We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Farmgate Resturant & Country Store
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Midleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Bantry
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I love the food in this place, its brilliantly prepared local food!! Cant wait to go back. I cant say enough good things about this place

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank good-food-lover-86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    62
    26
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommended and we weren't disappointed”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We visited Farmgate in Midelton back in September on a friends recommendation. It took a bit to find it as it's not located by GPS but ultimately it was worth the trouble. There were four of us and we each had a different dish. Everything was excellent. The place was bustling and the staff was warm and very well informed regarding the menu. You could tell the menu is based on what can be obtained fresh each day so the ingredients and flavors were splendid. Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bschoenherz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Adequate but a little pricey for what we got.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I recently had dinner in the farmGate resturant in Midleton, county Cork.
The resturant is located in the town of midleton about twenty minutes from Cork city.
The resturant is located in an old store and the athmosphere is comfortable for those located in the main dining romm area. we unfortunately were seated in an annex area that on the night was continually either too cold or too hot.
The menu is adequate but a little on the pricey side. Food again is adequate but nor special. I would describe the standard of food to good home food and wondered if there was a chef in the kitchen or was it just a cook ?.
My verdict: there are better resturants out there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank watermanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The farm gate is lovely , a little pricey for what it is but I still like it for special occasions. Staff are really nice and the wines are great too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank xxairey-faireyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Excellent food, home cooked style, full of flavor, great portions, great decor and lovely building. The staff are very helpful but very busy and disappointed I could not reserve a table.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BBspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmgate Resturant & Country Store also viewed

Midleton, County Cork
 
Midleton, County Cork
Midleton, County Cork
 

Been to Farmgate Resturant & Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing