We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok”
Review of La Trattoria

La Trattoria
Ranked #24 of 55 Restaurants in Midleton
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: European, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

stopped in here on a recent trip to east cork, its alright for food resonably fast pizzas are ok but to be honest there nothing to write home about though

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderaroundabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    24
    10
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Its OK for chipper style sit in food or carvery. I think there are way better options in Midleton for dinner but its got an interesting Breakfast option.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank xxairey-faireyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“''Not a restaurant , but maybe a Trucker's Caf''”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Where do I start?? We were told this was a restaurant- telephoned and booked a table for four. As we entered we were hit by a strange odour (Burnt boiled cabbage??) Staff extremely friendly (otherwise we would have absconded!). ''Fresh prawns'' for starters sounded good but taste did not match! Rack of lamb ,sloppy, fillet steak TOUGH, Pizza , half baked,Desserts not prepared on premises, bought in and tasted artificial. Choice of wine red or white house wine only and overpriced for this cheap quality. Do your helpful friendly a favour and match food quality to their enthusiasm.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bridinban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Food and service ok”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Went there for lunch as the distillery restaurant was full and it was pouring with rain. Service and food was very average. Nothing to write home about. Overall very disappointing. It was surprising how many locals were eating the carvery, must be good value.

Helpful?
Thank Grant_I_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Terrible food, poor service”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went there for a dinner [2 adults + child].
So first of all waitress offered us a table next to the toilets - there were about more 10 people in restaurant and it was kinda..empty. So I asked for another table- waitress was a little bit ignorant as she just pointed another table and sat with her friends joking and acting loud ignoring us sitting next..
I ordered fried Camembert with cranberries and steak - please see pictures.
Camembert was transparent in taste, probably kept in freezer.
Well done steak was like rubber, chewy and too thick. Onion rings and mushrooms served half/half with frying oil...
Kid's spaghetti bolognese was cold tasteless.
Deserts average and pretty big, also big nice cup of coffee.
Voucher for dinner was worth e60, we paid e15 extra so it makes e75 in total which would be a price of excellent dinner for us 3 in fancy restaurant in Cork so we won't go back there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria also viewed

Midleton, County Cork
Midleton, County Cork
 
Midleton, County Cork
Midleton, County Cork
 

Been to La Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing