We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
141 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 141 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emmatyd
loughborough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning accommodation”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the cottage for 4 adults and a teenager. Kela was brilliant at communication, which was really useful as we live in Canada. She greeted us on arrival and explained everything we needed to know. The house was spotless, comfortable and contained everything we needed for our stay. The rooms were bigger than I thought. Only thing to consider is one couple needs to be ok making their way up a tight spiral staircase, which may not be suitable for all.
The grounds are absolutely stunning, and the short walk to to sea is rewarded with a beautiful view of the coastline. We also did the midnight kayak 45 mins drive away which I would highly recommend. Overall a beautiful part of the country and totally worth a visit. Thank you for hosting us Kela & Stephen.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
Thanks you for your lovely feedback - it was great that you were able to pack so much into the short stay. Hope we can welcome you again to West Cork in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deirdrery...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Highly recommed for hen party”
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I was extremely lucky that my bridesmaids organised the most perfect hen party for me in dunowen house on the 17th and 18th of march.
The house itself is just truely amazing. The decor and cleanliness of the house blew me away. The attention to detail shows just how passionate the owners are about their business.

We had a dinner party on the Saturday night and it was amazing.The food that Kela and her husband cooked for us was second to none, al a carte restaurant standard.on the Friday night we ordered pizza into the house. Kela was fantastic providing advise about the places to order from and also she recommended some great bars in clonakilty itself. Nothing was too much effort and all requests we happily accomdated. I will most definitely be back for another visit.

Thank you both SO much.

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
Thanks you so much for all you kind words and compliments. It was a pleasure to look after you all. Best wishes for the future and hopefully we'll see you back at Dunowen in the future.
Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJ85
Ballincollig, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Party”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had my hen party at Dunowen house and it was perfect from start to finish. The house is absolutely beautiful. The owners cooked for us on the Saturday night which was lovely and relaxed. It is ten minutes from Clonakilty but you really won't feel like leaving the house once you arrive. There is a real wow factor when you walk through the door. It truly is a very special place and I look forward to making a return visit soon.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
Delighted you enjoyed your Hen Party stay with us recently. Best wishes for the future and hopefully we can welcome you all back again for another celebration in the future. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNM79
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Amazing property for family gatherings”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here with our family to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday, and the property did not disappoint. Stephen and Kela are lovely hosts and were very accommodating for anything that we needed. They cooked a beautiful dinner on the second night and also made a different meal for the children that they all devoured. The house is so well kept and decorated. There are loads of rooms to relax in as well as having baths and TVs in each bedroom so even though you are renting a house, the rooms have a luxury hotel feel.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments! Your children were fab x
Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillyandM...
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“There are no words....”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

No need to search any further... book your stay at Dunowen House!!! Quick! Whether for a big family get together or in my case a hen party to remember this is the place for you!!! I had spotted Dunowen a while back when searching for a house to accommodate over 20 guests, near the sea for activities and with an old-style feel (my mother and I are obsessed with Pride and Prejudice) and Dunowen ticked every box and more.

After a slow drive to Ardfield, just outside Clonakilty we arrived at Dunowen to be welcomed by both Kela and Stephen and some freshly baked scones. Stephen showed us around the house and seriously we were blown away. Its exactly as described and just like the photos. Luxury, luxury, luxury! Everything has been thought off... right down to the face wipes to take off the layers of makeup each night ;) Showers are amazing and there is one in each of the bedrooms. The kitchen has everything you need and a little starter pack (oil, tea-bags, milk) to keep you going. We had brought breakfasts to cook each morning and there were more than enough grills, gas hobs and utensils to do everything together.

What I loved about Dunowen were the reception rooms with two large stoves where you could relax with the group but then escape to your own retreat as you wished. It was so so relaxing. The cottage was equally as cute - so bright and airy with colours that relax and refresh you!

Our dinner on the Friday night was delicious... everyone commented on how good the food was and my mother in law (to be) even got the recipes :) I would definitely take advantage of that package - its nice when everyone is arriving after a long drive and a days work to be able to relax with a glass of wine and good meal and not even have to leave the house.

Wish I could do it all again this weekend :( It was a weekend I'll never forget! Book well in advance as it fills up!
Thanks Kela and Steven

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
You're a star! What a lovely review, delighted that you all enjoyed your stay. Such a great bunch of ladies and not a starched bonnet in site...although wouldn't mind Mr. Darcy climbing out of the ponds here ;-) Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dantis111
Manchester, Großbritannien
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect space for a larger group”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival all of us where surprised by the scale and beauty of this venue and its surroundings. The inside is nicely decorated and very functional with a large terrace space to soak up the glorious Irish sun (which we where lucky enough to have experienced). The house is not far from Clonakilty (easily reachable by taxi for about €20) offering an array of local pubs and shops, and the beach is just a strawl down the road.

Cannot recommend this place enough and thank you so much for your hospitality Kela.

Date of stay: March 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2017
You are most welcome!! We are blessed to live in such a wonderful location and have the opportunity to share it with fab guests. It really is stunning when the sun shines. Many thanks and hope to see you again at some point in the future. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johndross
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a Hen Weeken at Dunowen House. The house itself is beautiful. Loads of space and freshly refurbished to a very high standard. Kela and Stephen were very welcoming, we had an online shop delivered and everything was put away by the time we arrived. The dinner included on one night was delicious. One of the joys of its location is it feels like a proper retreat, we hired cars which I would highly recommend. Clonakilty is just 15 mins away and so meant we could stock up on more alcohol! A proper home away from home. I just need to find an excuse to return now - it really is a special place!

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2017
If we could, we'd give you a 5 Star review as guests - for pure entertainment value alone! Thanks a million for the wonderful review - we certainly hope to see you back again...Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing