We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Springfort Hall Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2009

A lovely manor house surrounded in fabulous countryside. The rooms were a good size but the plumbing needs to be modernised. The staff were so friendly and helpful and really made you feel at home. They food was of a high quality and great sevice. I did think €140 a night was a little expensive considering there was no leisure facilites.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkSudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 466 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2009

me and my partener stayed here for one night, we arrived about 9pm on a Friday night, there was a wedding at the hotel the same night, we were met at reception by a friendly girl who asked if we were hungry and wanted something to eat, we were starved so we decided to grab a bite to eat after putting out luggage into our room.
we arrived back to the reception and were given the offer of dining in the bar or the restraunt, we decided to eat in the bar, the girl at the desk took us into the bar and showed us to a table, we were seated and given a menu each and asked if we wanted a drink. i got the curry and my partener got a sirloin for our main course and a sticky toffee pudding and a summer pudding for dessert, the food was out of this world,
even though the staff were busy with the wedding they made sure we were given lots of attention which we taught was lovely.
the bedroom was very spacious. lovely decorated and cosy, we slept like babies.
following morning we went down for breakfact about 10am, there was a big buffet table just inside the door filled with creeal's bread, fresh fruit and juice, we also got to pick a hot breakfast off a menu.
we really enjoyed our stay and will be back for sure.
thankd guy's

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suziez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I stayed in the Springfort Hall while on business with colleagues for three nights.
3 nights too many. While the accomodation was ok and comfortable, The food was awful.
Breakfast: It states breakfast starts at 7.30am. This is far too late for any person staying for business purposes. The Irish breakfast was very poor quality and tasteless.

Our evening meal`s were horrific and reminded me of Fawlty Towers. They have a cubby hole in the dining room and food is served out to staff from the kitchen. We were served half cooked rack of lamb with blood running through the centre one evening. 8 people had to return their dishes. Staff didnt seem too concerned which was very unprofessional.

I will not be staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

I have just attended a wedding at Springfort Hall. The location and surroundings and very nice for wedding photos. The reception room was well decorated and just the right size. The food was excellent and it was good to have a choice of food on the menu.
Our room was massive and so was the bed. The bathroom was also very decent considering it was an old building. The bedding and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast was also good and the service was very fast.
The only negative point is that it was rather expensive for a 3 star hotel. But I would stay there again for a wedding.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank splodgethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

sarah from tipp
stayed there for my brothers wedding last november.
it was amazing. The food was great .
The day of the wedding was even better.
As for the staff they were very helpfull.
Night porter was savage. aj we called him.
It was like home away from home.
everyone is still talKing about it.
so we will be back
If any staff meamber is reading this thanks guys!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sarahclry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

we stayed in springfort hall for a wedding in february. i was looking forward to it as i have heard good things about the hotel.
as we entered the property, first thing i noticed is that they need to sort out the car park and road. beware of potholes!
we weren't exactly given the warmest of welcomes, were not informed of check out times, breakfast times etc (standard practice in every hotel, surely!) given our key and given directions to our room. while lugging our bags up the stairs, we could hear people complaining about being given wrong rooms. this happened at least twice during our stay.
so to our double room. it was huge! not that i'm complaining, i was really happy until i stepped inside and felt the cold. tried to turn on the radiators, didn't work. even though the room had a somewhat grand air about it, it could have done with a few modern touches (ditch the eighties 'phone and tv!) the bathroom was very big (the size of an average double room). went down to reception to ask to turn on the heating. was informed that the heating was on a timed system and would be coming on shortly. this sounded a bit dubious to me. went up a few hours later to check if the room had heated up - still freezing. had to use a portable oil heater to warm the room.
downstairs the bar was nice, reminded me of the vienna woods hotel. the meal at the wedding was delicious. the function room itself could do with updating, i really liked the fairy lights and bunting.
beware of the bathrooms, you have to shower in the bathtub so the water went everywhere, literally! also no extractor so the wallpaper was starting to peel off the walls.
it is a different place, it does have charm but i would only stay there for a wedding. there aren't much facilities around but is a good base for touring north cork, limerick. i felt it was overpriced for the lack of facilities on offer.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DeeCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charleville Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charleville
734 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,654 reviews
Oriel House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballincollig
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfort Hall Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfort Hall Country House

Address: Doneraile Road, Mallow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Price Range: $86 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfort Hall Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfort Hall Hotel is a uniquely magical 4* 18th-century Country House Hotel which is surrounded by tranquil woodlands. The hotel offer 49 en-suite bedrooms which are all uniquely designed with an "old world charm". Springfort Hall Hotel is also renowned for its fine food in its Lime Tree Restaurant and is also a member of Good Food Ireland. The hotel also has a magical banqueting suite catering for weddings with up to 300 guests. Springfort Hall Hotel is open 7 days per week and offers dining services daily from 12.30pm - 9.30pm from bar food, to restaurant lunch, snacks to evening meals. A visit to Springfort Hall Hotel is a must to experience "elegance in the country". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Springfort Hall Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfort Hall Country Hotel
Springfort Hall Country Mallow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing