We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An idyllic retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
130 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 130 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NariekYel...
Killarney, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An idyllic retreat”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

When not being rented out as a holiday let or the scene for exquisite dinner evenings, Dunowen House is a boutique Guest B&B. Formerly the home to Noel Redding of the Jimi Hendrix Experience, this house is ideal for a family getaway. I booked rooms for my wifes birthday and her parents joined us for the duration.
Kela and Stephen are fantastic hosts, not only do they open their house/home to guests but make you feel part of their family.
On arrival we enjoyed the welcoming log burning stove in the Noel Redding music room where we were treated to the home baking. And this continued to the breakfast where home baking adds to the hearty breakfast.
Our rooms were luxurious and spacious, with modern meeting old and sometimes quirky with baths on display in the bedrooms.
Close to many beaches and the town of Clonakilty, I'm only sorry our stay was not longer. We hope to return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness
Liked least: Nothing to fault except the shortness of our stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2015
Stephen and I enjoyed having you all here to celebrate your wife's birthday. We're glad you felt relaxed and at home throughout your stay. We'll keep you posted on our upcoming Supper Club events and hope to welcome you back for another stay in the near future. Kindest regards, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanne w
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“5 Star Luxury”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were a group of friends who took this fabulous house for the wkd. Everyone was so impressed with the way the place was finished and decorated to such a high standard, especially the bathrooms and amazing free standing baths in the bedrooms. The hosts were very hospitable and we organised a catered meal for 15 one night which was delicious. They also helped us organise a bus to take us into Clon on the other night. On the day we were leaving everyone was agreed we wished we had a least another day if not the full week to relax and enjoy the house and grounds. I would definately recommend this house for families, groups of friends for any occassion or just a relaxing break. We are trying to think of an excuse to go back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the luxurious decor and bathrooms/baths, the meal we had catered was so tasty
Liked least: it was a litttle difficult to see the signs for the house in the dark!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2015
It was a pleasure to welcome you all here and to help you celebrate your upcoming wedding. We are delighted that you enjoyed the house and hope to welcome you back again at some point in the future. We wish you every happiness in your future married lives. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corkerIre...
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by owners Kela and Stephen and a batch of warm scones. The house met all our requirements and our hosts were helpful both before and during our stay. We were in constant email contact to ensure our plans went well. The rooms are luxurious and very special, of course it's links with the music industry makes it all very unique. There were plenty of towels and bed linen available. It's proximity to the sea makes it a wonderful place to retreat to and explore the coastline, search for wildlife or just get away from it all. The house is so spacious that everyone (even in a large group) can find an area to relax in without being cramped in any way. There are six en-suite bedrooms, two sitting rooms, a well resourced playroom with books and toys suitable for all ages, a library filled with memorabilia, music and a wide selection of reading materials, an outdoor seating area, a well-equipped dining room and kitchen. We felt comfortable and relaxed during our memorable stay, it was a very special few days and we will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words. We would be delighted to welcome you back again anytime. Kindest regards, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
76paula
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented out Dunowen for a family birthday for 3 nights and it didn't disappoint!
Great space for 16 of us! The two large reception rooms allowed plenty of space for all of us to relax.
The large dining room was great for us as we ate there for every meal. The kitchen had all you needed and great space and facilities to cook for our large group.
There was even a fully stocked toy room for the children!

The owners meet us on arrival and were around if needed throughout the stay. They left a lovely welcome pack for us on arrival home made scones, jam, bread, tea, coffee and milk.

The rooms with the fabulous baths were luxury.

It was a great few days and lovely for all of us to be able to stay in the one house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2015
Lovely to have welcomed you all to Dunowen recently and that you found the house ideal for all your family to get together in comfort. We were envious of the beautiful afternoon tea you prepared for your celebrations - benefits of having a chef in your family party! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clickli
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for party or family get together.”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a gorgeous home from home (if your home had 6 stunning en-suite bedrooms and 2 reception rooms!)
We loved the library and all the rock n roll memorabilia, down to playing vinyl on on the record player. Open fires and ambient lighting set the tone for relaxing evenings and plenty room for everyone to sit in the dining room and eat together.
Gorgeous free standing baths in the bedrooms were so relaxing with choice of rain shower if preferred. Also the playroom was wonderful for the little ones of all ages and kept them happily occupied for hours.
The setting is simply stunning with views of cobbled courtyard, rolling landscape and sea views, the house is just minutes from beautiful beaches on the West Cork coastline.
Would highly recommend and they are even licenced for civil ceremonies should a chic rock n roll wedding be your thing.
Host couldn't do enough, yet gave complete privacy and you really felt like it was your own home for the duration. Can't wait to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2015
Thanks so much for your lovely review. Good to know you all enjoyed the house for your family celebrations and made good use of the music collection! Hope to see you again at some stage in the future. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peadar O
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's All About The Bass”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having just returned, rested and rejuvenated after a wonderful weekend, I couldn't wait to share my experience of this house.
Dunowen House is a beautiful country home, the former residence of Noel Redding, famous bass guitarist with the Jimi Hendrix Experience, and there's a wonderful collection of memorabilia to reflect this. The house has been restored and modernised to a very high standard of comfort, with no shortage of luxury. It's a family run business, where the proprietors do everything to ensure you have the best possible stay. They're available if you need them and invisible if you don't.

The house is wonderfully spacious, with 6 bedrooms, all of unique character, each with their own bathroom facilities. Perfect for anyone who loves a long soak in a hot bath. A fully equipped kitchen plus utility room, a long dining room, a living room/lounge that extends into a library area, a well stocked play room and a fabulously peacful sitting room with a big open fire. With 14 adults and 4 children in our group, we were glad of the extensive space.

WiFi throughout, satellite TV in most bedrooms, sound system wired all over the house, and a collection of CDs, DVDs, books, loads of kids' toys, etc. to ensure that you'll always have something to keep you occupied.

Dunowen House is an excellent place to base yourself, for exploring West Cork, as well as being a fantastic place to hide away from it all and unwind. Our expectations were very much exceeded and our stay thoroughly enjoyed.
We're already planning our next excuse to book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review of Dunowen House. Great to have met you all and delighted you found the house a great base to enjoy your family celebrations. We would love to welcome you back anytime - you don't need to find an excuse!! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeeTeeMas...
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed in Dunowen for two nights as a family guest for a 40th birthday celebration. I understand this was not a cheap stay and, whilst the surroundings were pleasant, there were many shortcomings which would not have been acceptable in a hotel stay. The red rooms were cold with poor heating provided. We could not shower in the lovely bathroom as there was little hot water. The atmosphere in the place and the fantastic cuisine we enjoyed were all down to our hosts. Whilst the memorabilia of Noel Redding was interesting, the overall standard lets the place down. Wifi was also hit and miss throughout the house.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Cold rooms and water
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
We are disappointed and sorry to find that Dunowen House didn't live up to your expectations and surprised that you didn't flag any issues you had with the house during your stay. We are always on hand to rectify things and indeed came straight in to the house to adjust the heating and make sure everything was working properly. Wi-fi can be patchy in some areas of the house as the 18th century walls are so thick. As it is a self-catering stay that was booked, we are not providing a "hotel" service but do believe we go above and beyond what is normally provided to guests booking any self-catering vacation - welcome packs including homemade scones & jam, logs & coal for the fires, access to every amenity provided in the house for guests entertainment. Many thanks for the feedback, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing