We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Good points-Bar food of good quality,room spotless,good variety for breakfast,efficient receptionist,excellent rate.
Bad points-The bin in the bathroom wasn't emptied from the previous guest and a dirty baileys glass was left in the bathroom also. Thankfully there was fresh towels supplied. There was an unlocked door between our room and the room next door with only a locker up against the door keeping the door from being opened. I think there should have been a proper lock provided. As there was only a door dividing our room from the next we could hear next door's guest snoring loudly all night!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinead B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. While positive overall, we were disappointed to hear that your stay was not up to our normal standard. The hotel operates a very high level of cleaniness and an empty bin and clean glassware would be considered a basic requirement. I can only apologise that this wasn't what your experienced and I assure you that if you notified reception, we would have rectified this immediately.

Some of our bedrooms in the hotel are interconneting, however I must clarify that both rooms have a door seperating them, so if you opened your door, you would be faced with another door, which would have to be opened from the other side. There doors are normally locked unless a guest requests otherwise, however in your case, it appears that your door was left unlocked from the previous guests. This was a mistake on our part, however it would have been locked immediately if we were made aware of this issue.

I hope you will consider returning to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 768 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here with the kids, the attraction being the pool and the indoor play yard at the leisure centre. They enjoyed both. The room was large and well equipped. The internet was fast & free. I enjoyed the breakfast, but not the dinner as much. The restaurant seemed to mostly cater to tour groups and pushed a 3 course dinner menu. I found the menu a bit small otherwise, and the food average.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reader12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night.
Lovely reception area.
Easy check in.
Fantastic room.
Very comfy bed.
Nice food.
A wee bit outside the town but nothing too taxing.
Did'nt use the leisure centre so I can't comment on it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PudseyMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We arrived on the Thursday and booked into our apartment very easily. After settling in I left the kids out around the back and to my horror found my 2 year old with his leg stuck in a gulley that had no grid on it. I made the hotel aware of this and it was fixed immediately in fairness. No harm done thankfully. Evening meals were very good and the staff in the restaurant were excellent. The breakfast was plentiful and orders outside of the carvery are no problem.The kids club is really good and the leisure centre also good. We stayed for 3 nights and both myself and my wife woke every night with back ache from the really terrible beds. To be honest they are disgraceful and should be thrown out. The carpet in the sitting room needed changing and the windows need some form of net curtains put up so you can enjoy some level of privacy without having the main curtains pulled all of the time. A great venue with excellent staff and facilities ruined by shoddy furniture and general maintenance.
On Clonakilty itself, the town is beautiful and the Artisan food market excellent.
One serious complaint is on the model railway. We went there because our 3 year old wanted to ride on the train. So off we went only to be told we had to pay to enter the model village as well. This would have come to €40 to take a 3 year old on a 1/2 hour train ride around the town. A complete rip off, one which we did not pay.
The area around Clonakilty is beautiful with Inchadoney and Galley head light house really worth a trip. Especially the light house.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Marty2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time in the hotel and in the Clonakilty area. We appreaciate your feedback and we have undertaken a review of all apartments and are currently replacing the beds, where required. We hope you will return to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Going in through the front door the foyer was quite 'bland' - a nice flower arrangement on the chest straight in front would have been nice BUT I realise that this is a busy area and maybe not suitable for this. However, the hotel itself was very acceptable. The room we got was very clean and comfortable - no complaints. We ate in on a couple of occasions and found that the bar food was good also the breakfast was very good. On the whole we found this hotel very good but as it is a family hotel could be noisey at meal times. We would recommend this to anyone but if you don't like kids - don't go!! We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rankine44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments and for your very valid suggestions. As you mention the hotel, can be busy with families, however at this time of year when children are back at school, there are a variety of all age groups in the hotel, from old to young! Also in order to minimise disruption, we ensure that certain corridors are assigned to families and certain corridors to adults only. We hope you will visit the area again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Got a great last minute deal for this hotel and wasnt really expecting much from it on the basis of what we paid, but have to say it was very good value for money. We had bnb, dinner inclusive and while some reviews had said the food was not good, we couldnt disagree more, our 3 course dinner was delicious, good hearty food, which was piping hot and very tasty and a good range to choose from. The rooms are very spacious and very clean with plenty of towels if you want to use the leisure centre. The gym is very well equiped and the pool and sauna etc was also of a good standard. The only downside to our stay was the terrible nights sleep we got. we were in a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the entrance, and were awake from about 2am til 5am with the constant flow of people coming back from a wedding in another hotel in the town, they were really loud and while we phoned the night porter to complain, he didnt seem to do anything to move very pleasent up until then

Room Tip: Dont say at front of hotel on weekends as very noisy!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMK1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments and we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities. We disappointed to hear that your sleep was disturbed in the hotel. As you mention, we have a night porter on duty to deal with the issues you described and it is rare that they are unable to rectify the situation and move people on. We are however also reliant on people's cooperation and respect for other guests. I hope you will return to the hotel again and if so, please contact me directly in advance to arrange a room and rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The good: terrific staff, good food, good parking. Initially, poor wifi and a stopped up sink; however, both were fixed efficiently, and we were given free breakfast as compensation. 
The bad: for us -- TOO family friendly. Kids everywhere, and we're extremely loud. Not a place to relax unless you love noisy kids!
 

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brewskiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iocallaghan, Manager at Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. It was great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and that the staff were responsive to your requirements. As mention, during peak season when children are on school holidays, the hotel is busy with families, however we do our very best to ensure that all guests enjoy their stay by keeping families in one bedroom corridors and adults only in another corridor. Once September comes, the environment changes and we find a mix of all ages in the hotel. We hope you will return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
258 reviews
2.0 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
150 reviews
0.5 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre

Address: Park Road | Co. Cork, Clonakilty, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
#4 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: $81 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star hotel is located in Clonakilty in the heart of scenic West Cork where individuals and family are well catered for. Guests can enjoy Lannigans Restaurant, Oscars Bar and our award winning Leisure Club. Younger members of the family can avail of Kids Kamp during peak times and the jungle gym & toddler area/creche are open all year round. A three screen cinema, high ropes and zip wire adventure centre and extensive free parking complete the complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Clonakilty
Quality Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing