We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every whim catered for !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Myself & family & friends stay here reqularly as after extensive trial and error with other hotels we find this best caters for our needs whether its group vacation or a family function.
Fab views of beach which is on the doorstep, top class food in both restauraunt and bar. Staff always very accomodating which I find is the main thing when staying in a hotel. Every whim catered for !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Mandy040,

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments & for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it & we really enjoy welcoming you back each time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 2,170 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

A note: I brought my partner to Inchydoney for her birthday....and to propose :-) The staff made the whole occasion brilliant for us and we would like to thank them very much.
Now, Inchydoney?...We love telling family and friends why we are willing to drive 225miles (yes miles, and one way :-/) to Clonakilty, West Cork. It gives us the opportunity to relive our latest visit.
Des O' Dowd has managed to create the leading hotel in Ireland for ATTENTION TO DETAIL - and just to add at this point, we don't know the man and have never met him.
Yes, the venue boasts fantastic scenery and the food is excellent in The Gulfstream restaurant but its also delicious in The Dunes Pub & Bistro. This place is a treat for us. You do need a few
$ or € in your pocket to fully appreciate everything Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa has to offer, but that said, it beats the other lovely venues we have tried....every time.
I could fill up page after page with detail but I rarely read long reviews myself. Suffice to say, Inchydoney oozes class and charm while still making you feel at home. From the minute you arrive and are met with a nice glass of Irish Mist and a newspaper in front of the fire, to the moment you leave,
Mr. O' Dowd's staff/team are fantastic and obliging above and beyond......Well done to all and 'looking forward' to our next visit :-) Attention to detail....we love it!

Room Tip: They are all good and with great views.....and yep, everything was 'Excellent'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear R99Ireland

Congratulations on your engagement. What a wonderful surprise for your fiancée. I hope the wedding plans are coming along for you. I'm so chuffed that you chose Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa for you special occasion and that the staff helped to make it so special for you.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I really appreciate it. We will continue to make your stays with us as special as your last one.

Congratulations & thank you again. We really look forward to welcoming you back for your next special vacation.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Fabulous remote location overlooking the Atlantic in West Cork. Exquisite meals that were original in their conception,delicious in their execution and made with the best of local produce. An experience to be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosimo424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear cosimo424

Thank you for your lovely comments. I have passed your compliments to the chef and his team - they are thrilled.

We do hope to see you again in Inchydoney very soon.

Kind regards
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights B & B in January 2014. Weather was kind to us with no rain which meant lots of lovely wild walks on the beaches. Our room was on the 3rd floor, which also has the Residents Lounge, main restaurant and entrance to spa and gym. The room was a good size and had a king and single bed. Nespresso machine in the room was a big bonus as we love our coffee. Bathroom is a generous size only down side would be we would have loved a separate shower instead of over the bathtub. Balcony looking out over the entrance of the hotel and great views of the beach were lovely. Breakfast was served as ordered from the kitchen and each morning it was perfect, Try the homemade lemonade and also marmalade and jams. We eat each evening in the bar, it was good value and great portions. Service was excellent and friendly. We took our after dinner coffees in the Residents Lounge with a multitude of comfy couches to choose from. Try their signature Hot Chocolate Cocktail with lovely homemade cookies provided. We used the Spa and had a number of treatments, the body polish and Chocolate wrap were highlights. Lovely relaxation room to chill in afterwards. Used the Swimming pool, steam room and sauna and all were well maintained and clean. Ladies changing room was large with plenty of showers and individual changing rooms if required. Plenty of Elemis products provided. Loved the trip and will definitely be back for the friendly staff, fresh fruit left in the corridors, the treats in the spa relaxation room, the Irish Mist on arrival and the complimentary homemade jam on checkout,

Room Tip: High room and definitely with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dermotswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear dermotswoman

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely experience with us. Its sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us, so I am delighted.

I have passed on your kind words to the rest of the team here and everyone is very grateful. Its wonderful to hear such great feedback.

We do hope to welcome you back to Inchydoney soon,

Kind regards

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in Inchydoney for a night before Christmas.We absolutely loved every minute.From our arrival the staff couldn't do enough for us,one was more friendly than the next.The sea view from our room was breathtaking.We availed of treatments in the spa and found it extremely relaxing.The atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was so Christmassy that I didn't want to leave, and the food was excellent.
It was with great reluctance that we left the next day and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Get a sea view its worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snilloc2Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear snilloc2Cork

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your time in the Spa and the Bar and Restaurant. Yes, we loved the Christmassy atmosphere too!!

We hope to see you back in Inchydoney again in the future,

kind regards
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I returned to Inchydoney recently for the first time in 28 years having emigrated to Australia as a young teen. Growing up we spent every summer staying in this most beautiful part of the world and I had very fond memories of this place. I took my husband, 3 year old daughter and 17 year old niece back to Inchydoney so that they could experience this very special part of my childhood.
Since then the hotel has all but been rebuilt, but the scenery is still just as magical. Staying at the fantastic hotel was pure luxury (without the price tag!) The food was outstanding. So much so, that we turned down offers to eat elsewhere as we were so impressed with the quality, service and friendliness of the staff.
We have already decided that we shall be returning to Inchydoney sooner rather than later. There is no need to discuss where we will be staying, as without a doubt, it will be Inchydoney hotel! Well done to teh amazing team there!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murpha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Murpha72

What a wonderful review, thank you so much. It really is great to read your lovely comments and I hope that you were able to recapture some of your childhood memories here. Thank you for sharing such a heart warming story.

We hope it isn't as long again before we see you in Inchydoney.

Kind regards

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We just love this hotel, stayed in January and it was great as always, as I have said in previous reviews.

Special mention to Aurelia who gave us such a warm welcome back and along with the other female manager (cant remember her name - sorry) sorted out our preferred room on arrival.

What is so great about here is that they continuously invest in the product, they were refurbishing the lobby when we arrived and it looks stunning, great design, simple, clean, fresh, tasteful etc.

Julie and Catriona, thank you for looking after us as always

Room Tip: Rooms on apartment side have more privacy I feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovedup-kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear lovedup-kerry

Thanks again for your great comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your regards to Aralia and Julie and Catriona. Yes, out reception has been refurbished and we are delighted with the results...

We look forward to welcoming you back to Inchydoney again in the future,

Kind regards

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
429 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
400 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
264 reviews
7.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Address: Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: $181 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchydoney Island Lodge And Spa
Inchydoney Island Hotel Clonakilty
Inchydoney Hotel
Inchydoney Spa
Hotel Inchydoney Island
Inchydoney Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing