We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A revitalising break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henry's Boutique Destination

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clonakilty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Henry's Boutique Destination
Ranked #4 of 16 Clonakilty B&B and Inns
Lixnaw, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A revitalising break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed in Henry's with my wife over the summer and can certainly echo the sentiment regarding the hostess, location and hospitality afforded by Henry's which was simply exceptional. Maries' warm welcome and attention to detail are second to none. The house itself is an inspiring architectural gem while the location is simply superb; a breathtaking panorama. We could only overnight in Henry's yet, even though the stay was short in duration, it was an incredibly refreshing and revitalising experience. I've recommended Henry's to all and will undoubtedly return in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonalOCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Hello Donal,
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of Henrys. I appreciate. Next time make it longer so you can explore more of the area. It was great you got out early in the morning for your run on the wild and wonderful Long Strand, on our doorstep. Did the Clonakilty Marathon myself and m y walking buddies a couple of weeks ago. First time. Regards to Anne and Hillary who came to stay here at Henrys previous to you, and recommended it to you. I wish you all a Very Happy Christmas and a wonderful 2013. Best Regards. Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
91
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Marie Henry is an Irish gem. She is polite, an extraordinary hostess, a great cook and a tremendous ambassador for Ireland. This B & B is really her vacation home which should be featured in Architectural Digest. Loaded with original artwork located on 8 acres of unrivaled seafront with a private beach, Henry's is simply the best. Each bedroom has a full ocean view. Each bedroom is unique and designed primarily by your hostess. NO detail is too small to have thought of. Bed linens are silk-like cotton; the bathroom has custom or near custom fixtures. No leaks, scratches, chips. Staying at Henry's is a privilege. You truly feel as if you are a guest in someone's exquisite home. The price is CHEAP in comparison to every other place we stayed. We will never return to Ireland without staying here EVERY time. It is a destination in and of itself. I am almost hesitant to share this with TA to avoid making this a MUST STOP for every Ireland bound visitor.

You will most likely not be able to find it without putting the following coordinates into your GPS:
N 51.54937 W 8.95395

Room Tip: The best of the best of the best of the best. There is NO bad room. If you can find it, it is a tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pncboy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello Charles, Such an amazing review of Henrys. Thank you so much. It was my great pleasure .to meet the four of you, and your Wife was so easily pleased. The weather was stormy here on the Coast, but even so you all enjoyed it. Coming to Ireland was nice for you to celebrate your Special Birthday. It was very interesting chatting to you after Breakfast, I really enjoyed. Will look forward to you coming to West Cork in the future, and hopefully then you wll meet Pat and the boys. Take care. Love to all. Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Henry's B&B in September & had a fantastic time. The location, decor, value, food & service was excellent. I came away from the weekend feeling relaxed & revived. We will most definitely be returning in the future. A hidden gem of West Cork.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodfanatic1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hi. Appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Henrys. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us in West Cork. As always it is a pleasure to have Guests like yourselves and we aim to please and look after all Guests to the very best of our ability. We will look forward to having you once again to stay in the future. Very Best Regards. Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I knew this place was going to be great, based on the reviews. But I had no idea that it would be this good. The way the Henry's had decorated the house and their attention to detail was amazing. It was like staying in a museum of art and luxury home all at once. Patrick gave so much of his time and advice. He was one of the best parts of the trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bundy Rd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi to you both. Thank you for the review. As you know I was ill when you visited, and am absolutely delighted Pat looked after you so well, as this was his first time to do so. He will be chuffed when he reads your review. He tells me you are coming back next year to enjoy the Guitar Festival in Clonakilty. So we will look forward to having you again. Thank you for popping up to see me in bed, and I hope you enjoyed hearing Mass in Ardfield, as you were on your way to it after visiting me. It is always nice to experience what goes on in the local community, and I know you had a great time in Clonakilty with the craic and the music on the nights you were here. Very best wishes and look forward to seeing you next year. Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had planned to stay 4 nights somewhere in the Conakilty area but after seeing the photos of Henry's we added a night for a good place to just relax a day during a long trip. Great idea. The view from the upstairs lounge or from anywhere in the house or on the property is fantastic. We could walk out on the cliffs or down to the beach, and the dogs are happy to go along.
Comfortable, pleasant, spacious rooms with all new/modern conveniences for a good night's sleep, then a nice choice of delicious breakfasts every morning.
And we enjoyed a lot of laughs and interesting talks with both Marie and Patrick. We felt very comfortable, as much like friends as like guests.
The only downside was that we had to leave. It is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJB105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello Joe,
Thank you for your review of your stay here at Henrys. You had planned well your trip to Ireland with a good few days here, and day trips to places of interest in West Cork. It was a pleasure to have you both to stay, and I know you enjoyed. There was lots of laughs, interesting chats, and meeting all the girls for the Saturday bootcamp with Karl. And of course being interested in Maureen O Hara it was great Pat was able to give you lots of stories and information. Hope you enjoyed your continuing journey in Ireland. Take Care. Lots of Love to you Both. Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for two nights in Clonakility with the Henrys and could have spent every second in their wonderful home. Amazing views of the sea, first class rooms and lovely company. The accomodation has access to its own beach and for those interested in water sports its an ideal location.
Will definitely be staying again if Iam back in the area.
Thanks again to Marie,

Andrew Smith

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewsmith62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello Andrew.
It was so nice to see you again. And as always you were the perfect Gentleman. I am delighted you enjoyed your time here at Henrys and will look forward to seeing you here again , and meeting your Wife on your next visit. Take Care and Best Regards. Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Like no other accommodation in Ireland!! Henry's is a truly unique experience! Allow some time and prepare to chill ...

My partner and I stayed at Henrys for four nights in September 2012. We were blown away by the setting, on arrival... that such a beautiful, modern, stylish home could be set so sympatheticaly into the cliffs of West Cork. Once we'd caught our breath we were then warmed to our cores by the sincerity of Marie's welcome and the detail she has afforded in making every room a peaceful little haven within surroundings of pure natural beauty. Rooms are luxuriously comfortable, styled to the highest standards with little touches not even seen in 5* hotels of great standing. Marie is a wondeful hostess... her genuine warmth, great humour and attention to detail makes her one of the very best hostesses Ireland has to offer! ...not forgetting her amazing choice of artisan breakfast treats, most of which are sourced very locally.

I couldn't believe my eyes when I lifted the blinds in the morning... all guest rooms have floor to ceiling windows facing out onto the rugged cliffs of Galley Head and the wild Atlantic sea... as I lifted the blinds, a peregrine falcon darted past the window at eye level, chased very fast by another peregrine! Over to my left was a kestrel hovering over the purple heather, clearly visible by naked eye, no bins required! Out in front of me, on the edge of the cliffs, playing about on the wind, were four choughs having a ball in the stormy conditions! An absolute feast for two keen birdwatchers. A walk down to the quaint little beach after breakfast brought us sights of many more great birds... white wagtails, sanderlings, ringed plovers, turnstones, oystercatchers as well as a variety of gulls. Gannets could be seen offshore, plunging into the ocean for their fish breakfast... Henrys is dream accommodation for keen birdwatchers who have a fondness for their comforts too.

I cannot say enough good things about Henrys! A part of me is almost afraid to because I really want to go back there to stay!!... and I don't want to find that it has become impossible to book because the secret is out!! However... I so wish Marie and her family absolute success with Henrys, it is almost too special for words... Thank you Marie, Pat and Karl.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziebellle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie H, Owner at Henry's Boutique Destination, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Hazel, Thank you very much for such an amazing review. I am thrilled. It is good to know how much you both enjoyed yourselves here at Henrys. From a bird watching point of view you know the area well. I am amazed at all the birds you spotted and have been telling subsequent Guests. Thank you for the books you forwarded for the rooms, and people are enjoying reading them, and then seeing what birds they can spot. It is so interesting. West Cork is full of Hidden Gems. And I think Susy [ your lucky little gorgeous rescue dog] also enjoyed her trip. I will definitely look forward to seeing you again, as we all enjoyed your company when you were here. Thanks again. Really appreciate. Marie. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
5.3 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
5.9 mi away
O'Donovan's Hotel
O'Donovan's Hotel
#6 of 8 in Clonakilty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry's Boutique Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry's Boutique Destination

Property: Henry's Boutique Destination
Address: Donoure, Castlefreke, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Clonakilty
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 8 acres of cliff headland, Henry's is located in historic Castlefreke, in the most unspoilt position, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, with the bedrooms opening on to the lawn and the sea. With our private beach and adjoining Long Strand, there is over 2k of wonderful beaches to walk with the ocean on one side and sand dunes, a legacy of a long ago tsumani, on the other. Whether you are a surf fanatic or simply want to unwind from the hustle and bustle of life, Henry’s is the perfect place to get away from it all. Come and enjoy this little piece of Hidden Ireland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing