We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening on a slow night in Clonakilty”
Review of Richys Restaurant

Richys Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Always using locally sourced produce you are gaurenteed you meal at Richys is top quality every time
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice evening on a slow night in Clonakilty”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Ricky's was recommended by a local, it was a Monday evening in October in Clonakilty. All the tourists had long gone and few eating establishments remained open.

A party of 4 we didn't have very high expectations, just a quiet meal well presented with a bottle or two of wine was all we sought.

The experience was well into the more memorable of our long trip for all the right reasons. Our welcome was breezy, out table was ready, the food was excellent and the service was memorable. We had a most enjoyable evening and would recommend this establishment to fellow travelers with no reservations. To put it simply, we enjoyed it. (It's how eating out used to be!)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rintoul353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    103
    53
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our hostess Victoria was a star. With a fresh charm and delightful manner she steered us through a great meal, finding the right thing for each of us. Her recommendation of the sea food platter as a main to one of our party was perfect, of the curry to another again perfect for him. Another member of our party had the two forms of lamb, both gorgeous, and I had a beautiful piece of cod with innovative vegetables. She helped us choose the right wines, and made the event truly delightful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank glts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We found this restaurant by chance and what a find! The menu was very extensive with great variety. The drinks list was equally impressive. We went with the suggestions from the host and weren't disappointed. The food was full of flavour with a lot of in-season ingredients being used. The Venison was a particular favourite. Overall great atmosphere and great value. Its easy to see these guys are passionate about good food and drink. Would definitely visit again if we were in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Although the service was very good and friendly, the menu was a little basic. I note that they are offering a new menu soon - perhaps that will improve the options.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richys101, Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Joyce L. As you have advised, we have just recently launched a new range of menus for breakfast, lunch and for dinner. With seasonal dishes including Venison, smoked Mackerel, local Chicken and wonderful Seafood specialities, I'm sure we have something to tempt everyone :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good service, food okay”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I have to say the service was really good. The English gent served us and was excellent. We had two small children and he looked after all the little requests we had with a smile and a laugh. He also recommended a lovely bottle of wine which went down a treat. We both had the fillet steak which was okay but nothing more than that. For the price we paid I will wouldn't recommend it. Try something else on the menu. Probably wouldn't go back again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whopperfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richys101, General Manager at Richys Restaurant, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed our service while you were here Whopperfinn, but I am sorry to hear you only thought your food was Okay as we do strive to meet all our customers expectations for both service and your meal. Although we unfortunately do not offer fillet steak on our menu, I do hope that you will return to try one of our other dishes :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richys Restaurant also viewed

Clonakilty, County Cork
Clonakilty, County Cork
 

Been to Richys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing