We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly Recommended!”
other travelers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
138 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 138 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Milo S
Yonkers, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My family flew to Ireland from New York tp spend a week at dunowen house with our extended family. We had a wonderful time. The house was beautiful..... spacious, modernly updated, beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms, wonderful grounds, private beach. It was nestled among picturesque farmland minutes from the ocean...the views of the ocean and the countryside on the surrounding roads were breathtaking. The owners of the house could not have been nicer. When we arrived the fridge was stocked with breakfast foods and the owner had baked us scones. They stopped by to make sure we had ideas for where to take the kids on rainy days. They made us fresh blackberry jam from the blackberry bushes that grow on the property. They really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had what we needed.
I would highly recommend Dunowen house to anyone staying in this part of ireland.

Date of stay: August 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2014
Lovely to welcome you all here and glad you liked the Blackberry jam...there's been a bumper crop this summer, so will be eating jam all year!! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your family holiday here at Dunowen House and of course, our lovely home baking!! Benefits of having all those apple trees in the orchard! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic , beautiful house in a perfect location”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family with grandparents and my 3 sisters families with children ranging from 1-18 all stayed in Dunowen for a week.It was great to accommodate the whole family under one roof. And still there was room for everyone. It was so spacious and beautiful just like the photos.We each had a lovely ensuite room, each one being as good as the next.The pillows and duvets were so comfortable. The attention to detail was perfect. We enjoyed the welcome pack. There were fresh flowers around the house.Our favourite place was the large patio where we had breakfast and dinner each day. The weather was extra good. The kids loved playing in the garden.We had a brilliant time. Thank you Kela & Stephen.

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and yes, the weather was extra special that week! Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judith_fl...
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful luxurious and homely house”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family of 15 adults and 2 children stayed in Dunowen House for a week. The house has everything a large party could need for a relaxing and very comfortable holiday. Kela and Stephen have created a luxurious home for guests to relax and enjoy all the activities the area has to offer. The house has a real air of comfort and luxury and manages to feel like a home from home. On arrival we were welcomed by homemade scones and all the ingredients for our breakfast on Sunday morning. After 21 years of hoildaying together as a family this year was by far the best and this was in no small part to the hospitality of the owners. We will be back

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fact the house catered in full for such a large party. Everything from dishes to linen was in plentiful supply
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2014
Gerard, we are delighted your experience at Dunowen House was so positive. We look forward to welcoming you and all the Flood family back again. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gernaldo
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magnificent week”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just back from a blissful week in stunning Dunowen House. Even though it's not our first time there the new owners have beautifully finished off the house. It was the little touches that were laid on for us on our arrival by Kela & Stephen that made it a home away from home and an amazing start to our amazing week in Dunowen House. Thank You.

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again to Dunowen House. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngbroo...
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well appointed spacious period home in beautiful peaceful cove in West Cork.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Dunowen House comfortably accommodated our family of 6 and would suit any large group of holiday makers. Lots of large ensuited stylish bedrooms. Spacious living rooms and formal/ informal dining. The grounds are verdant and very relaxing. Several beaches within a 5 or 10 minute walk and the beautiful surrounds of West Cork are easily accessible. A direct connection with the legendary Jimi Hendrix only added to the experience!

Date of stay: June 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments. Delighted you enjoyed Dunowen House so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie W
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A holiday to remember in a amazing house”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed for a week in Dunowen with my family and two more families. In total we were 6 adults and 6 children. The house was amazing, the pictures on the website don't do it justice.It was very clean and the little touches were amazing, like lots of fresh flowers and fairy cakes left out for us. There was everything we could possibly want and we had lots of space for us all inside and out. The two local beaches were great and a pint and ice-cream in the pub in the village was fun!
Overall it is such an amazing beautiful house and feel very lucky to have stayed there for a week

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked everything!!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing