We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Irelands' very own pot of gold”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gearagh House

Gearagh House from front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gearagh House from front
Front and side on view Entrance Hallway of Gearagh House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Gearagh House from front
Front and side on view
Entrance Hallway of Gearagh House
Dining room in Gearagh House
Master Bedroom
Bedroom number 2 (also called the Blue Room)
Ensuite shower room for Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4 (the Green Room) also has an ensuite bathroom
The kitchen in Gearagh House
The west facing deck to the rear of Gearagh House with Swim Spa and seating area
Gearagh House from the top of the back garden.
Sunny spot in the garden
Sun conservatory at back of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jamesfarn...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Irelands' very own pot of gold”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This place has the class of a castle mixed in with a hot-tub the size of my house in a part of Ireland that should be kept a secret for as long as possible. We stayed for 4 days which was too short. It's a private relaxing getaway from the busy city of London and is simply bliss.

Gearagh house has two wings which can house up to 10-12 people. We took 9 people and had so much space that we all lived and relaxed in harmony.

It is a short 10 minute drive to Clonakilty where you find a beautiful little town equipped with many pleasant restaurants and places to grab a drink by the river. Gearagh house has a fully functioning kitchen so we grabbed supplies from the large Lidl in town and cooked for ourselves before dunking ourselves in the hot tub.

Overall whether it's a holiday needed or a corporate retreat to get away from corporate life, this place is the place to be. If you are lucky you may even get a visit from the neighbours lovely dogs.

Maoilíosa is a perfect host and responded quickly at all times. He left us towels, shampooes and we might as well been staying in a five-star retreat organised by a luxury agency. Simply 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Hi James,

Many thanks for the feedback and great to have you guys to stay in Gearagh House. You'll always be welcome back to West Cork.

And congrats on your fine academic achievements!

Best wishes,

Maoilíosa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahOCon...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful home”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I rented this house for my cousin's hen weekend and it was a great success. The house and its location are beautiful. We hired a caterer for the Saturday night and had a fabulous meal infront of open fires in the dining room that seated 21 of us. Later we had a bus take us into clonakilty where we hit the local night spots. Some of the party slept in clonakilty while the rest of us stayed at Gearagh house. Maoiliosa was an extremely relaxed and communicative host, nothing was too much trouble. The house was spotless, the beds were comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. We left wishing we could stay longer. The highlight was undoubtably sitting out in the hot tub under clear February night skies - such a treat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2017
Sarah, many thanks for choosing Gearagh House to make a memorable weekend for your cousin and all her family and friends who were part of it. I'm pleased that it all worked to plan and that it was a great success (I can't claim credit for the clear night skies). Thanks also for being well organised and easy to deal with. Maoilíosa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisaworce...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect week at Gearagh House ”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Three generations of us have just returned after a wonderful stay at Gearagh house. Lovely setting, amazing house and a great base for exploring West Cork. The house is beautifully big with lots of different areas to relax. You can use the formal rooms or the family rooms, the entire house is yours to enjoy. The hot tub and gardens are wonderful and the kitchen is well equipped and was where we all gathered in the morning for hot buttered toast around the breakfast bar as we decided what to do with our day. Clean crisp bedding, fluffy towels comfy beds and big bathrooms - perfect holiday home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trev0rm0r...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Another excellent week in Ireland over all to soon. this house is amazing with a great garden out the back and large swim spa, the own (Maoiliosa) being more than helpful, recommending trips out and places to eat, the kids really enjoyed the whale watching!!
We would definitely consider staying here again.
Thank M, we had a great time.
Trevor

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great house made even better with the great weather
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel696...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2017
Hi Pascal, we were very happy to have you stay at Gearagh House and that you had such a good time over the Christmas holiday and enjoyed the music and atmosphere in Clonakilty. We're really looking forward to coming to France in the Summer. Maoilíosa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing