We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great January getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
CORK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another great January getaway”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Love getting away to Inchydoney in January, we stayed 2 nights in stormy weather so it was a perfect excuse to stay indoors and make the most of the hotel and pool and great relaxation area, watching the waves!
Had dinner in Dunes Bistro Bar both evenings, love it there... great to see the place so busy even in January.
Keep up the good work, and hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shhhhhh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Shhhhhh20

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm delighted you come to stay with us in January & enjoy the lovely stormy weather. It is beautiful to watch when the waves are crashing against the rocks & the beach.

Thank you for your encouragement for us to keep up our good work, I really appreciate it. I hope we see you again really soon.

Kindest Regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    299
    153
    62
    29
See reviews for
577
977
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My kids and I loved it there. The girl (sorry I can't remember her name), who cleaned our room was lovely and friendly and very efficient. Having stayed in the apartments also, I can't fault the place in any way. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Kyju,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm delighted that you & your children had such a lovely time here & that you choose to come back. We are delighted to welcome you each time. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you again. See you soon.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014

It is said that the mark of great customer service is how well an organisation recovers from an error and Inchydoney have done very well indeed. The online reservations system accepted our reservation for a couple of apartments we want for a family wedding in June. We got phone call the next day saying this was an error as the apartments were all booked and asking if we'd like to reserve hotel rooms instead (at a much higher price).

A complaining email was answered within 24hrs by front of house manager Ciara Daly who apologized for the confusion and assured us that our original reservation will be honored.

Well done Ciara and well done Inchydoney. We are very much looking forward to our visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fiach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Fiach M

Many thanks for your review. I'm delighted that you are still able to visit us and that the complication was sorted out for you efficiently by Ciara. I have passed on your comments to her. Thank you very much.

We hope that you have a lovely stay with us and we really look forward to welcoming you.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed there for a two-night break in November 2013, we both really enjoyed our stay. The location (right on the beach, in the middle of a bay) was spectacular, and the room (with sea view) and reception areas were also lovely. The weather was nice too, which helped - stopped on the way back from Clonakilty to admire the sunset on the way back to the hotel. We ate in the bar the first night, which was surprisingly good, and the main restaurant the second night (also very good). Only negative was that the bedroom was too hot the first night but we sorted it out for the second night. Would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you a room with a balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Dubman99,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa. I'm so glad that you had such a lovely time with us & that you enjoyed your dining experiences here. Yes, the sunset here at Inchydoney is breath taking, a real romantic setting.

Thank you once again for your review & I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Myself and my partner spent last weekend at Inchydoney hotel and thought it was an excellent way to chill out. The location on the beach, the spacious rooms and the welcoming fire in the large beautiflly decorated reception all contributed to a brillant weekend. We had a meal in the hotel resturant which was also very good. Having not been in West Cork before this is great location for site seeing with Kinsale, Glandore, Union Hall and Roscarbery and of course Clonakilty(girls boutiques and shoes shops with great taste) iteself within easy reach by car.Hotel staff all were all very helpful and friendly.

We were so impressed we have booked a two bed apartment in July to take the kids.

Smal touches like the pot of Jam of leaving give you a sense of the attention to detail, looking forward to the returning in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room witha sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear clare D,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review of your stay here with us at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa. I'm delighted that you had such a good time that you've already booked another trip to us. It's great that you loved your first experience of West Cork, it has so much to offer...and I'm glad to see you enjoyed the shops in Clonakilty Town.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to us again in July. Thanks so much once more for writing your review. See you soon.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I and our 4 boys ( aged from 7 to 11months old) stayed in the 4 bed apartment in July 2013 for 7 nights. From beginning to end our experience was 5 star. The apartment was ideal for us and was fully equiped with easy access to the hotel and to the beach. The staff were so so helpful , Ive never met such a wonderful bunch of people . No request was too much. The pool was fab and the juice and fruit bar was a great hit especially with the boys. We had such a wonderful time that we have booked the same apartment for july 2014 and we can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Sharon H,

What a lovely review. Thank you so much. I am delighted that you & your family had such a lovely stay with us & I have passed your compliments on to the staff. We are delighted to be welcoming you all back again this year. Yes, the apartments are perfect for family fun and of course the beach really goes down well with the kids. I'm glad they enjoyed the complimentary fruit & juice bar in the Spa.

Thanks again for you taking the time to write a review, it's much appreciated. Until July.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Myself & family & friends stay here reqularly as after extensive trial and error with other hotels we find this best caters for our needs whether its group vacation or a family function.
Fab views of beach which is on the doorstep, top class food in both restauraunt and bar. Staff always very accomodating which I find is the main thing when staying in a hotel. Every whim catered for !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Mandy040,

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments & for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it & we really enjoy welcoming you back each time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
405 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
2.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
146 reviews
7.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
703 reviews
18.4 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Property: Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Address: Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchydoney Island Lodge And Spa
Inchydoney Island Hotel Clonakilty
Inchydoney Hotel
Inchydoney Spa
Hotel Inchydoney Island
Inchydoney Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing