We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect. Thoroughly enjoyed by all”
other travelers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
130 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 130 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bernie O
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Perfect. Thoroughly enjoyed by all”
Reviewed October 18, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A group of 17 girls stayed in Dunowen House for a Hen Party. Kela welcomed us with fresh scones and made a beautiful meal for all to enjoy. Each room was beautifully decorated and had plenty space for the whole group. Both living rooms were warm and welcoming. I would highly recommend Dunowen House for a group getaway. Kela and her family could not have been more welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2014
We enjoyed hosting your beautifully planned hen party and really pleased it was so perfect for your celebrations. Best wishes to the bride to be & all the wedding party!! Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AislingOC...
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“A luxurious escape...”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I stayed here with 17 others for my sister's hen party this October. On arrival, Kela had baked warm scones for everyone and she was most welcoming. After a tour of the absolutely stunning house, we were left to set up for the party.

When the others arrived, they were as excited as little children at christmas looking at all of the beautiful bedrooms and choosing their own. Kela cooked us all a 3 course meal which we enjoyed in the dining room with some music and then we retreated into one of the living rooms where her husband and built a roaring fire.

We had arranged a cocktail class at the house and this was great fun. Kela had given us contact details for taxis to head into town. The next morning we were left to explore the grounds and the countryside before heading home.

Thanks to Kela and her family for hosting and from the reviews we have heard from the other girls, they all plan on coming back to stay again.

Fantastic stay.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2014
Thanks a million, love the photos! We'd love to see you back anytime, as a group or individually. Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2014
Thanks for such great praise. We are delighted you enjoyed your B&B break with us so much. Hope to see you all again in the near future. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We really enjoyed having you all to stay and introducing you to this fabulous corner of West Cork. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Val2304
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience. Definitely recommend for large group.”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed at Dunowen House while over from Miami. Celebrating my brother's 60th -over from Vancouver. We had 16 people staying on the first night and 12 afterwards. The 6 bedrooms easily accommodated all of us. Kela was very welcoming and the shortbread and fruitcake she made for us was delicious and very appreciated. Kela catered dinner for us the 2nd night The entire meal was great and much more convenient than having to go looking for local restaurant to accommodate large group. This is a really great place to stay and definitely recommend. Looking forward to going back.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and appreciating our baking skills! A pleasure to have you all stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you all again at some future point.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size of house
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2014
Thank you for the lovely words. You were blessed with the weather and the fact that Ardfield Festival was on during your stay was a wonderful intro into the great community spirit here. Best wishes for your future together, we hope to welcome you back for any future wedding anniversaries!! Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milo S
Yonkers, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My family flew to Ireland from New York tp spend a week at dunowen house with our extended family. We had a wonderful time. The house was beautiful..... spacious, modernly updated, beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms, wonderful grounds, private beach. It was nestled among picturesque farmland minutes from the ocean...the views of the ocean and the countryside on the surrounding roads were breathtaking. The owners of the house could not have been nicer. When we arrived the fridge was stocked with breakfast foods and the owner had baked us scones. They stopped by to make sure we had ideas for where to take the kids on rainy days. They made us fresh blackberry jam from the blackberry bushes that grow on the property. They really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had what we needed.
I would highly recommend Dunowen house to anyone staying in this part of ireland.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2014
Lovely to welcome you all here and glad you liked the Blackberry jam...there's been a bumper crop this summer, so will be eating jam all year!! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing