We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Hotel for larger families in particular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Our 4 small children and ourselves have stayed here 3 times in the past 12 months. It's difficult to find hotels that will cater for a family of 6, in 1 family sized room. So many times we have been quoted silly money elsewhere for 2 bedrooms to cater for our family size - but this most certainly is not the case with this hotel with very good prices offered even during weekends of school holidays when we have mostly stayed. The staff at the reception desk in particular are impressively professional and friendly, and this is the general manner or all from staff at the bar, restaurant, jungle gym, leisure facilities and house keeping. While the adult meals could be improved, they were nevertheless ok for the price. The buffet style for children was great value. While the evening entertainment suits toddlers it was not for us, and we went elsewhere it was clearly appreciated by other parents. The location so near clonakilty is perfect with nearby beaches in stunning Inchydoney. The leisure facilities and jungle gym were loved by the children. We intend returning soon again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenValley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. As you mention, the bigger rooms are a great asset not only to the hotel, but also to larger families who want to enjoy a holiday at a reasonable price. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 768 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a few days stay here and i have to write a review to give this place praise! For me everything from d children's facilities, the food n wine, location, night time entertainment(ger and his fabulous wife) and even the machine that dried your swimsuit were top notch! But above all that, it's ur staff from those in reception, the bar staff, the waiters, the chefs, the kids club people, even our cleaner could not have been more patient, accommodating, friendly and genuine. They are a credit! We shall be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaoler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. As you mention, it is often the small details that can make all the difference for a family stay and we are delighted to hear that the facilities and the hotel staff left you with such a positive impression. We very much appreciate our loyal customers who return to the hotel time and time again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a short break with 3 kids aged 7,9 and 10. They absolutely loved this hotel! Everything is focused around entertaining them. The kids camp, dinner buffet, pool, games room and huge bouncy castle were all a big hit. We ate both nights in the bar and the food was good basic bar food. Having said that, if you want a nice romantic weekend away, this may not be the best choice. But if you want really happy kids that are exhausted at night from having so much fun, it doesn't get much better!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrigoleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your taking the time to post your feedback. It sounds like your family had a wonderful break and we look forward to seeing you return to the hotel. During school holidays, the hotel is normally busy with families, but outside of these times, we would suggest that the hotel and Clonakilty town itself is lovely for a quiet break for two!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here as part of a large Rugby group, the hotel were more than capable of dealing with the size of our group rooms were large and spacious family rooms, beds comfortable, fast check in,we ate dinner and breakfast in this hotel; excellent selection of good food, well presented, I am Coeliac and the hotel were more than equipped for this and the gluten free options were delicious including desert, so many hotels give a fruit salad for desert, the restaurant in this hotel made a real effort for each course and it was not an issue no matter what I ordered the chef turned out a lovely meal and really tasty too, ( thank you ) ,teenagers really enjoyed the pool and games room, about 10 minute walk into town which is well worth a visit, definitely visit Inchydoney beech if you come here it is amazing, overall a great stay in this hotel and in Clonakilty itself

Room Tip: Rooms have 3 beds are large and beds comfortable
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KilkennyFluffydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send through such lovely feedback. We remember your group and every one of you were a pleasure to cater for. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed in the Quality Clonakilty for two nights , the hotel was not in the heart of clonakilty as we were told on there brochure, its a good walk into the heart of town and not all on a path. The hotel is clean ,the rooms are fine ,we found it quite the first night which was a Thursday ,the second night we had kids running up and down the corridor till late. Breakfast was a bit to dry for me and the staff had no one in charge to seat you. you were left standing at a sign wait to be seated. The bar was lets just say different, dark high backs to seating in need of a make over updating would be the word I think.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of corridor's away from doors as the kids run up and down .
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your comments, it was lovely to hear that you were pleased with the high standard of accommodation. The hotel is situated on a private driveway and as you mention is approx an 8 minute walk to the main street. This walk is entirely footpathed and well lit. On arrival you expressed your disappointment and explained you had a different interpretation for the location of the hotel. We do consider the hotel to be in the heart of town, however as we wanted you to enjoy your holiday from the start, we offered to organise/pay for a taxi on one of your evenings, if you did not wish to walk.

The bar furniture was replaced and reupholstered, 2 years ago with a purple/green theme, however we appreciate everyone has varying tastes in decor. At breakfast we do request that people wait to be seated and please accept our apologies if you experience a little wait, during quiet mornings there is one server and I am sure they got to seat you as quickly as they could. We hope that you enjoyed your overall experience and all that Clonakilty has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

During the mid-term, we rented one of the hotel's holiday homes, which have been renovated in the past year or two. Location wise, the holiday homes are great - directly across from the hotel swimming pool, with Clonakilty's cinema on site also. It's about a ten-minute walk to the town from here. There is also a playground within a short stroll.

Unfortunately, the standard of the recent renovation, in the sitting room, in particular, is poor. The quality of the hoilday houses appears very much indicative of a very low budget fit-out. This is acceptable, if the rental rate is reflective of this.

On a positive note, the houses are clean & functional. Carpets whilst thin, were clean. The kitchen is equipped with a washing machine/tumble dryer. The basic standard of furnishings possibly wouldn't bother families who are out most of the time, although, as the weather was poor during our break, we found ourselves feeling disappointed by the lack of a sense of comfort, in the sitting room in particular. The previous worn red leatherette sofas had been replaced with new sofas - which was positive. However, there is a distinct lack of soft furnishings, such as cushions, a rug. Small touches such as providing one bale of briquettes for the open fire, could be added. Upstairs, the bedrooms were fine, but sparse. It was concerning to see that the locker in the small bedroom for bunk beds, was placed directly against the ladder - as the plug for the bedside lamp was here. For safety reasons, there is a need to add another plug to the room, particularly when small children might need a light left on at night.

Overall, having stayed in holiday houses on the grounds of other hotels in this part of Ireland, the management of the Quality Hotel needs to really contrast & compare the standards of their holiday houses against other hotels & consider making more of an effort to provide comfortable house rentals, which will result in repeat business.

Having stayed a few years earlier, we did decide to return at the mid-term because we had been informed that the houses had been renovated & were drawn by the facilities for children. The children's facilities are good - children's club, indoor play ball area, games room, pool. Although, we felt it was a bit much that we were charged a fee for entry to the indoor play ball area, despite being guests. Unfortunately, we were disappointed, with the standard of the accommodation after deciding to try it again, as the houses have been renovated - although, given the current rates charged, there is a real need for the Quality to up it's game on this front or lower the rates, in order to reflect the standard of accommodation.

Room Tip: With regard to the holiday houses, they are all within immediate reach of the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweeety-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the unique facilities for families in the hotel, however we are disappointed with your comments in relation our holiday homes. As you mention all of the holiday homes were renovated and are equipped with every convenience. We appreciate that providing soft furnishing as per your own homes would be lovely, but unfortunately it just isn’t realistic to sustain this level of wear and tear on holiday homes which are let on such a short term. We have instead provided the touches that we hope families and groups appreciate, such as teabags/coffee/milk, dishwasher tablets, tea towels, etc. We believe that these, combined with the many free leisure activities offered in the hotel are more than adequate compared to other 3 star properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed in Quality Clonakilty with my husband and son for weekend. My initial impression was not wonderful to be honest. I had asked not to be given a room on the ground floor but we were given one and walking down to the room the carpet on the corridor was a bit worn/frayed in places. When we went into the room some of the furniture was a bit worn looking. This is where the negative review ends! Everything else about the hotel was really good. The room and bathroom were spotless, which to me is more important than slightly marked furniture. We ate in the bar the first evening. The food was grand, nothing spectacular but decent for bar food. The staff there were extremely friendly and welcoming, in particular the barman with the goatee/beard. We used the pool three times during our stay, lovely clean pool, great for kids. The crowning glory of this hotel from a child friendly point of view is the jungle gym. We received two passes to this when we arrived and it was a fantastic way for my 4 yr old to stretch his legs and get some exercise after a long four hour journey. He couldn't wait to get back into it the following day! Again, the staff in here were really lovely and kept a great eye on goings on.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for families as its facilities ensure your children have a great time and therefore so do you!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your comments, which we very much appreciate. We have reviewed your booking and please accept our apologies that your request for a higher floor room was overlooked. This was human error, they were available and we could have easily moved you, had we been made aware of this oversight.

Thank you for letting us know the issue relating to the carpet. It began to fray just last week and is being repaired as I write this!. We were delighted to hear that you were impressed with all other aspects of the hotel. The indoor playzone is a great facility for children, but also for mums and dads who need a little break too! It sounds like you had a lovely holiday and we hope you will think of returning to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
258 reviews
2.0 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre

Address: Park Road | Co. Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#4 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: $81 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star hotel is located in Clonakilty in the heart of scenic West Cork where individuals and family are well catered for. Guests can enjoy Lannigans Restaurant, Oscars Bar and our award winning Leisure Club. Younger members of the family can avail of Kids Kamp during peak times and the jungle gym & toddler area/creche are open all year round. A three screen cinema, high ropes and zip wire adventure centre and extensive free parking complete the complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Clonakilty
Quality Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing