We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Beautiful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff on reception and throughout our stay were so friendly. It's the little extra efforts that the hotel make that ensures your stay is so special for example we were treated to complimentary drinks on arrival and chocolates on our pillows at night. The breakfast was excellent. We had dinner in the main restaurant and the downstairs bar. The upstairs restaurant is fine dining and a real treat. The only negative I have is the limited options for vegetarians. There was only one option as a main course on the menu. In saying that what I did eat was delicious but would still like more options. The bar menu had a good choice of food and was lovely. We loved the residents bar, it was so relaxing. We would definitely go back and we would recommend this beautiful hotel. We were totally able to switch off and enjoy the relaxing break.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Shel02,

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of your stay at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much & that you were able to relax & unwind. I have passed your comments regarding the vegetarian menu options to our head chef. Thank you for your feedback.

We really hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon & thank you once again for your very kind review.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,082 - 1,088 of 2,170 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Went for bar food , the area was warm and bright , didn't think the choice was great if u didn't like fish but as I do I was in my element !! Everything we ordered was amazing especially the presentation . The waitress we had was so friendly and helpful . Will be back :)

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Vicki S,

Thank you for your lovely review of your dining experience in Dune Pub & Bistro. I'm delighted that you enjoyed it so much & we look forward to welcoming you back again to dine with us.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went to Inchydoney Island Lodge and Spa over Halloween half term with our youngest 3 children...after a very long journey from Belfast we arrived pretty exhausted...we were welcomed heartily by the reception staff ...and immediately the stresses of travelling with the children for so long slipped away. Our adjoining rooms were fabulous, with lots of little personal touches, interesting books to browse..chocolates on the pillow...little oranges for the children...the sea view and beach itself is utterly breath taking. We had dinner the first night in the restaurant upstairs...food amazing and a fantastic proper healthy menu for the kids...not just the usual chicken nuggets and burgers here! Breakfast again fantastic, we thought we'd eat out on the 2nd and 3rd nights of our visit..but as the food was so fantastic we ate in every night of our stay...which is something we never normally do when on holiday!!! The waiting staff and bar staff upstairs were very friendly, helpful and interesting to talk to...it turned out that one of the waiters had played rugby against our eldest son on a visit to Belfast a few years ago..small world! Spa and pool also very relaxing..we had a lovely time, love West Cork and Inchydoney is a very special place...would not hesitant in recommending it to anyone..just wish there was more places in the world like it !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Fiona B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I'm delighted that you & your family had such a wonderful time here with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed so many aspects to your stay & that you enjoyed the food so much that you ate all your meals here. It's wonderful to hear. Our chefs are top class & I'm glad that you were so happy with the healthy choices on the kids menus.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the future & thank you so much once again for your wonderful compliments & for your review.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I would just like to say what a great hotel.
It was clean and well looked after along with very good staff who would spend time talking to you which in these days is very rare.The food was just stunning both in the bar and in the restaurant upstairs.The guests lounge is very comfy and quiet where afternoon tea and pre dinner drinks are served.
A big well done to all they even heard us talking about why we where there my wife's birthday and we go a nice sing song and a happy birthday message on her desert plate big thank you again.

Iain&Fiona

I

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthracnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear anthracnose

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay here at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa for your wife's birthday. I'm delighted you both had such a special time here together & that our staff helped to make it more memorable for you. I will pass your lovely compliments onto the staff. They will be delighted.

We really hope that we get the pleasure of welcoming you back to us in the future & thank you once again for your very kind review.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I had not had a break away together for some time. Our daughter recommended Inchydoney so we decamped there for 4 days in October/ November. We parked our car on arrival and did not start it again until our departure. We completely switched off and had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable stay. Inchydoney has a lovely unspoiled beach for walking - it is an island - and it has the sense of being totally away- the hotel has beautiful facilities both leisure and accomodation - but its greatest strength is the people who work there. They were everything that we Irish( at our best) are famous for- warmth, friendliness coupled with total efficiency and a commitment to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible down to the finest detail. I am not at all surprised that Inchdoney is so successful We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony which allow a good view of sea. We were towards the front and could hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cswinkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear cswinkell,

Wow - what a wonderful review. I'm thrilled you & your husband had such an amazing time away together & that our staff here helped to make is so enjoyable & memorable. I'll pass on your compliments to them. They will be so pleased. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to us again in the future & thank you once more for your review.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for two nights with a friend as a birthday treat.everyone was soo nice..we had a lovely stay..the spa treatments is just amazing.thanks to all the staffs that where amazing.

Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckySeychelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear BeckySeychelles

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa. I'm delighted that you enjoyed it so much & that you found the spa treatments to be so relaxing.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your kind review.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have been to Inchydoney in august, the location is just fantastic, by the beach and next to the surf place.
I stayed in a really nice room but just opposite to my room was a suite, which I had a chance to see when the cleaners was there cleaning. Is absolutely beautiful, next time Im there I will take the suite.
The food I had was fine but I think the menu could be a bit better.

Room Tip: The suites are the most beautiful and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear AleGlobetrotter

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much & the views from your room. Yes our suites are most luxurious & I would definitely recommend you stay in one on your next visit.

Thank you once again & we are really looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
429 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
401 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
264 reviews
7.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Address: Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: $182 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchydoney Island Lodge And Spa
Inchydoney Island Hotel Clonakilty
Inchydoney Hotel
Inchydoney Spa
Hotel Inchydoney Island
Inchydoney Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing