We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wedding Location....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fernhill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clonakilty
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Wedding Location....”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

....can't wait to revisit for a holiday.

Myself and my wife had our wedding reception at Fernhill House Hotel on the 20th of May 2011. We booked the reception with Caroline who was very pleasant to deal with. Caroline paid very close attention to our needs and on the day of the wedding, executed our requests with minute detail.

The owners, Teresa and Michael O'Neill, gave the whole experience a personal touch which you cannot put a price on. Teresa & Caroline looked after the little things so myself and my new bride could enjoy ourselves without having to worry about a thing. Teresa even gave prompts to the very nervous best man!

Michael had a pint with my guests and I at the bar the night before the wedding having a laugh and sharing his experiences of his own wedding, which added a lovely personal touch.

The Marquee, set in the beautiful gardens of Fernhill House Hotel, served as the drinks reception with canapés being served which was an absolute hit with guests. The beautiful gardens served as a great backdrop for wedding photos.

The meal at the reception meal was second to none. We still have friends complementing us on the meal.

There was an option to serve fish and chips plus sandwiches and this also was a hit with guests who still mention how great an idea it was.

I stayed in the hotel for two nights. The first night I stayed in a single room and the second night I spent in the bridal suite with my new wife. Both rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean and comfortable. Both rooms had all modern conveniences with tasteful decorations. Both bathroom were luxurious.

We would recommend this Hotel to anyone planning a wedding as Caroline, Teresa and Michael made the whole experience very special and stress free.

We would definitely stay here again.

Once again, thanks to Caroline, Teresa and Michael for making our special day so special. Sorry for the late review!

Ken & Ruth

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CabooseIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikefern, Manager at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Hello

Thank you for taking to time to write such a lovely message we really appreciate it. We are particularly pleased that your guests enjoyed the atmosphere and most importantly the food as we. You are most welcome to visiting again in the future and we look forward to seeing you and your wife.

Kind regards

Michael O Neill jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    47
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
117
141
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We held our wedding reception at Fernhill on Aug 13th and we couldnt have asked for more. I have lost count of the number of guests who have said the food was the best they have ever had a wedding both in quality and portion size. I was too excited to eat properly on the day itself but from the food tastng I completely agree.
Caroline and the team were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. The preperation was so perfect I had no need to panic with the last minute details. I have had to tell guests that we can not take credit for alot of the day as it was all down to the team at Fernhill.
We had guests from UK, US, germany, Australia and various places across Ireland and thney all said the same - what a fantastic venue
The gardens are beautiful, i cant wait to see our pictures
I would definately recomend this hotel if you are looking to book your wedding and we will def be back the next time we are in Ireland
To Caroline, the O'neils and the team - thank you so much for making our special day so perfect and stress free

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikefern, Manager at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write such kind words. It is great to hear that we were able to help make your day extra special. I am also delighted to hear that your foreign guests were delighted with the day aswell. I hope the pictures came out well and we would like to wish you many years of happiness together.

Regards

Michael O Neill jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at Fernhill for two nights and although we enjoyed our stay we would not revisit. The hotel is in a beautiful location, well looked after with very attractive gardens and is spotlessly clean and inviting. However although the breakfast was very good we were very disappointed with the evening meal because of the very limited menu for people staying on the 2 nights B&B plus 1 dinner offer. The dining room, while fresh, clean and attractive, lacked athmosphere - it was too bright .... dimmed lighting and perhaps candles on tables would certainly have added athmosphere for evening meals - We asked for background music to be turned on and this helped. The bar is perhaps too small and not conducive to having a quite chat ... however there is a larger area outside the bar to which we retreated. The staff are very helpful and friendly and make everyone feel welcome. The location is a bit out of town and will take approx 25 minutes to walk to the centre of Clonakilty ... good exercise to help walk off a hearty meal and a few drinks! Overall an attractive hotel but dining room and the menu could be improved.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C-121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikefern, Manager at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay. We appreciate and take on board everything we get. I have since consulted with our team to ensure that every night we have an extensive menu as part of our accommodation packages and we have since invested in some more candles for our dining room. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and you would be most welcome if you would like to make a return visit to Clonakilty with one of our popular mid week packages.

Kind regards

Michael O Neill jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahir
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We were impressed from the very beginning of our stay. The hotel is beautifully decorated and kept spotlessly clean.It is encouraging to experience such comfort , value and high standards which compare with the best anywhere in the country or abroad.
The breakfast and evening meal was excellent . Staff were friendly and helpful. We couldn't recommend the Fernhill House Hotel with more enthusiasm if we tried but maybe we shouldn't shout so loud and keep this treasure to ourselves.

J&S

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikefern, Manager at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
We are delighted that you and your guests had a marvelous time on your wedding day. It was our pleasure to help make your big day extra special. I have passed on your kind words to our team and we all really appreciate it.

Kind regards

Michael O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed here for one night. Checked in late and were welcomed by the owner who was happy to chat to us and give tips on things to do and how to get there. Our room was very clean and modern and we had no faults.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikefern, Manager at Fernhill House Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Hello Terryant

Thank you for your kind words. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make it more enjoyable by providing some tips on Clonakilty.

I hope you come back to visit us again

Kind regards

Michael O Neill jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We got married on May 6th and had our reception at fernhill House Hotel. What can we say!!!! From start to finish from the planning right up to our wedding day, Everything about Fernhill was fantastic. We cannot say enough about the place. Caroline, Teresa and her family and all the staff were amazing and are the reason Fernhill is a number one wedding reception venue. The food was fantastic, the atmosphere was brilliant, the gardens and surroundings are beautiful, you really feel like you are at home here with the O' Neill family and that is what a wedding is all about. We couldn't fault it in any way. Everyone commented on the food and the service the next day and it is great having the whole place to yourselves. The bedrooms are beautiful and you really feel like you can kick back and just have a good day. For anyone thinking about having a wedding here you are on a winner because it ticks all the boxes. Thank you so much to all at Fernhill for giving us a magical day we will never forget, Angela & Declan Cummins

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angieosull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2011

we celebrated our wedding in the Fernhill on the 10th of July last year and people are still raving about it and the meal they were served, everything was done to perfection and nothing was too much trouble for them, their attention to detail is fantastic down to the suprise of having our picture on the front of our dinner menus, small things like this make this hotel a superb wedding hotel. If anyone is thinking of booking the fernhill for their big day I honestly can say if ye do you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonakilty
3.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
405 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel And Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
146 reviews
6.3 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
703 reviews
23.9 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill House Hotel

Property: Fernhill House Hotel
Address: Fernhill, Clonakilty, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Clonakilty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Clonakilty
#1 Romantic Hotel in Clonakilty
#2 Business Hotel in Clonakilty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhill House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhill House Hotel& Gardens is based on a Victorian House set on its own landscaped gardens overlooking the beautiful coutryside of West Cork. The hotel is owned by the O'Neill family, and along with their management look forward to seeing to your every need. The hotel features new rooms with each designed in a modern and unique style where attention to detail and comfort is paramount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Fernhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel Clonakilty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing