We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone should stay here at least once in their life!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everyone should stay here at least once in their life!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Staying at Inchydoney had been a long held wish - I'd dreamed of breathtaking views, fantastic food and beautiful rooms. I wasn't disappointed ! I loved the relaxation room, the pool and the breakfast! If you are looking for a first class break in stunning surroundings with excellent staff to make you feel welcome - Inchydoney Island Lodge and Spa is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear BerDavis,

I am delighted that we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. It is high praise indeed. I have passed on your lovely comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,552
    299
    152
    62
    29
See reviews for
574
977
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We are just back from a three night stay at Inchydonney. On arrival you can't help but be impressed by the location of this hotel. We were greeted at the car park by a member of staff who checked that we were staying at the hotel so we could access the hotel car park. This is a great idea as I can imagine that you would otherwise be fighting for a space with other beach goers. We we warmly greeted at reception and shown to our room 414. This room has a great view of the beach and the sea. Really fancy coffee maker in the room but we asked for a kettle to be provided as we are tea drinkers, I don't really understand why they don't have kettles in every room.

Spa visit: I had the summer ritual treatment which was wonderful and we'll worth the money. Body scrub, moisture wrap, Indian head massage and massage for €99 for 70 minutes lovely! Mum had the facial which she also said was great but a little more expensive at €130 for 70 minutes.

On the first night we ate at the Dunes restaurant. This was incredibly noisy and full of families with children. It had been a lovely hot day on the beach so maybe this is why they were so full??? We had to wait in the lobby for about 10 minutes for a table but were then quickly seated. I had monkfish with crab claws and mussels which was fantastic. My mum struggled a little as she is not a fish eater and found that the menu was lacking in other choices. We also found this when visiting restaurants in Clonakility, the emphasis is definitely on fish (which I can understand due to the location) but again mum found that non fish dishes were few and far between, leaving little choice. There is a great selection of restaurants in Clonakility and we ate at an sugan ( where mum had lasagne!) good food and nice pub.

On our last night we decided to eat at the formal restaurant. The food was excellent, scallops for starters, lamb for main and chocolate fondant to finish. All courses were lovely, the restaurant was quiet which is what we were looking for after the Dunes. Although this is a great place to eat I felt that it was a little overpriced at €59 for 3 courses, essentially 6 with the amuse bouche, the sorbet and tea or coffee.

Overall we had a lovely stay and I would recommend this hotel to others. We were overcharged twice during our stay, both times in the restaurants, so check your bill. They apologised for this at reception on check out and we were given a complimentary walnut loaf!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4 th floor have great views also go for a room furthest away from the lift as rooms clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiritofKillaloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear SpiritofKillaloe,

Thank you most sincerely for sharing your comments in relation to your recent visit to Inchydoney. I am delighted that you and mum enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to others.

I am disappointed that you mother felt there wasn't enough choice in Dunes restaurant however we aim to offer a wide variety of local produce such as Shannonvale chicken, Skeaghanore Duck and Slaney Valley lamb.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again and perhaps you both can enjoy some of this fine produce.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojácar, Andalucia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for long weekend. Wow what a lovely hotel. The views are superb. The food is too die for. The staff very friendly and professional. Jennifer from the spa gave me a wonderful Ellimis facial . Would highly recommended this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear JuliaF,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on you lovely comment to Jennifer in the Spa.

We hope to see you soon again in Inchydoney.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin 24
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Whenever we return to Inchydoney we always wonder if we will have as good a time as the previous year and it never ceases to amaze us that the standard of Inchydoney gets better and better- the friendliness of the staff, the quality of the food and the array of spa treatments is wonderful- the quality of food either in the restaurant or in Dunes Bistro is excellent
Would have no hesitation in recommending Inchydoney Lodge and Spa for a fantastic experience

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic sea vies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraFogarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear SandraFogarty,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us. It's great to welcome you back again. We are very lucky to have such lovely people working with us in the hotel and I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team.

We do hope to welcome you back soon again to Inchydoney.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights. B@b with one evening meal. Our room was nice with fantastic sea views. The weather was great so we never closed our balcony door day or night for the week we were here.the sound of the ocean as you drift off and wake up is unreal. breakfast was superb but the evening meal left a lot to be desired. The staff, both waiting and house were very helpful and friendly but the food let if down.in my opinion this could be a top class hotel but need to change chefs and possibly management as staff in the bar food area although very friendly and accommodating seem all over the place.I seen several people including ourselves waiting ages for food but some tables getting attended by two or more waiters??after paying nearly €1.500 for six nights b&b with one evening meal which was one of the worse I had in a long time I expected a better overall experience.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Kieran41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Kieran41,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments following your visit to us during the summer. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay especially the wonderful views and sounds of the ocean.

However I am disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy one of your meals with us and I have passed on this feedback to our Restaurant Manager.

I hope we have the pleasure of your company again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I spent 5 fantastic nights in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. Location and views are second to none. Our room and balcony had stunning views out to the east beach. The room itself was modern, comfortable, airy, family friendly and very relaxing. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make your stay even more enjoyable. My wife sampled the spa area and was very impressed with the treatments she received and the relaxing ambience. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and are looking forward to hopefully returning soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rayjbergin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear rayjbergin,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your praise to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Inchydoney in the future.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Inchydoney Island itself is beautiful. The hotel's public areas are very nice. The rooms we got were a bit disappointing and were overlooked by the adjacent apartments. The pool area while once splendid, is now looking a bit dog-eared.

Dinner on the Sunday night in the dining room was a complete disaster. The Maitre'D was aloof and generally showed a bad attitude. The main course fish (Hake) was completely destroyed and inedible.

At check-out, the bill was horrific when compared with the quality of what was delivered for it. A three star experience at five star prices.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room facing the sea or car park, rather than the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear John A,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. I am disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy some aspects of your stay. I will be discussing your feedback with the rest of the team.

We would love to have you back in Inchydoney so we can show you the true Inchydoney experience.

Kind regards,

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
401 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
2.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
146 reviews
7.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
702 reviews
18.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Property: Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Address: Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchydoney Island Lodge And Spa
Inchydoney Island Hotel Clonakilty
Inchydoney Hotel
Inchydoney Spa
Hotel Inchydoney Island
Inchydoney Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing