We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit run down but friendly and great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel could do with a refurb, but in current times that's probably not feasible. Rooms are a good size and the shower was fine. Good wifi available in the rooms. Breakfast was great - hot and cold buffet - and very tasty. Leisure centre is quite good and was free to use as a guest. The pool looked OK although we didn't try it. The gym was reasonably well equipped and the staff very friendly. All in all this is a nice hotel, if a little run down and I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublin_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel. February marks the start of a busy season, so refurbishment improvements have already begun with the arrival of new beds and the start of painting works in the playground. I am sure you will see a noticeable difference when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 788 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

I Recently visited this hotel with my friends for lunch, where there were no menus on the table, and waited for 15 minutes to be served, before going to the bar and requesting someone to give us a lunch menu, and to take our order, where there was a manager and three staff members having a chat, when clearly the bar was busy. I showed them where we were sitting, and i was told if i wanted food...to come up again and order it....I thought this was very bad service and standard for a three star hotel, and refused to eat there, where we left to get much nicer food in a similar property at much a more competitve prices. we will most certainly not be visiting there again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k55554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I can only apologise that your exerience in our bar was not up to our normal high standard. I hope you will see from other reviews, that this was an isolated incident. In addition, I hope you can contact me directly at the hotel so that we can discuss this with you further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

For a busy family hotel we were not expecting much in terms of food here. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our food and we would definitely eat here again.

Between us, we had the beef noodles, toasted BLTs, chicken fillet burgers and our kids had chicken goujons and chips. The beef noodles were extremely tasty and the portion sizes were on the large size. The prices were really good, really good value considering the portion sizes. We found out after we ate that older kids have the option of a buffet bar where they can pick and choose their own food, it looked pretty good.

There is no table service in the bar; you need to order your food and drinks from the bar yourself; this may not suit larger groups. It's also inconvenient if the kids need more drink during your meal, you have to stop eating and queue up again in order to re-order.

The bar also had two TV sceens which were showing sports, some people may find this useful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. It was great to hear that your family enjoyed their overall stay and in particular the dining options available in both the bar and restaurant. We very much appreciate your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Travelled here with family (small children). Have to say my children didn't want to leave! Great pool (staff not so friendly) great toddlers activity centre called the zoo (staff great) and great games room with wii and hockey table and snooker! Lobby area is fab. Plenty of room to have a drink and kids can play! The only thing that surprised me was the entertainment in the bar! It didn't start til 10 pm, and it was dismal! I think they might actually attract more business by moving with the times! All in all great hotel, we stayed in the 2bed app facing hotel which had loads of room. Plenty of towels and appeared clean! We did have a problem with a smell when we entered but it was rectified immediately as soon as I told reception! It was probably a blocked sink! Will definitely stay again and would recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmoc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It was lovely to hear that the entire family enjoyed their stay and that there was something for everyone to do. Unfortunately when selecting the music in the bar, it is very subject to individual tastes, but at the same we need to appeal to many ages, however we do very much appreciate you comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was in the area for work and stayed at the Quality Hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The bar/restaurant attached was very convenient and very good. When we arrived late because of working late after the restaurant was closed, the bartender offered to make us a sandwich. The morning breakfast was very good also.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank geohohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Our corporate guests often have had long, busy days before they arrive at the hotel, so we were glad to hear that our staff went the extra mile for you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the area again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here with sisters & our children. We booked 2 large family rooms & they were really spacious 2 double beds, a single bed & a cot in each room. The children had unlimited access to the jungle gym during our stay & for only €10 extra they were able to attend the kids camp for 4 hours which they loved. The food was great & the staff were lovely. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conndilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments. It sounds like the whole family enjoyed the facilities in the hotel and that is the best kind of holiday. We look foward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nice hotel and location
*clean
*nice staff
*good atmosphere
*good food
The reason for the low score on sleep quality s because there was an incident where a wedding party wasEXTREMELY loud, so get a room away from the bar.

Room Tip: Choose a suite Away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rate or slate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. While we rarely host weddings in the hotel, we were disappointed to hear that your nights sleep was affected. Should a similar situation arise in the future, we will most certainly consider this feedback when allocating rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
2 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
429 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre

Address: Quality Hotel Park Road, Clonakilty P85 RD23, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
#4 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: $81 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star hotel is located in Clonakilty in the heart of scenic West Cork where individuals and family are well catered for. Guests can enjoy Lannigans Restaurant, Oscars Bar and our award winning Leisure Club. Younger members of the family can avail of Kids Kamp during peak times and the jungle gym & toddler area/creche are open all year round. A three screen cinema, high ropes and zip wire adventure centre and extensive free parking complete the complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Clonakilty
Quality Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing