We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Pizza!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uncle Brando

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Uncle Brando
Ranked #15 of 26 Restaurants in Mallow
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Nice Pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Portions are good, food was tasty, pizza was pretty delicious. None of our party had any complaints, it's a nice friendly place and the pub next door had live music 2 minutes walk away after our meal - just the job!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ethoscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food at a cost”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet location, friendly staff, food is very good but is expensive at night compared to other Italian resteraunts close by, but the lunch menu during the day is good value and food is of the standard of night time! Would recommend for a lunch visit!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NO Hospitality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Avoid. Went there with a group for a special dinner. The service was horrendous. The food was good but you would be lucky to get exactly what you ordered. The owner was rude and unwelcoming despite taking the booking. She spent most of the night throwing dirty looks at our table. She also served the incorrect wine and was rude when asked for the correct wine. She indicated that we should take what we were given. The bill came to nearly 300 and I've never been so disgusted by a restaurant as I was by this. Certainly won't be returning and would suggest to anyone booking an Italian restaurant in the Mallow area to go to La Scala instead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Majella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I'm a local and I can't understand how Uncle Brando's is more popular. The food is absolutely outstanding and the price is reasonable enough. I've lived in a number of countries and this is definitely the nicest Italian I've been at.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

called in last night for a simple dinner for two
lasagna with salad, really thick cheese sauce, with loads of cheese but so little mince.
lovely waitress, asked her to ask chef or owner/ manager to take a look but no joy
Felt they could not care, no apologies,left without eating,very disappointing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank may b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Brando also viewed

Mallow, County Cork
Mallow, County Cork
 

Been to Uncle Brando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing