We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A fabulous weekend was spent at Inchydoney Lodge & Spa near Clonakilty last weekend 27th July 2013. We were celebrating our daughter's wedding. The hotel was superb with everything that could possibly be done for our guests, even the little ones among us catered for with their own playroom across from the function room.
Food was excellent, cooked and presented to every bodies liking.
Staff were so welcoming and friendly, always enquiring about our needs and willing to oblige in any way they could.
Our room was just an oasis of calm and peace with a magnificent view. We slept with our patio door open and the sound of the swishing of the sea was so relaxing.
I am already looking forward to booking a return visit.
We spent 3 days in Inchydony but we didn't have time to visit the spa or pool as the weather was so good we just went to the beach, it was better than Spain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marieoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Marieoleary

Thank you for your wonderful review, it was lovely to meet you and your family over the weekend of the wedding. It was clear everyone was having a great time. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your time with us so much and we look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Hopefully we can arrange for similar weather for your next visit! Thanks again for sharing your lovely comments.

Kind regards
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,233 - 1,239 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

this is a truly amazing hotel located in a breathtaking location overlooking Inchydoney beaches. My husband and I stayed here in May and could not fault a single thing - the welcome, hospitality, service, cleanliness and quality was spot on. Breakfast was divine while the food in Dunnes pub is probably the best 'bar' food I've ever had (definitely try the crab claws and beef medallions). I did not want to leave the Thallso Spa, it was so relaxing, and unwinding in the relaxation room with fresh fruit & juices while watching the world go by was exactly what I needed to unwind from the hustle & bustle of everyday life!! We simple could not tire of walking the amazing beaches, one of the most magnificent I've been to in Ireland. I cannot wait to go back, it's one hotel/ location that I'll never tire from.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Aoife C

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. I'm delighted both you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to avail of all the facilities. I have passed on your compliments to the team in Dunes Pub & Bistro and the Island Spa.

We do look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Staff - from reception to housekeeping , bar staff to lifeguards, the staff were all friendly, helpful and welcoming.
Bedroom - My wife and I booked a deluxe double room with a sea view and that's exactly what we got - deluxe!! Beautiful spacious room complete with fridge, nespresso machine and nice soft robes/slippers. Large glass double doors opened onto a balcony overlooking the ocean....DELUXE!!
Restaurant - Delicious meal
Spa - Relaxing in the heated seawater pool is a nice way to start the day.
Overall it was a wonderful experience and I look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinCronin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear KevinCronin2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, I can see that you and your wife had a wonferful stay with us, which is great to hear. I have passed on your comments to the rest of the team here.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Des O'Dowd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Overall location and arrival welcome very good. Bar food very average and service only ok(very young staff). Room nice however no windows and patio door had to be left open at night which doesn't give safe/secure feeling (no air con). Breakfast was a disaster-buffet from 8am on menu however this wasn't ready until approximately 9am. One waitress took an order for eggs but never informed us that the buffet wasn't ready, then we placed a second order for breakfast which was served minus the rashers which weren't ready! Why they didn't wait until everything was ready I don't know? Residents lounge was nice but very expensive. Wifi was very poor through out the hotel. Pool was lovely with various jets etc. Overall average stay for a hotel that has so much potential- missing some finer touches that a 4 star should have and for the price they charge.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Eileen1982

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to read that your stay wasn't as I would have hoped. I have passed your comments to the rest of the team and we will be looking into the issues. Breakfast is served from 7am in the Gulfstream Restaurant and is generally set up and ready to go at this time.

We don't have windows in the rooms, however the double sliding doors offer great light and air into the rooms. There is a tilt and turn setting to allow the door to be locked, however letting air in from above - my apologies if you didn't see this.

Our hotel has a Failte Ireland Four Star rating for the last 15years and often in fact our guests feel it offers 5 star service so I am disappointed to read your comments regarding same.

I do hope that you might return to Inchydoney again in the future so we can show you a true Inchydoney Experience that others in this forum speak about.

Kind regards
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

While I always knew this was a special place I didn't realise how magnificent a place it really is.
Fantastic service from delightful staff and stunning views from the bedrooms.
Can't wait to return. The weather as a bonus was magnificent. Breakfast is of the highest standard with 4 fish choices, pancakes, and full Irish as well as the usual buffet including smoked salmon, great fruit but strangely no bananas during our 3 days. I was, though, disappointed to see ladies having breakfast in this wonderful setting wearing hotel dressing gowns and slippers.

Room Tip: We were on the eastern side so had the morning sun. In good weather we would probably choose the wes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear MKxyz

thank you for your comments and feedback, I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and many aspects of the hotel. I have passed on your comments to the breakfast team, who are delighted with the feedback.

We do encourage our guests to relax in the Spa Robes and Slippers if they wish to do so. We feel this adds to the overall feeling of relaxation and well being of our Spa guests.

We hope to see you again in Inchydoney soon.

Kind regards
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I had 3 lovely days at Inchydony. The weather was mixed but we had lovely food, some great walks, and lots of nice food in Clonakilty. The hotel spa was very nice - the pools had lots of fun bubbly/vibration features. Really relaxing. we ate in the smart restaurant on the first night - excellent food . breakfasts were very good - loads of choices. The soda bread was delicious. Fresh fish every morning if you wanted. The room was very comfortable - tiny bit short on storage - no chest of drawers. And no air con - but not really an issue as i guess it is rarely TOO hot in Ireland

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnjumSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear AnjumSolihull

Thank you for your lovely comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Inchydoney. Its great that you got to experience both the Gulfstream Restaurant and Dunes Pub & Bistro during your stay. Both offer very different dishes but of excellent quality and local produce where possible.

I do hope you will return to visit again.

Kind regards
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were really lucky to get good weather on our trip here as the long drive to Cork was well worth the BEAUTIFUL beach.

When I booked I asked for a room with a good view and a balcony. We were put on the ground floor overlooking the entrance but to be fair when we asked to be moved it was dealt with straight away BUT we were only moved one floor up, still overlooking the car park. Not the most perfect of views for the price of the room but the hotel was very busy so we left it at that.

The beach is a stone throw away and without a doubt one of the best beaches I have ever visited!

The hotel itself was beautiful and the staff were really friendly and the rooms were perfect. The only teeny weeny complaint I have is that there was only two bottles of fizzy water in the fridge (we have little to give out about eh) but I am sure if I had of asked for water it would have arrived.

Breakfast was terrible, I hate to say it but it was. Maybe we arrived a little too late but the food was not up to scratch for the price of the hotel. Continental was good but not the hot food! To be fair it was very very busy but I dont feel like we were looked after at all by the staff on breakfast.

All in all it was a nice hotel, worth it for the beach which once again was absolutely stunning!!! Lucky for some to get planning permission to build a hotel here eh :)

Room Tip: Make sure if you want a view of the beach to ask for a room at the BACK of the hotel, not overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear fairyfree

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Im glad to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us.

All of our rooms have a balcony or terrace and all have a sea view. Yes, some are on the ground floor and first floor, however we do have superior rooms located on the third / fourth floors. Next time, we would be delighted to allocate one of these to you.

I'm disappointed to read your comments about breakfast as it is normally one area that our guests really enjoy from the huge cold buffet and the hot buffet as well as the cooked to order menu. Im sorry your experience wasn't I would have expected.

Yes, we are very lucky to have a wonderful beach on our doorstep, however there has been a hotel on this site for almost 100 years now.

We hope to see you again in Inchydoney in the future.

Kind regards
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
0.5 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
433 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
407 reviews
2 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
163 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
264 reviews
7.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Address: Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: $187 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchydoney Island Lodge And Spa
Inchydoney Island Hotel Clonakilty
Inchydoney Hotel
Inchydoney Spa
Hotel Inchydoney Island
Inchydoney Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing