We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply superb!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clonakilty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henry's Boutique Destination
Ranked #6 of 15 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Henry's is the perfect retreat and ultimate chill out spot in the beautiful area of west cork. The views are incredible from each of the rooms and the inside decor is as equally impressive. Thank you Marie for a wonderful experience, most definitely will be back again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash_maguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your review Ash. It was lovely to meet you the weekend, and great you came to Clonakilty to participate in the marathon. Well done. You were all glowing on Saturday night after your big run. I will look forward to seeing you another time. Best regards. Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 133 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Marie Henry runs a great luxury coastal hideaway, ideal for couples or friends who need to chill out and live the healthy life for a few days. A hugely warm welcome, considerate hosting, stylish accommodation and stunning surrounds. Marie's husband Pat - famous bass guitar player (and fitness guru) - is also on hand to offer guidance to those who wish to get in shape (or play the blues!)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hi, it was lovely to meet you both on your trip to West Cork here in November, and thank you for your review. I appreciate. You did lots of walking when here, and I am delighted you enjoyed the 9k circle walk, taking in road, beach, castle grounds and climb, lake walk. I like to recommend this walk as it takes in everything with great views. Wishing you a Happy and Healthy CHristmas. Kind regards. Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Henry's Boutique is the most amazing place you'll ever stay in- Treated like royalty by Marie the minute you step foot in the door onto the luxurious heated floors. All the rooms are immaculate and have the most amazing view of cliffs & ocean. The gigantic balcony was my favourite where you can enjoy the wonderful sounds of the waves, clear the mind and totally relax. Completely spoilt by Marie with the amazing food she served (you'll never go hungry at Henry's). If your looking to experience five star luxury , Henry's Boutique is the place to stay. Can't wait to go back.

- Jen

Room Tip: Every room is Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hello Jen, thank you for writing a review of Henry's. It is great to read such a positive and kind review. I appreciate. The Clonakilty marathon was on Saturday and you entered and ran. Well done. You all looked so well afterwards, and in such good form with all of you who came together completing. Well done to your group. Will look forward to seeing you next December for the next one. Happy Christmas to you, and looking at you I know it will be a healthy one. Marie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What an incredible place to stay, location, welcome and food. Marie's warm welcome makes it a delight to visit this stunning place. We couldn't fault a thing. Definitely somewhere to recommend to friends and family and somewhere to return to whenever the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hello Anne, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to Henry's. I am so pleased you and your Husband enjoyed your time here. As you were telling me you were on a trip to Ireland choir singing, so I hope that you enjoyed it. Thank you for forwarding your books to me, and I have them on display in the bedrooms. It nice to tell the other guests the Author stayed with us. Wishing you a Happy Christmas. Kind regards. Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Henry's Boutique rates at the top of any 1st class hotel. Marie is an exceptional hostess and provides a warm and cozy atmosphere. The rooms offer an amazing view of cliffs, water, gardens and even cows and pastures. You have gorgeous outdoor space as well as beautiful inside accommodations. The individual rooms have spa like bathrooms, warm and cozy beds covered with comforters and heating pads to keep you warm in the damp weather, easy chairs to sit in and every amenity needed. There is a spectacular view from every room. There is a living room with big, soft couches to sink into, a large TV, music and art work to envy. The dining room is well stocked with treats and breakfast is served around a lovely round table that invites conversation. Breakfast is 1st rate with offerings ranging from a full Irish breakfast to pastries, cereal, porridge, cheese, 3 types of juice, coffee, tea and anything else you can think of. The thing that makes this place 5 star is Marie herself. She is the warmest, most welcoming person you will ever encounter. Her B&B feels like home. Boutique doesn't begin to describe what you have here, and I'm not sure what word does, but I can tell you there is no better place to stay in Ireland. M. Nelson

Room Tip: Any room is exceptional!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mplsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you so much for a great review of your stay here at Henry's. Having come over from the States to be part of a Gathering. It started with one couple coming last year and staying with us while tracing Frank,s Ancestors which proved such a success resulting in about 20 of you, I believe travelling over to meet Irish cousins and party this year, staying both at Henry's and nearby Springfield Farmhouse Accomodation. You were all great fun from the time of arrival to departure. It was such a pleasure to meet you all and have you to stay. I missed you when you went. So pleasant, it was like having family to visit. Thank you for choosing to stay here and I hope to welcome you back to West Cork another time in the future. Very best regards and wishes to you all. Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Henry's B&B was just brilliant - stunning cliff-edge location, warm welcome, stylish bedroom, great breakfast. Well worth the extra € ! It was easily the best B&B accommodation we've experienced in Ireland

Jerry & Helen

Room Tip: All three rooms have panoramic sea views and lead onto a large patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izodchapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hello Helen and Gerry, thank you for your review of Henry's. I appreciate your kind words. It was nice to see you enjoying your holidays and hope to see you again some time. Kind regards. Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I’ve had many hotel rooms on many trips but this is the first time I've felt compelled to review anything. It's so out of the ordinary. I found it by accident while searching for a different place on the West Cork coast. Didn't know what to make of the name "Henry's Boutique Destination" but the accompanying photograph was worth the thousand words. Read some reviews and my wife said if it's even half as good as it looks it's worth a try so we duly booked three nights midweek.
But it wasn't half as good. It was twice as good. We instantly fell in love with the house and the location. Full marks to Marie Henry on providing an unforgettable experience. We are going to be regular visitors -we feel there's a part of us always there, on that balcony looking out into the Atlantic.
Everything had the personal touch, right down to Marie's cooking. For instance she knows good coffee, a rarity in this part of the world. First thing each morning I had a perfect double espresso, and I like it with a trace of fresh cream, no problem to Marie, and nothing else was a problem either. The same standard applied to the full-on breakfast, local ingredients. During the day we drove around the coast, visited Galley Head and walked to the somewhat spooky Castle Freke. Great beach walks and great weather, watched the surfers.
Then there was the room. Best in Ireland in my opinion. Really comfortable bed, my wife raved about the fabrics and furnishings. It had a floor to ceiling window with a door leading directly outside. It faces south and we’re planning to time a future trip to a full moon, it could be incredibly beautiful if we get the weather. The house itself is contemporary, really stylish and really comfortable. It is decorated with excellent art and music memorabilia collected by Marie's husband Pat. I’m sorry I didn’t take pictures. The living room opens out onto a huge balcony and we have an unforgettable memory of sitting there at dusk listening to a CD of the coolest jazz, turns out the bassist was Pat!
I can't think of any complaints, I wouldn't even change the name now. Marie, you could build a big wide road up to it but then would it still be the most special hideaway in the world?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello Sean,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Henry's . As always I appreciate when people do. This year has been so enjoyable Living on the coast because we had such good weather. It was very mediteranean and it was a joy to see guests in the evening enjoying a glass of wine on the balcony overlooking the Atlantic, with some being lucky enought to see the dolphins making an appearance. I am delighted you enjoyed your coffee while visiting, as that is soooo important. Will look forward to hearing when your first grandchild arrives, and also to seeing Kathleen and yourself in the near future. Fond wishes to you both. Marie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
5.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
6.1 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
264 reviews
4.8 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
403 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
160 reviews
6 mi away
An Sugan
An Sugan
#12 of 15 in Clonakilty
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry's Boutique Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry's Boutique Destination

Address: Donoure, Castlefreke, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 8 acres of cliff headland, Henry's is located in historic Castlefreke, in the most unspoilt position, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, with the bedrooms opening on to the lawn and the sea. With our private beach and adjoining Long Strand, there is over 2k of wonderful beaches to walk with the ocean on one side and sand dunes, a legacy of a long ago tsumani, on the other. Whether you are a surf fanatic or simply want to unwind from the hustle and bustle of life, Henry’s is the perfect place to get away from it all. Come and enjoy this little piece of Hidden Ireland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing