We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springfort Hall Hotel

Springfort Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Mallow
Cuisines: Irish, European, Bar, Delicatessen, Pub, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In a secluded woodland setting in Cork's Blackwater Valley, Springfort Hall Hotel has an old-fashioned charm ideal for romantic getaways or discreet business meetings. The hotel's seductive dark-walled restaurant adds to the intimate ambience, with a succulent menu of international flavours. Typically imaginative dishes include Chinese-style roasted duck with a caramelised kumquat sauce and roasted fillet of ostrich and camel on a raz el hanout bread and potato cake. The Head Chefs make frequent trips to local farmers' markets in search of inspiration for their original and traditional recipes. The team believes that it is easy to cook and create great dishes with first class ingredients and this promise to use the best produce is the philosophy behind the Springfort Hall dining experience.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Called in for lunch - chairs in bar not suitable for dining - you have to hunch over your meal. We left without ordering + prices over the top

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank davidsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    34
    11
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

have eaten here with work colleagues a few times and I have never been disappointed....always good food and service

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank bandearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

A friend and I recently visited Springfort Hall for lunch.
We had quite a choice as we were offered a Bar Food menu, an A la Carte menu and The Dining Room menu.
We both went with the Dining Room menu as we had starter, mains, dessert and coffee for €29.95 each.
For starters I choose Jack McCarthy's Black Pudding & Glazed Pork Belly Pickled Leeks, Apple Puree & Stonewell Cider Jelly.
My friend choose Ardsallagh Goat's Cheese Poached Pear, Lightly Caramelized Walnut, Micro Leaves & Pickled Beetroot.
Both of these starters showed imagination and the flavours mingled and complimented each other very well. We both agreed that the Black pudding starter won out marginally.
For mains I choose the Twelve Hour Feather Blade Of Hereford Beef Saute Potatoes, Sea Beet Spinach & Gubeen Chorizo, Poached Hens Egg.
This is the shoulder of beef which would not be considered a prime cut, but it absolutely melted in my mouth. Again the flavours were strong and delicious.
For mains my friend choose the Roast Free Range Chicken Celeriac Puree, Wild Mushrooms & Rosemary, Tomato Jus. This was a perfect dish we both agreed and the chicken was full of flavour which was set off by the accompanying ingredients.
We were pleasently full at this stage but we were on a day out and we were sitting by a roaring fire looking out at the pouring rain so we decided we could manage a dessert.
I decided on the Lemon Possett which was absolutely divine. If you are ever in Springfort Hall, even if it is only for a coffee, do try this dessert.
My friend choose the pavalova which was also very very good. Our espressos were strong and invigorating, just as a good coffee should be.
As we were both driving, we did not bother with the wine list.
Staff were great, attentive but not in your face. It was not a problem for them to serve us by the fire eventhough we were having the dining room menu. A most enjoyable and relaxing lunch and we will certainly be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmerCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have stayed here twice once following a wedding. The wedding food was superb rooms are average and need to be updated. Breakfast is superb and menu excellent staff are warm & friendly!!! Service is superb! A beautiful christmas tree lent itself to a lovely festive atmosphere with a roaring fire in the sitting room with gentle music and was a lovely room to have a drink in front of the fire!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loopylouireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Elegant but casual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Great food, great service, decent prices for an upscale hotel. We ate in the bar section of the hotel for some late night eats. The curry was excellent and the desserts divine. The bartenders and wait staff were even good humored enough to try a silly beer cocktail for me to see if it tasted better in Ireland...sadly (or is that luckily), it tasted worse. All in all, good food and a good time.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springfort Hall Hotel also viewed

Mallow, County Cork
Mallow, County Cork
 

Been to Springfort Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing