We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secret thats hard to keep”
other travelers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
130 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 130 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian W
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secret thats hard to keep”
Reviewed January 28, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 5 couples, early 30's. 3 nights over New Year's.

We were very impressed with the grand scale of the place and how cosy and welcoming the house was when we first arrived.

Heather had decorated the music room for our New Year's celebrations and also baked for us!.

It actually took a number of minutes to get our bearings and choose our bedrooms. I would wager that this is one of the only places you could rent where nobody can draw the short straw in this process! The bedrooms are magnificent and the pictures do not do them justice, believe it or not.

We dined in one night in the spacious dining room. The kitchen is well equipped to deal with catering for a decent number of people.

The local pub is great for a quiet pint and Clonakilty was easily and cheaply accessed by taxi. We hit De Barra's for live music. Although, if you are well stocked and happy with your own company, there really is no need to leave the house except for a walk on one of the nearby beaches.

In addition I would recommend dinner in the bar in Inchydoney Island Lodge. Buzzy and great for groups.

For families I would point out that there were plenty of single beds for kids that aren’t pictured on the website. Certainly the house could've easily handled 18 people, though we were cautious not to invite an unruly number.

The one suggestion I would make is that they complete the installation of the sound system as unfortunately we had neglected to invite an accomplished pianist.

Definitely hope to return if we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and standard of accommodation
Liked least: No audio system
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments Brian and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards
Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineFit...
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed December 17, 2011 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a Hen week-end in Dunowen House and although I would rather keep this house as a secret, I cannot help having to highly recommend it...From start to finish everything was perfect. The rooms are amazing beautifully furnished (the other reviewer is correct the pictures do not do it justice), the living areas are huge giving you a feeling of space especially when there were 18 girls in the house. Book now and have fun, we will definitely be back! Thank you so much Heather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your review.I am so pleased you enjoyed your weekend at Dunowen House.
Kind Regards
Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2006eilis...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you do one thing in your life visit Dunowen House!”
Reviewed August 28, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Just home from a week at Dunowen House in Ardfield near Clonakilty, there was eighteen of us ranging from age 3 to 75 including several teenagers and every single one of us enjoyed it equally. Heather the lady of the house couldn't have been more helpful. The photos on the site do not do this fantastic house justice its absolutely huge and each room is individually styled and has its own character. Each room feels like it could tell a story and although there was eighteen of us it never felt like it for a minute. The house is in walking distance to a fantastic secluded cove where all the kids enjoyed snorkeling, swimming and kayaking (provided by Heather). The grounds of the house are amazing and we had such a laugh going back to old school games of rounders and chasing!! All the local's were so friendly especially in the local pub O'Mahoneys where we popped in and borrowed milk on more than one occasion. I'd recommend this house to anybody of any age or for any occasion. We are already planning our return trip it truly is a magical house in a stunning part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning house in stunning location
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrishaCol...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A magical week in Dunowen House”
Reviewed August 7, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

I booked Dunowen House for a special birthday and family and friends gathered at the house from the UK, US and Ireland. I needed a special place for the event and on talking to Heather I knew it would be great, but hadn't realised how special it would be until I got there. Heather's welcome when I arrived was wonderful, candles in the amazing flagstone hallway, fresh flowers, and as it was my birthday, wine and handmade chocolate cupcakes, made by her friend who's a chef at a nearby great fish restaurant.

On practical matters, the beds were fantastically comfortable, and having plenty of bathrooms meant a party of 12/14 adults never got in each other's way. The kitchen is brand new and spacious too. Having two lounges meant there was loads of space to chill out or make music in the music room, and we were on the terrace a lot as the weather was great. Not having any neighbours or anyone overlooking the house, adds to the peace and seclusion of the experience. Heather is nearby to help with anything you may need too.

Touches around the house do remind you of the history here and any music fans will love the artwork on the walls, the magazines from another era lying around to pick up and take you back to another time. Heather has done a great job on the interior design, its tasteful and modern, with a nod back to the physchedlic era that Noel Redding lived in, with clever use of colours, a piece of furniture, a chandelier, a painting. There's a great black and white photo of John Lennon in the hallway and a picture of Noel and Jimi. Its amazing to see these in a house you're staying in and wonderful to see these memories lovingly restored in the music room. We had many an evening in here and I am lucky my cousins are musical as we used the room for what it was intended for - singing and playing guitar.

From a tourist point of view, its set in absolutely stunning scenery, several nearby beaches of soft white sand and the nearby beach is worth exploring - feels like your own private one. There are lakes and coastal walks all over the area and golf courses. Clonakilty is one of the prettiest towns in West Cork and is friendly with lots of pubs and chances to hear live session music in the evenings, and on the practical front, you have a good supervalu to create some gourmet meals at home too. Cork airport is around 50 minutes to an hour away and further west you can explore Baltimore, Bantry, Schull. But you could happily spend a week within the immediate area of the house.

I would recommend a stay here to anyone who wants total peace and seclusion, luxury and comfort amid sturnning scenery. Ideal for a group of family or friends who want to get together on a big chill type holiday! If you want to live like rock stars for a week or two, this is the place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseKIr...
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolute magic in fairytale West Cork”
Reviewed June 24, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Friends on a Uni reunion weekend (think the Big chill) gathered in a breathtaking part of the world in the most beautiful house. Beyond the interesting history of the place it is absolute luxury. The lady (Heather) was so nice and upbeat and told us everything we needed to know. It is a gorgeous house and the furnishings are out of this world. I would love to return. Can't recommend it enough! Hoping to make it an annual event.

Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing