We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly genuine welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park South Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Mallow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly genuine welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Although we arrived much later than planned we still received a very warm welcome from our hostess Eva ,what a nice lady.We had tea,apple pie,scones and jam,delicious.
Our room was spacious,spotless and comfortable.After a good nights sleep we enjoyed a lovely breakfast with homemade bread and as much tasty food as we could possibly eat.Eva genuinely likes people and her aim is to do her utmost to ensure her guests leave happy and well fed.Thankyou Eva I will never forget your wonderful scones !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynn_marsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
72
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gunnedah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Eva's local knowledge was hugely helpful in assisting us find our heritage trail in Ireland. Although a late arrival with no prior booking, we were made to feel welcome, cups of tea on arrival with Rhubarb Pie! Delightful rooms, clean and cosy. Would recommend to all. Thanks again Eva!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristinaAZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Travelling through the Irish country side I stopped for a night, without reserving or knowing where i will stay. I found a great, hospitable, reasonable priced place in quiet park area south of Kilkenny.
I got a warm wellcome with coffe and snack from Mrs Eva, the propriator. Brekfest on a sunny morning was magnificent.
I would recomend the place to stay a couple of days.

Tomaz L
Slovenia

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nives L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

What a great welcome! Within minutes of walking in the door we were sat in the kitchen with Eva, drinking tea and being provided with fresh scones and apple pie. It was like visiting a favourite Irish relative.

Our room was large with a very comfortable bed. The en-suite was a good size. Both were well heated and a back-up oil-filled electric radiator was also provided. The towels were big and toiletries were provided. The whole B&B felt very homely with a lovely mix-match of furniture. The lounge was very comfortable with big chairs/sofa.

Tea and coffee were available in the bedroom but we never used it. Eva was always around and would offer a pot of tea as soon as we walked in the door each day ... we stayed here 4 nights. Tea was always accompanied by scones, fruit pie or cake ... or any combination of these. Perfect when you return from a day of sight-seeing. Breakfast was always huge and very tasty. Starting with a bowl of fresh fruit salad, followed by whatever cooked version we wanted. A huge variety of home-made preserves accompanied the breakfast, along with a huge pot of tea.

Our host, Eva, was very nice. Always ready for a chat and full of local knowledge. Within 24 hours, it seemed like we had been friends for ages. It was the most relaxed B&B atmosphere that we have found. The B&B was short way off the main road and there was plenty of on-site parking. Nice view over countryside. WiFi was generally fine. (Note: there is a website but it is not currently shown on TA ... www.park-south.com) 

The B&B is located in Doneraile, which is about 10 miles north of Mallow. The location is very quiet and peaceful. There is a nice walk along the track to a nearby castle ruin. Also, Doneraile Park is a huge country park open to the public (free) and is close by. Doneraile town has limited dining options and Mallow is currently (May 2014) a building site with a difficult detour system and very limited parking. We tended to eat on our way back from our day trips ... Killarney, Midleton (Jameson's Distillery), Cork and Clonakilty are easy day trips. The beach at Inchydoney (near Clonakilty) is great for a walk at low tide and the Dunes Bar in the big hotel does a great fresh fish lunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freising, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We arrived purely by chance, quite late at night at Eva's B&B. We received a warm welcome, hot tea, fresh scones and cake in spite of the late hour! Breakfast next morning was also a treat, beautifully presented. The room and bathroom were loaded with little "perks". Magazines, hairspray, hair gel, shaving cream, goodnight chocolates, a "sweetie" to go with your tea - all things which are not "standard", even in 5-star hotels! We will certainly be back and then we'll use Park South as a base to explore the south of Ireland. Thank you, Eva, for being a perfect hostess.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our group of travelers stayed here in October 2013.Eva is a delightful hostess who could not be more gracious. We were visiting our ancestral home and Eva was helpful with our search. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts were plentiful and outstanding. The afternoon tea with homemade scones and preserves were delicious. Eva was so welcoming in her attitude that she immediately made this group of weary travelers feel like old friends. Our time visiting Doneraille and especially Park South B&B was a highlight to our visit to Ireland. And this was made possible by the personal charm of Eva. Personally I can't wait to return. Gary Benson Cape Cod, Ma

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a great stay at Park South in December. Eva was so kind and helpful, even ironing our son's shirt for him before we left for a baptism service. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and her apple pie and scones were delicious. We would be happy to stay there again in the future and would recommend Park South to anybody visiting this part of Ireland.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Millar_family2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 61 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park South Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park South Bed & Breakfast

Property: Park South Bed & Breakfast
Address: Doneraile, Mallow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Mallow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mallow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park South Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering homemade scones and tea on arrival, the 4-star Park South is set in 3 acres of land in the Blackwater Valley with beautiful, panoramic views. It provides bright rooms with en suite bathrooms, and full Irish breakfasts.With light and classic decor, each room at Park South Bed & Breakfast enjoys idyllic countryside views and features a TV, a mini fridge, and tea/coffee facilities for guests to relax with. Hairdryers and electric blankets are also available in the rooms.Hearty breakfasts are served each morning in the dining room, and home-cooked evening meals and packed lunches are available on request.Free parking is available, and Blarney Castle, home to the famous Blarney Stone, is a 50-minute drive away. Guests can enjoy numerous walking and cycling routes through the surrounding countryside. Mallow is 15 minutes away by car.Self catering cottages also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Park South Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing