We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Richys Restaurant

Richys Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Always using locally sourced produce you are gaurenteed you meal at Richys is top quality every time
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just over from New Zealand with my partner to tour the lovely west of Ireland. What a treat when we found this gem of a restaurant . Food awesome, front of house lady was amazing and service excellent. I would definitely recommend the Egg Bennie mmm. Also if you need some travel tips ask Dee she told us great off the beaten track places to visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sham6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richys101, Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Richys. It was a pleasure meeting you while you were in Ireland and glad you loved the breakfast so much. Delighted to hear the places to visit worked out for you too. Be sure to pop back back next time your in the area !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 292 of 557 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

Called in here last weekend when passing through a very busy West Cork! Caught the end of their breakfast menu and both hubbie and I really enjoyed it. Although the place was rather tightly packed ( a little more space between tables might be nice), the staff were friendly and were very accomodating to our queries about gluten free options. We will definitely be back for dinner some time soon !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PatriciaIreland2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richys101, Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you were happy with our fresh baked Gluten free cakes and lunch items. Every one of our main courses are coeliac friendly too so we look forward to welcoming you back for dinner soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have been to Richies a few times this Summer and the food , atmosphere and the staff have been superb. We have dined in Richies each year over the past 7 or 8 and each year we have seen improvements. A SUPER restaurant with GREAT food!!! Well worth a visit and vg value

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sceithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richys101, Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for your review - we will strive to continue to exceed your expectations every time you call in. Dont leave it too long and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

On holiday's with my husband and two kids and really looking forward to going somewhere nice to eat for lunch. The lady at the front counter didn't seem that friendly went I asked to see the menu before making our way to the table. The same lady took our order and from then on it was like we were such a burden on her. She was rushing around starting banging the glasses on the table before rushing off. I dont know why it was only us there i say she was getting tables set for that evening which looked to me already done. Went i confronted her about her bad attitude she seem surprised. I wasn't at all happy with her bad attitude and such poor customer service. Dee was her name and I don't know what all the rush was for and the feeling of getting in the her way. If we didn't have the kids I would have walked out. Only for the nice gentleman that was working there who had a pleasant smile and warm and welcoming during that time. At the end of the day food is not enough for customers to come back it is your service and a smile would be nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shaziemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richys101, Owner at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Richys. We are very sorry to hear that you felt the service you received from Dee was not up to the standard of customer service we expect from our staff. We have taken steps to ensure the experience you had with us will not happen again . Our motto is as follows at Richys " The customer is the most important person in the building. They are not dependent on us rather we are on them. They are not an interruption to our work they are the reason for it,. We are not doing the a favour by serving them -They are not doing us a favour by giving us the opportunity to do so . We hope you will give Richys the opportunity to change your mind .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We had seafood crumble & scallops with black pudding to start, both very nice. Then we had the seafood risotto & hake with potato rosti, again both very nice. Staff were attentive and the restaurant itself was nice and cosy. 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 glasses of wine and 2 coffees just under €90 (a la carte menu). Well worth a visit!

1  Thank RalphKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richys101, Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and found it to be good value. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richys Restaurant also viewed

Clonakilty, County Cork
Clonakilty, County Cork
 
Clonakilty, County Cork
Clonakilty, County Cork
 

Been to Richys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing