and it is world class in every sense - this is simply not world class on any level. One other thing - the tiles in the spa must have been done be some lad on a youth training scheme because they are extremely uneven. This has allowed mildew to build up in a number of places in and around the spa.

Overall the hotel is fairly clean but mildew in a spa is quite frankly so unnacceptable I am giving this four star 1 out of 5 for cleanliness.

The final thing is that as a couple on honeymoon, nothing special at all was done for us. We go away a lot and they have missed an opportunity to convert us to regulars. We will also be passing on our dissappointment with the place as we sing the praises of the much better if less well known places we have stayed over the past few weeks.

A final note is that most of its awards came from the very early part of the last decade so the management either feel they can afford to trade on past glories or are content to sail the ship into flabby middle age - ok but getting increasingly rough around the edges.

Les Aiglons - a 3 star Best Western in Chamonix France that we stayed in last year would put this place to shame and it cost less than one third of the price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robespierre1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Manager at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2010

Hi there

We are really concerned about your review and your experience with us. We would like to discuss the issues outlined with you and will try to contact you in order to resolve this.

Kind regards
Ruth McCarthy
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Superb:Location-Stunning views and less than a minutes walk to a lovely beach,suitable for all ages,with lifeguards on duty.
Staff-Welcoming,warm and friendly.
Room-Spacious,clean and decorated in modern dark tones.Rooms on the ground level have patios and above have balconies(all having a sea view).Would recommend rooms away from entrance of the hotel, as the public have a great view of you sitting outside on your balcony.Besides, the early morning sun hits the other side,allowing you to read your papers while enjoying a coffee courtesy of the inroom Nespresso machine.
Dunes Bar and Restaurant-Great food served outside,weather permitting.
Breakfast-Fantastic choice

The not so-Gulfstream Restaurant-Lacked atmosphere(felt I was on a empty cruise ship).The food was ladden with far too many flavours.Why complicate good quality ingredients!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveitLoveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Manager at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2010

Thank you for your frank comments. We are delighted to hear the positive aspects of your stay with us and are glad that you enjoyed most areas of the hotel. We were disappointed to note that you didnt enjoy your experience in the restaurant. We will be taking your concerns to the relevant departments.

We hope that you will visit us again in the future, when we can exceed your expectations and look after you and your guest.

regards
Ruth McCarthy
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

On booking I explained the reason for the trip to the reservations team & asked for a really nice room. We stayed in room 314 which lived up to all of the expectations.. It gave me a lift to meet so many nice young people (and not so young also!) who were totally tuned in to looking after the customer and the importance of this. Well done to the owner & managers of the hotel whom I have to say have done their homework & who must also treat their staff well as everyone seemed to be so happy in their various roles.

Stayed: June 2010
Thank CobhAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Manager at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2010

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future for a longer stay.

regards
Ruth McCarthy
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Just wanted to write a few lines to tell of the most wonderful relaxing weekend we just spent at the Lodge & Spa .

From start to finish the whole trip was pure bliss. Friday afternoon drinks sitting outside Dunes bar in glorious sunshine after a great day on the beach . Dining in the wonderful restaurant where I had one of the nicest pieces of fillet washed down with a brilliant 'Chianti Classico'. The coffee creme brulee was also to die for.

Spent Saturday morning lazing around the pool area and reading the newspapers in the relaxation room. My only regret was not booking for the Saturday night also .......... next time for sure..........

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrjonesandme30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Manager at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2010

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Ruth McCarthy
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews