We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish hospitality as you expect it to be, like coming home.”
Review of O'Donovan's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
O'Donovan's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a staff outing from Holland to West Cork and O'Donovan's hotel was our hotel. They treated us like 5 star guests. Going to Ireland you expect warm friendly people and This hotel surely delivered. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Richard

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 183 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

I could not complain about one thing. The hotel was central with this wonderful and romantic charm, the staff could not have been any more accommodating, the Irish breakfasts were delicious (and I'm Irish so I am hard to please on this matter). Not to mention, I slept wonderfully. What more could one ask for from a hotel? I will certainly return.
P.S. Clonakilty rocks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We are a couple of musicians from Devon that were looking for the "real" Ireland experience. We were certainly not disappointed.
We stayed here for 7 nights and it really was superb.
If you are looking for the 5 star Holiday Inn type place this is not for you but if you want a very homely hotel with extremely friendly owners and staff, very warm atmosphere, great food, great service all round and lovely rooms, this is the place.
Thanks to all you guys for a great time.
Pete & Tony

Room Tip: If you smoke request a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank colliebonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

yes its a little tired, but that only adds to the charm of this family run hotel. It was a delight to stay there.....friendly and welcoming.....great breakfast. Had a room that overlooked the street with a window seat for watching the world go by. It also has its own little pub down the side alley, where we went to Story Telling and Singing and has a great night.....everyone talks to you in Ireland.
I wish we could have stayed longer in the birthtown of Michael Collins. Would definitely stay here again.....once the pub was closed we retired to the reception area and they opened the bar for us....they were twinning their town with somewhere in Germany and it was full of german priests who were also a laugh.....they had to be with 4 inebriated women chatting to them.......had the craich here

Room Tip: take a room at the front......with a window seat....they are old fashioned but large and I prefer th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anniesreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

An historic, friendly, homely hotel, with lots of character. Reasonably priced meals in the dining room and bar, which has all the usual stouts and Irish whiskeys, plus a nice supply of English bottled beers. Good breakfast, good music, good craic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights on 27&28th august with 3 others the hotel was lovely and homely the owners were very friendly . We had traditonal music the 2 nights we were there . recommend to both young and old would go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frankie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just stayed here for one night while visiting Clonakilty.Its an old family run hotel right in the centre of Clonakilty,and we were well treated by all the staff.A very easygoing place.We enjoyed a few drinks at the bar and had a nice breakfast in the morning.Plenty of Clonakilty black pudding to be had.There were lots of interesting books left around that you could read if you felt like it.A great session in a little bar at the back the night we were there.I would recommend this hotel for its relaxing atmosphere and good service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MacCraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clonakilty hotels
0.1 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
264 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
2.5 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fernhill House Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Donovan's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Donovan's Hotel

Address: Pearse Street, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Price Range: $112 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Donovan's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your O'Donovan's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Donovans Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing