We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service,attention to detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Killarney, Kerry, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent service,attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband brought me to inchydoney as a surprise for my 30th birthday,and what a surprise I got,we were greeted by a friendly receptionist where we had our welcome drink in the lobby,then a lovely chatty porter escorted us to our room,the bedroom was spacious and the bed was huge.the views of the beach from our room were fab,I felt like I was abroad.we had dinner included as part of our package and it was scrumptious.the next morning I went for a treatment in the spa and it was one of the best back massages I have ever had and the price was very reasonable,they had a few offers you could choose from as well as a range of other treatments,breakfast had a huge selection to suit all.the finishing touch was the pot of jam we received as a little gift from the hotel.i will definitely be returning and would highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Edel M

Congratulations on your recent birthday. I'm delighted that you chose Inchydoney to celebrate this birthday. Its great to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed your time in the Island Spa.

I have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team in the hotel and spa.

We hope to see you again in Inchydoney,

Kind regards

Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,459
    276
    136
    56
    29
See reviews for
519
917
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

beautiful hotel, extremely friendly staff. treatments were fabulous and dining out of this world. balcony over looking the ocean. a trip to inchydoney was just what the doctor ordered. rooms were spacious with coffee machine, fridge tv and hugely comfortable bed. the hotel is a must to visit in any weather.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear sharon l

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes our Nespresso Coffee Machines are a big hit with guests, I'm glad you liked it.

We hope to see you again in Inchydoney very soon.

Kind regards
Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had an absolutely fabulous weekend in Inchydoney. What elevated the Lodge & Spa above other 4* hotels for us was the amazing attention to detail, from a welcome drink, a porter taking us (and our bags!) to our room to the handmade chocolates that were delivered every evening with the turn down service. Our bedroom was fabulous - spacious & luxuriously decorated with a terrace and an amazing sea view.The staff were a delight, so friendly and helpful. The food in both the bar and restaurant was very, very good. We hated coming home and we're looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Samanthamelia

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. It was a delight to read.

I really believe that "our people set us apart" so I was delighted that you were impressed with the attention to detail and that you thought the staff were a delight, I've passed on your kind words to all the team.

I hope we get the opportunity of welcoming you back to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa in the near future.

Kind regards.

Yours sincerely



Des O'Dowd
Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

When you go around the corner and see the sea in Inchydoney you start to feel yourself relax. We go to Inchydoney Island every year on the June Bank Holiday week and normally stay in the apts (as dogs are allowed in apts) but this year we stayed in the Hotel as a treat. The service and standard are at another level compared to other hotels. The breakfast provided is amazing and includes pancakes, smoked salmon, fabulous fruits, pastries etc etc...I didn't eat again until that evening. I stayed in Kilkenny last Saturday in another 4* hotel (was more expensive than Inchydoney) but there was no comparison. I would highly recommend Inchydoney Island. If you get the weather it is like another world, if possible go for a walk across beach and on to the dunnes...amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Michelle

I was delighted to read your lovely review on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for taking the time to write it.

We are blessed with two beautiful beaches at Inchydoney, which as you mention are excellent for walking. I've passed on your comments about breakfast to our Head Chef, Adam Medcalf and his team who were delighted you enjoyed breakfast so much.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back next June, if not before.

Kind regards.

Yours sincerely



Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel for Ireland and a relaxing end to a long trip in Europe and the UK. We loved our spacious room with stunning ocean views. It would be easy to spend many days in this hotel in good or bad weather. Even though we had one wet cool day we enjoyed bracing beach walks followed by a swim in the relaxing warm sea water spas. Having a room on the third floor we really enjoyed having our breakfast on the third floor restaurant and having access to the lovely cosy lounge beside it. We were happy to eat in the bar restaurant at night with its great seafood. We had our only negative experience here finding the waiting staff manager to be quite officious and cold. He was not at all apologetic when we told him that one of the bread rolls was rock hard and stale. No replacement was offered. His manner was quite noticeably cool and aloof all night to other staff and patrons. Other than him the hotel is fantastic.

Room Tip: Third floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed one night with 2 young children (4 and 6). The room was lovely with tasteful decoration, super bathroom and enough space for all of us. The view was fantastic! Kids loved the pool. Breakfast was one of the best I had in a long time. I can certainly recommend this place and we will come back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHhelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear HHhelena

Many thanks for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

I very much hope your two young children enjoyed their time with us and found the Children's Lounge of benefit.

I was also pleased to read that you thought breakfast was one of the best you'd had in a long time. Chef was delighted to hear this.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa in the near future.

Kind regards.

Yours sincerely



Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenderry
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at Inchydoney Island Lodge and Spa for a weekend and it was fabulous! The room was very spacious, very comfortable and with a lovely view of the sea created the perfect relaxation haven!! All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The food was delicious! We had a treatment in the spa which was very relaxing! The whole experience was fabulous and we went home feeling totally relaxed. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdenderryAunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inchydoney, Owner at Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear EdenderryAunch

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I'm delighted you found the staff to be friendly and the food delicious. I've passed on your comments to our Head Chef, Adam Medcalf and all the team, who were delighted to receive such praise.

I very much hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa in the near future.

Kind regards.

Yours sincerely


Des O'Dowd
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
2.5 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
18.2 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
12.6 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa

Property: Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Address: Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#3 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inchydoney Island Hotel Clonakilty
Inchydoney Island Lodge And Spa
Inchydoney Hotel
Inchydoney Spa
Hotel Inchydoney Island
Inchydoney Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing