We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had been looking forward to this break for ages and arrived late on the sunday evening,so we did,nt get a chance to to see the room in daylight.We went straight to the bar to order food and had to wait 45mins from the time we ordered,in the end we had to call the waiter to see what the delay was (we were,nt the only ones kept waiting)Now i appreciate that they were busy but you would imagine in such a luxury hotel they should be able to cope with being busy.The following morning we discovered that our room was very dark it had a sea view but bacisally overlooked the reception area i,m aware that we should have asked to be moved but did,nt.My advice would be when booking avoid room 204.Lovely staff, lovely beach.and very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartedwards68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
There are newer reviews for Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We came here for a few days break after a stressful three months, it was exactly what we wanted, lovely view, good food, bit pricey, some lovely treatments, staff excellent , money well spent. We will be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shepiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear shepiena

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. I'm delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and thank you choosing Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa to relax in after that stressful time.

I'm also so happy to see that you will come back to visit us again and we really look forward to welcoming you again.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend are just back from a bank holiday weekend stay. It was a birthday treat for him so I wanted it to be special, and it was.
When we booked in we were brought to our room. It was on the ground floor and I wasn't happy with it as it wasn't very private (balcony was out onto the road in the car park ) and there was no view . I said it to reception and we were immediately moved to the forth floor and staff were more than happy to do this.
Our room was gorgeous with the biggest most comfortable bed I've ever seen.
Food in both the bar and the restaurant was incredible.
The spa and pool were fantastic too. We were blown away by the friendliness of every single member of staff who made us feel entirely welcome.
You will not be disappointed if you stay here. We definitely recommend it and will return.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Áine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Aine W

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of your stay here with us. Thank you for choosing Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa for your special occasion.

I'm delighted to see that you both enjoyed everything from the food to the view and found the staf so friendly and helpful.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the future. Thank you once more.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

hi we stayed in the hotel recently, and i must just say the staff were very friendly and professional at all times,
David was the young lads name who showed us to our room he seemed to like his job,
However i do feel that the food was only average, especially with the price, my started was tiny,, i had the chicken rolled in ham with clonakilty black pudding, it was delicious but very small, the overall interior of the hotel could certainly do with a revamp, especially the lobby and stairs carpet, it was so dated,

My children were delighted however with the free dvd player hire and the free dvd, nice touch,
Iwish ye well in the future, but have a think about the carpet!

Room Tip: sea view is a must
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Juliette C

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa.

I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and found the staff so friendly. I have noted your points on your appetiser and carpet and I will follow up, thank you.

We hope we can welcome you back to us again in the future. Thank you once again.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

just back from our first visit of 2014 to the wonderful Inchydoney Island & spa, it has a new look in the lobby/bar and outside and looks fab,the staff are excellent they can not do enough for you nothing is too much bother, Julie is a little gem, she makes sure your visit is great which it always is, other hotels could take a few lessons form them,met a new member of staff David very polite and very helpful he will go far,Inchydoney is truly a wonderful experience everyone should visit you wont be disappointed, the staff, hotel,food,spa,pool,ocean,100% in every way, only one fault is having to leave, cant wait to get back later this year, thank you for fantastic stay, Jacqui & Eddie

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear heatherfeb

Firstly, thank you for returning to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, it is always our pleasure to welcome our return guests. I'm delighted that you like the new renovations around the hotel.

I'm also delighted to see that you enjoyed the food etc. and that Julie always looks after you so well. I have passed on your remarks to David - I'm sure he will be delighted.

Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here with family recently. We were unable to get one of their apartments which would have been a bit roomier so ended up at the hotel. The rooms were a bit tight with 2 adults plus 2 children however the setting and location is wonderful. The weather was gorgeous for our 3 days. Nearby Clonakilty is a lovely little town with some really nice pubs and eateries. Didn't get a chance to avail of their spa but maybe next time

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank LeeCGaillimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear LeeCGaillimh

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and that you and your family enjoyed Clonakilty Town also.

We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again and if you would like the book the apartments I would advise you to book at your earliest convenience as they do tend to get booked up quickly.

Thank you again.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place for a wedding Attended a wedding and the staff were fantastic the food above and beyond beautiful it was perfect in every way The meal was served up brilliantly and well presented and staff responded to requests greatly

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank EvanDoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear EvanDoak

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay at the wedding you attended here at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and that you that you found the staff so helpful. We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you again.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
414 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
390 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
258 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
150 reviews
7.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Address: Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: $188 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchydoney Island Lodge And Spa
Inchydoney Island Hotel Clonakilty
Inchydoney Hotel
Inchydoney Spa
Hotel Inchydoney Island
Inchydoney Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing