We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fernhill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We celebrated our wedding at Fernhill House Hotel on May 11th this year. We found the hotel very receptive to our ideas and they were very accommodating with all of our requests. The hotel gardens were absolutely beautiful on the day (even though the weather wasn't great) and they provided a lovely landscape for our pictures. Fernhill is a family run hotel and the O' Neill family are experts at making everyone welcome and feel at ease.We could not recommend the whole experience highly enough.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review.

It was our pleasure to make your Wedding an excellent one and we would like to wish you both an amazing life together from all at Fernhill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Fernhill House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 388 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for my brothers wedding in June just gone. The hotel was fantastic, the wedding day was amazing. The food was excellent.
But it was the customer service, that couldn't be faulted. All the staff were so helpful, the family who run the hotel are very helpful and couldn't do enough for anyone of us.
I would happily recommend anyone to saty here and have their wedding here.
We would love to go back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Myself and my husband, Jerry got married on June 15th 2013. We held our reception at Fernhill House Hotel.
We fell in love with fernhill the year before when we first booked it for the wedding. The scenic gardens and friendly staff made it an easy choice for a reception.
Leading up to the wedding, Caroline, the wedding co-ordinator did everything she could to make sure everything went well for us on the day.
From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. Caroline and the O' Neill family went above and beyond to make our day special. The drinks reception was held in the gardens, which went down very well. The food at dinner was plentiful and delicious. All our guests loved it. The evening food was equally delicious and every member of staff was friendly and helpful for the whole day. I highly recommend the fish and chip shop in the evening! Delicious and well organised.
The only pity for me was how fast the whole day went. Everything was brilliant. What makes this hotel special is the attention to detail and the friendliness of a family run business.
We would highly recommend Fernhill House to anyone considering it for a wedding.
Clíona Harrington & Jerry Sheehan

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clihar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Our main aim in business is to make peoples Weddings the best day of their lives so we are delighted that you enjoyed your day with us.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we hope you had an amazing honeymoon and an even better life together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We initially stayed for 1 night butcwe stayed for 2 nights. Great staff all local people and a family run hotel. Had dinner and was very impressed with the service and the great standard of food. Very clean and comfortable surroundings. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddybrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights during very warm weather. When we arrived in the room it was stifling and we discovered that one of the windows was, we thought, broken, and didn't open. Obviously we wanted to let as much air as possible in to try to cool down (there is no air conditioning in the rooms) so we asked at reception could it be fixed.

When we arrived back we were told that it had been checked out with the owner who advised that for health and safety issues they only allow one of the two windows in their rooms to be opened. I know a little about health and safety myself, and whatever about the incomprehensible reasoning behind this, I can be very certain that this strange rule didn't help my wellbeing in the unbearable heat.

It made for a very uncomfortable stay unfortunately, not helped by the small size of the room. The beds and pillows were also pretty uncomfortable.

It's in a good location though!

Room Tip: Not much to advise becuase we were told for health and safety issues two windows couldn't be ope...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dumplanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Manager at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We place massive importance on guest safety.
During a recent safety audit at the hotel, the risk assessor informed us that there have been accidents in other hotels involving children and windows.

We have a system in place that the child safety lock can be removed but unfortunately this was not communicated to you. We will review our systems to ensure that it does not happen again especially during untypically hot Summers like the current one.

Glad you enjoyed our location and hope to see you at the hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

If i could give more stars i would. We first visited Fernhill in February 2012 and as soon as Caroline (wedding coordinator) showed us around the grounds and hotel i knew this was the place for our wedding. Its perfect for so many reasons but its great to know when you book your wedding here its just you an your guests who will be there on the day. Caroline throughout the process was really helpful and nothing was too much. We visited the hotel a couple of times for dinner/lunch with our families so they could see the place and on each occasion the food was perfect and the staff were very attentive without being annoying. We had our wedding here 7th June 2013 and the whole day went perfectly the weather was perfect which helped so we got full use of the gardens and the golf buggy transport is an added bonus. The meal was perfect and the staff were great. I would definitely recommend this hotel for weddings.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VonCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael F, Owner at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you Voncam for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is great to get feedback of any nature and your review has delighted us all. I hope that you had a great time on honeymoon and that you have an amazing future together

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had our wedding in the Fernhill House Hotel on the 5th of April 2013. From the first time we visited the hotel, we knew it was the place for our wedding. The Hotel and function room and of course the beautiful gardens sold sold itself.Caroline Hayes, the wedding coordinator, was the most friendly and helpful person you could meet, no job was too big or too small and she made organising our wedding much easier than we expected! She was a real lady to work with. When we arrived at the hotel on the day, we were greeted with a very warm welcome from the O' Neill family, and had our photo taken by the beautiful fireplace for the personalised menu, which was a lovely extra touch and our guests loved it. We were so lucky with the weather and we had the drinks reception in the marquee, surrounded by the beautiful landscaped gardens, and all the guests commented on how nice and different it was to have the drinks reception down there. The use of the Golf Buggy to transport guests from the hotel to the Marquee was a huge hit with everybody and they commented on how efficient and friendly the staff were. The guests were also commenting on the lovely summer berry punch and the little nibbles which went down a treat! The meal was delicious, and everyone was served together thanks to the efficiency of the waiters. Everyone commented on the hot tasty food and the amount of it. Nobody got up hungry from the table and the wine flowed generously. Also quiet a lot of our guests commented on how lovely it was to have Irish staff waiting their tables and serving behind the bar. The party continued in the residents bar into the early hours and the staff were very kind to bring out loads of sandwichs to keep the party going.
Overall, our experience was just magical we had the most special day one we'll never forget, the hotel had a very warm, friendly and had a homely feel and made everone feel so welcome. Thank you so much to the O' Neill Family, and also Carloline, and all the staff. I would highly recommend this hotel for a wedding as it makes the day extra special! I know ours was just magical. So thanks to all involved!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
3.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
414 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
0.9 mi away
The Clonakilty Hotel
The Clonakilty Hotel
#5 of 8 in Clonakilty
257 reviews
23.9 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill House Hotel

Address: Fernhill, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range: $115 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhill House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhill House Hotel& Gardens is based on a Victorian House set on its own landscaped gardens overlooking the beautiful coutryside of West Cork. The hotel is owned by the O'Neill family, and along with their management look forward to seeing to your every need. The hotel features new rooms with each designed in a modern and unique style where attention to detail and comfort is paramount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Fernhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing