We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Lovely Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Springfort Hall Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Traveling up from west cork on a last minute decision to check it out as a wedding venue I didn't expect such a welcome from Paul Walsh. I had no appointment and hadn't even called for information, myself and my bridesmaid were welcomed to take a seat in the cosy front lounge with the fire roaring away, given coffee and a break down of how they ran their weddings. We were able to view the banquet hall and the honeymoon suite and where every stage of the wedding would take place. Having been to other venues some good and some not so good this gave me a big lift and straight away i felt they would look after this most important day. They didn't let us down we had the best day and we couldn't have asked for,or gotten more help. Kieran and Paul looked after us from the minute we arrived, Kieran even arranging my train to look right when we were having photos of the cake taken. Mrs Walsh was also there checking every detail and keeping a close eye so on how everything was running. A big thank to all the staff for all their help throughout .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eilidh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 470 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

springfort staff couldnt have done any more for us they were on hand always and they accomadated my creativity and being a chef myself i can highly recommend them as the best for wedding food in cork the meal was of high restraunt quality and everyone was talking about it for awhile after the day passed.Their packages for weddings are v good wine inc in price that saves hassle and i def vouch the wine is lovely yum

Room Tip: choose the new rooms as the older rooms are v near function rm noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hi all, We had our wedding at Springfort hall on June 30th this year. We chose Springfort for a lot of reasons namely, 1. Its family owned and run which is always a bonus as they take pride in it alot more, 2. It has the whole "country house" feel about it and 3. The overall team when we met them at the wedding fairs etc never pushed the hotel on us, they never knocked other hotels when we spoke to them they let Springfort hall speak for itself which it did. If you never have been in the function room for a wedding then you are missing something. It is beautiful. Its the perfect size without being too big that everyone looks scattered but cozy enough that all can sit and chat without being cramped. They are always improving the room and fairy lights were added this year to make the room even better ( i didnt think they could improve anymore). when we chose our menu their were a few things we wanted but were not on the menu. Paul the manager spoke to the chef and asked us to come back another night for a sperate tasting related to the changes we wanted. He worked with the chef to give us the the perfect deserts. This to me showed that we were not just "another wedding". He genuinely wanted us to have the perfect day. It goes without saying the food here is amazing and the numerous reviews they get on food speak for itself ( the lemon posset is probably the best i have ever tasted) All the staff are very friendly and so accomodating and I dont think there was ever a single request not dealt with. Rooms are are amazing also. We found overall the hotel was the best for our day and its a biy cliche but they do make the day run alot easier for you becuse they genuinely want your wedding day to be amazing. I never once got the feelong it was just business. Its like the pride themselves in guest leaving with smiles. Sadly thats the hardest part the leaving!!!! Overall i couldnt speak more highly of Paul, Mags Kieran and all the Springforthall staff. ITs a perfect venue run by faboulus staff and i would recommend this venue to anyone. Even the band loved it so much they kept playing past their slot because they got a great vibe there!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gummychicken35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

From the moment we booked Springfort Hall for our wedding, I knew we had made the right decision. On that Sunday afternoon in February,the owner, Mrs. Walsh showed us around and spoke to us in person, despite us not having made an appointment. She is such a lovely, kind lady, never pushy. So we booked our wedding that very day for the following year. Our first dealings were with Mrs. Walsh's son Paul, who we spoke to on several occasions discussing menu choices. He was brilliant. Our menu tasting went well, and we had narrowed down our choices to three starters, three main courses and three desserts for our guests to choose from. Paul was always at the end of the 'phone if we ever had any queries, which was great!
We met up with Paul a few weeks before the wedding to discuss timings for the day of the wedding. We went through everything, and we left the hotel feeling excited that everything was under control. My husband and his family stayed in the hotel the night before the wedding, and I had given them boxes of items that I wanted them to set up on the morning of the wedding- such as a sweet table, activity books for the children for during the meal, candles, photographs, table names, and lots more paraphernalia! It was all laid out perfectly, I was blown away when I saw everything! To say that they did a great job would be a huge understatement! We were so happy with everthing on the day, and so many of our guests commented on how lovely the meal was. Kieran who is the event manager was fantastic too. We were completely pleased with everything the whole staff did for us throughout the process,especially Paul, Kieran and Mags.
We have nothing but very fond memories from Springfort Hall and cannot recommend Springfort highly enough. Ciara and Jeff Spencer

Room Tip: Our bridal suite was beautiful, the older bedrooms are full of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had our wedding here last Feb and from the first meeting we had out there we loved it. The staff were fantastic especially Samantha and Amy. They gave us everything we wanted and needed it was the perfect day. All our guests that attended loved the hotel, especially the food. Some of us stayed there the night after the wedding too and loved it. We were so relaxed especially sitting in front of the open fireplace. We hope to get back there soon even if its just for lunch/dinner. A beautiful Hotel in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CORKY80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Full of character and bygone era charm, set in extensive grounds with loads of free parking. Nice, quiet, large double room. Great food and delightful staff, with extra attentiveness from the charming owner. A great place for couples to "get away from it all". We loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welltravelled63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norah5Cork, Director of Sales at Springfort Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Many thanks for your review and for taking the time to share your experience at Springfort Hall Hotel , we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will come back to visit us in the not too distant future
Kind Regards
Mags Corbett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Overall, the hotel is nice, I just think the place could do with a good lick of paint, espically in the public areas.

The bedroom was okay, we got a cheaper rate because we would be over the bar on the night of the wedding, but the noise didn’t bother us;

Pros:
Room was ready before 2pm, thank you
Comfortable bed
Tea/coffee making facilities in the room
Iron and board in the room (I like not having to call down for one)

Cons:

All of the windows were either painted or nailed shut
The windows were FILTHY (in room 7) could deff do with a good cleaning on the outside and dusting on the inside
The bathroom door didn’t close let alone lock
The bedroom door was also broken
There is no plug near the kettle so had to plug it in and leave the kettle on the floor
No lights on the corridor (broken or just not turned on??) so it’s very dark walking to your room at night

Food:
Food during breakfast and the meal was lovely, honestly could not fault a thing, I loved it all and I can see why they are a member of Good Food Ireland.

Service:

As a 4 star county hotel I think their service could deff. do with some work .
- When we were being served canapés, we asked the waitress what they were and she did not know. They would also not top up they trays and would walk up to a table with 5 ppl and offer the 1 last canapé!

During dinner, some staff had dirty shirts on (one girl had a big black mark on her arm) another had writing all over her hand and a pen stuck in her hair. I just think for a wedding, the staff should be Immaculate and well presented.

When they were resetting the room for the music, they would take the chair sashes off the chairs (why not just leave them on until the end of the night) I was sitting there and had the bow pulled off as I was sitting against it! No excuse me or sorry, it was just yanked off as I was sitting against it! (very strange).

If I were to stay again, I would stay in the newer rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norah5Cork, General Manager at Springfort Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear "Garydon"
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us at Springfort Hall Hotel. We would like to thank you for your positive comments on our restaurant and bar food. We are also pleased that you found our beds comfortable.

We deeply regret that there were aspects of your stay which you found unsatisfactory. We have discussed each of these in detail with our team and have corrected same.

We take hospitality very seriously at Springfort Hall and pride ourselves on putting guest needs first, therefore we welcome all opportunities to improve. Each supervisor has addressed the areas within their departments which need attention and are working with their teams to ensure that our service standards are upheld for our guests.

We are also taking immediate steps to remedy the practical points you raised in relation to our accommodation and thank you for your feedback on this.

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your detailed review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Springfort Hall Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Walsh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallow
Charleville Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charleville
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,693 reviews
Oriel House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballincollig
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfort Hall Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfort Hall Country House

Address: Doneraile Road, Mallow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mallow
Price Range: $87 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfort Hall Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfort Hall Hotel is a uniquely magical 4* 18th-century Country House Hotel which is surrounded by tranquil woodlands. The hotel offer 49 en-suite bedrooms which are all uniquely designed with an "old world charm". Springfort Hall Hotel is also renowned for its fine food in its Lime Tree Restaurant and is also a member of Good Food Ireland. The hotel also has a magical banqueting suite catering for weddings with up to 300 guests. Springfort Hall Hotel is open 7 days per week and offers dining services daily from 12.30pm - 9.30pm from bar food, to restaurant lunch, snacks to evening meals. A visit to Springfort Hall Hotel is a must to experience "elegance in the country". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Springfort Hall Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfort Hall Country Hotel
Springfort Hall Country Mallow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing