We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hen Party”
other travelers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sunshine...
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
“Hen Party”
Reviewed April 30, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I headed down with 22 girls for my hen party in Dunowen. It had been all arranged by my bridesmaids so I didn't know where we were staying until the day. Dunowen house absolutely blew me away. The house is gorgeous, really nicely decorated and really comfortable. We took over the house and began to relax straight away. We had dinner cooked for us that night which everyone agreed was delicious. The stove was burning in the living room which was impossible to leave. All the beds were comfortable and plenty of hot water for 18 girls (which can be difficult!) The next day a few headed off to the beach and some more lounged around the house. We had the little cottage beside it as well which I heard was very comfortable and looked very cute when I visited it. The owners came over to light the stoves again and then let us be. We really had such an enjoyable weekend then.
All in all I'd have absolutely no reservations in recommending Dunowen for a hen party/family gathering/group away. The only problem people will find is trying to get a weekend the house is actually available to rent but I feel it's going to get more and more popular.

Thanks so much for a wonderful weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely feedback and review, we very much appreciate it. Best wishes for the wedding and hope you will come back to visit us again.
Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnsLime...
limerick
2 reviews
“Stunning venue for any occasion”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Dunowen House is simply beautiful. A lovingly restored property with stunning views and minutes from the beach, I could not recommend this property highly enough. We were a hen party of 19 and the property was ideal for our weekend.
While Kela and Steve live on the same land, the property is absolutely yours for the weekend. We only saw the owners when they popped in on the Saturday morning to light the fire for us and cook us a gorgeous late lunch on Saturday afternoon. The food was delicious, all home grown or locally sourced and Kela was happy to work around our requirements (lots of hangover fare required!).
Every room in the house is stunning and spacious. Loads of room for a party or family reunion. We also had use of the recently renovated cottage next door, which was equally quaint and beautifully decorated.
As it's out in countryside you don't have to worry about disturbing the neighbours, however it's still within a couple of miles from Clonakilty which is a great town to go out in. You can arrange a local bus or taxi very easily (I think Kela can do this for you).
I could not recommend the house highly enough, it will not disappoint!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2016
Many thanks for your very kind feedback and your recommendations. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will see you at some stage again in the future. Best wishes for the wedding and have a wonderful day. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ackbeth20...
Nantucket, Massachusetts
1 review
“We will be back!!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our recent stay at Dunowen House was absolutely perfect! The house and property are beautiful - even in Feb!. Kela and Steve have created a holiday home that is elegant but comfortable. The location is ideal for traveling all over the south west of Ireland. Coming back to a warm fire (thank you, Steve) was irresistible so we had lovely day trips and dinner at Dunowen most nights.
Kela and Steve are terrific and were available to answer any questions about the house - always helpful with suggestions and directions for anywhere we wanted to go.
We loved our holiday to Ireland. Dunowen House, Kela and Steve are the top three reasons!
This is the house you want to tell everyone to rent but selfishly don't want to share the magic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2016
Aaaww, thanks for much for your lovely comments. We loved having you as guests and recommending things for you to do, especially all the food related tips! Please share your experience about Dunowen, we'd be delighted to see more guests from Nantucket and Boston over this side of the pond. We would love to see you again in the near future. Again many thanks for being such great guests, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ainegalvi...
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Best weekend ever in an amazing house”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This house was the perfect location for the hen party. We really couldn't have asked for anything more. Having seen pictures of the house on the website, we knew it would be nice but it really did exceed all our expectations. The rooms have the luxury feel of a hotel yet the whole house has a lovely relaxing vibe to it that you won't get in a hotel. We had a group of 22 girls who all had a ball! We stayed in on the Friday night and were delighted we had decided to do that as we got to spend some time in this beautiful house. Fires were blazing when we arrived, thanks to Keela, and fresh scones awaited us. We had brought lots of things for self-catering e.g. tea, sugar, butter, toilet roll, towels etc not quite knowing what to expect but in fairness all of these things were already in the house so there was no need to bring them. The house is only 10/15mins from Clonakilty town and from Inchydoney beach so plenty of options for activities to pass the day on the Saturday. On the Saturday afternoon, we have a very interesting make-up class in the living room and later that evening Keela cooked a delicious 3 course meal for all the hen party. It was great being able to enjoy a meal in the house without the hassle of getting everyone to a restaurant. Being able to bring our own wine also was very handy. We were all a bit sad to be leaving this beautiful house on Sunday and are already trying to think of an occasion that would allow us to book it again. Overall, the hen party package is good value for money and something a bit different. It was a great house to allow people who wouldn't all have known each other before then to mingle and get to know each other better. Keela was also great in the weeks leading up to the hen to answer any questions we had and was a pleasure to deal with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy, homely feel to the house which instantly made everyone relax
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2016
Apologies Aine for the late reply to your lovely review! We very much enjoyed having all your lovely group here - it was great to see bride to be, sisters, friends, mums & aunts all enjoying the pre-wedding celebrations and enjoying Dunowen House so much! Best wishes for the wedding and the bride & groom's future and we hope to see many of you here again for future celebrations or a holiday. Many thanks, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montyrove...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The most welcoming and stylish self catering destination in Ireland”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our party of ten travelled to Dunowen in the midst of Storm Desmond for the Clonakilty Marathon. We were a mixed group - teenagers and adults - and could not have had a more brilliant time despite the race being cancelled! Dunowen House must be the most welcoming and stylish self catering destination in Ireland. Stephen and Kela are born hosts and incredibly generous to boot. There are well stocked larder supplies as standard, log fires (no limit on logs), delicious catering if you want it and living rooms stacked full of books, cds, board games and even musical instruments. There were no fights over bedrooms and bathrooms because they are all large and comfortable and spotlessly clean. This is the way self catering should be and it was a privilege to stay there. Oh and the countryside is beautiful too......even underwater.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2016
Despite a storm, power cut and a cancelled Marathon being thrown at you, we have to say your group dealt with this unusual situation with grace and a sense of humour! It was so lovely to have you all and to find out you had a previous history with the house. We hope to welcome you all again, maybe for the 2016 Clonakilty Marathon!! Best wishes and many thanks, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya K
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Years Perfection”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

With Storm Frank looming it seemed ominous to be spending New Years weekend in a giant house in the middle of nowhere - but it turned out to be one of the most incredible, exiting, cosy and fun-filled weekends! On arrival our incredible hosts showed us the stunning mansion and explained the incredible music history (all whilst fresh made scones and jam waited for us in the kitchen). The rooms, each unique, were spacious and inviting - with the master being one of the most beautiful rooms I have ever seen. If you love big bathtubs, this is the house for you. We spent most of our time in the living room sitting by the fire and around the piano singing songs. Just down the lane is a stunning cove, which on one occasion had waves the size of buildings and on the other was calm and blue - with a baby seal hopping along the beach. Clonakilty is just down the road - and had some of the best live music I have ever experienced - as well as the most delicious fresh seafood chowder. Our hosts were lovely - and even drove my friends and I to a local farm for horseback riding on the beach! Could not recommend this place more - great for big groups of friends and families.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2016
Many thanks for your lovely review and great that the small break in the Storms this winter allowed you a few hours galloping on the local beaches! Happy New Year and hopefully we will welcome some or all of you back again in the future.
Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa N
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Having all my family stay at this amazing house made our wedding that much more special - felt like home away from home”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had our wedding in the area and all my Indian family stared at this exquisite location for 4 nights. The whole experience right from the time of booking the house to checking out was great. Stephen and Kela are very easy going yet very attentive, patient and approachable. We were able to view the house before the visit and every question was answered promptly and in detail. Even during the course of the visit - Stephen and Kela were quick to assist us with anything we needed.
The house itself needs no further praise and the photos are accurate and perhaps don't do enough justice. Very well maintained retaining the very essence of an Irish house (mansion!) - right from the approach to the house to the interior designing. The rooms are spacious and each unique. even though the house can accommodate 18 guests - there is a lot of space and privacy! The house was well heated right in the thick of winter and well stocked with basic essentials - we were even treated to home made scones and Jam (attention to detail).
There are good road signs to get to the house too!
All in all my Indian family had a truly experimented the Irish hospitality and the Irish living. I will be looking to go back to celebrate my husband's 40th soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2016
Thanks for the lovely feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted that all your family enjoyed their Irish and Dunowen House experience and we wish you every happiness in your future married life together. Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing