We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dunowen House was perfect for our large group and...”
other travelers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
137 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 137 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pamela S
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dunowen House was perfect for our large group and would make a lovely holiday spot for anyone!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We held a yoga retreat in Ireland with instructor Robin Shaw​ at the beautiful Dunowen House!! Kela and Steven were extremely accommodating and helpful in all of our requests and special needs and I highly recommend planning a holiday or a larger group event/vacation at the Dunowen House.

The house and grounds are beautiful and relaxing, and the food was absolutely delicious! (it is considered self-catering, and we were able to arrange wonderful menus at an extra cost in advance with Kela's phenomenal help!). The bedrooms are all beautifully appointed, and comfortable, the gardens are stunning and lush, the common spaces are cozy with working fire-places and plentiful wood, and the rock and roll style throughout the house makes the place have a truly special and unique flair!!

Napping by the fire in the comfy living room, practicing twice daily yoga in the transformed music room, beach walks (at nearby Sands Cove or Red Strand), Tigger (the adorable wire-haired dachshund) sightings, a personal tour of the grounds by Stephen including all the coming improvements to the property and garden, and the thoughtful, delicious, fresh and plentiful meals were highlights for all of us!! Kela is a gourmet's friend!! Her vision kept us all well fed and happy! :) Even the chickens went into overtime production to keep up with our breakfasts! Also, special mention to Kate from Flavour.ie Food Adventures​, as her assistance in making delicious meals made the non-stop cooking possible.

Most of all, Kela & Stephen's flexibility, kindness, attention to detail and care helped to make our retreat really special!!

I would come back to Dunowen House in a jiffy, and would recommend that anyone who wants to be in an incredible location with beautifully decorated and comfortable rooms, & wonderful hosts who are willing to accommodate any of your needs, come to Dunowen House for a fantastic holiday!!!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was so positive. As first time hosts of a yoga retreat, we were unsure what to expect but it really was most enjoyable. What a lovely group - chilled, relaxed and making the most of their stay in West Cork. We hope to see you again at another retreat! Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved Dunowen House!”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Just spent two weeks at Dunowen House with a large group of extended family from age 14 to 70. We all just loved our time at Dunowen House. Not only is it big, beautiful and luxurious in a very warm and comfortable way, but it is situated on gorgeous grounds in a breathtakingly beautiful area. The house has a rich history and along with Ardfield and Clonakilty is a music lover's dream! We all thoroughly enjoyed our trip and have all fallen in love with this beautiful and magical part of Ireland and cannot wait to go back!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The musical history!
Liked least: I liked everything about it!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2015
Dear Nancy, thanks for your lovely comments and feedback. Delighted that you had such a good time and loved this gorgeous part of West Cork as much as we do. We're already looking forward to welcoming you all back August 2017! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalsh201...
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Dunowen House is a perfect place to stay when visiting Cork. The large group (up to twenty the first week, we rented the lovely guesthouse too) I was with thoroughly enjoyed the house and it's beautiful environs. The bedrooms are all large and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals for all of us, and our many visitors. The sitting areas were roomy and we enjoyed learning about the musical history of the house. Clonakilty has loads of good restaurants and pubs and places to hear great music.
Staying at Dunowen House made it easy very to visit some of the best beaches in Ireland. Every drive near it was full of breathtaking views. Thanks Kela and Steve for such a great stay. We cannot wait to visit again in 2017!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful house!
Liked least: Leaving it.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2015
There are some guests that take every available opportunity to make the most of their holiday and your group excelled at this! We loved that by the end of the two weeks you knew nearly everyone in our small community like they were old friends and that you reconnected with long-lost relations. It was a pleasure having you all here and we look forward to seeing you for two more weeks of fun in 2017! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulhX620...
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house, lovely warm Irish welcome, plenty to do!”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were not disappointed with our stay in Dunowen. If anything it exceeded our expectations. The house is stunning and the area was beautiful, so tranquil and peaceful. The children were in their element playing in the large garden and going for walks to the nearby cove.
Perfect getaway. We will certainly return.
Many Thanks!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and surroundings
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2015
We love to hear that Dunowen House exceeds expectations! Many thanks for the lovely feedback and hope to see you here again in the future.
Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maureenca...
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Palatial, comfortable, accommodating accommodation.”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I just finished the best holiday of my life, and I have had many. Dunowen House is commodious and beautifully furnished. We were seventeen members of my extended family, ages 14 to 72, for a full two weeks stay. We had a singing party for 45, and there was plenty of room. Everything was meticulously clean and carefully arranged for our comfort. Hosts Kela and Stephen were welcoming and helpful. We have already book for a two week return.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: In a large crowd, it did not feel crowded or noisy.
Liked least: Could not open windows as wide as American like them opened.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2015
It was a pleasure to have you all and great that Dunowen House offered a base to reconnect with all your long-lost relatives! We look forward to welcoming you all back for another fun-filled stay in 2017. Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisem13...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic welcoming house Kela & Steven were fantastic”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We decided to have a family holiday in Clonakilty for my husband Owens 60th birthday.
Our children and grandchildren all came along Dunowen house looked perfect and it didn't disappoint.The house was beautiful,gardens fantastic and the most magical beach for kids 10 minutes walk from the house.The scenery is breathtaking and unspoilt and the whole holiday was wonderful.
Thank you Kela & Steven

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2015
Thanks so much for your lovely feedback, it was a pleasure to have you all here and that the weather was so good for the majority of your stay. Hopefully we'll see you in lovely West Cork again at some stage in the future. We hope you enjoyed your extended break visiting other spots on the Wild Atlantic Way. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaHedd
1 review
“Relaxed”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I had a fabulous weekend here for a hen party. Our group of 17 girls ranged from 21 to 61, and everybody was impressed and delighted with the venue. I believe it made the weekend.

Everybody loved the rooms, the decor and the food. The fire was lite both evenings for us. The large rooms downstairs were ideal for having everybody together, and the comfort of every room ment it was easy for everyone to spread out, take a corner and enjoy the down time.

Dinner was cooked for all guests the first evening and everybody was stuffed (the brownies are to die for). The second evening taxis had been arranged for us, and a 10min drive took us into clonakility, for some good pub scenes. Both mornings/ early afternoons we were able to saunter around and explore the beautiful coastal country side.

Its the type of place you want to tell everybody about. I'd love to have stayed longer, and I'm certain it won't be my last visit.

Thanks Kela and Stephen

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2015
You are very welcome - we are delighted you enjoy the house, the surrounding area and of course my special brownies!!! Best wishes to you all for the wedding later this summer. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing