We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff lovely food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for June bank holiday weekend with 13yo and 11yo. Rooms were fine, not the cleanest but certainly not manky. Just in need of a good spring clean. Sheets were lovely and crisp but got no sleep due to uncomfortable mattress. On the other hand, the staff were fabulous and nothing was too much trouble. Food was gorgeous; freshly cooked breakfast and bar food was amazing and great value. Lovely atmosphere and brilliant location. Did mention mattress when checking out and staff member said it would be sorted out. In hindsight we should have brought it up after first night and I'm certain it would have been sorted out. Would definitely recommend the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank LillyWhite2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear lillywhite,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us here at the Riverside Park Hotel.

We are all delighted here at the Riverside that you enjoyed our food offering and also the service that we pride ourselves on.

We certainly would have reacted and rectified any issues you had immediately and we are glad to see that you reflect our wiliness to provide for all our guests needs in your review.

Again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming in the near future.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 222 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

A very sad time for us as we had to attend a funeral of a lovely person in this area,we rang this hotel at the last minute on the advice of my friends at tripadvisor and were amazed by the reaction of this hotel,our every request was met with,no problem,they would do their very best to help to help us at this time.We travelled 300 kilometres and were very tired on our arrival,to be met at recepton by Mark,who knew our situation and gave us a lovely beautiful room overlooking the river and if we had any spare time,we should visit a local park and river,we did, visit them and they were lovely.The management should be proud of their efforts,and can rest assured that their staff will carry out instructions and make this hotel a great place for all of us Tripadvisors travellers to be happy to recommend this lovely hotel,by the way,the food was so good

Room Tip: do your heart good do not miss this gem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank referee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Referee,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Riverside Park Hotel.

I am very sorry to hear that your visit to us was during a time of great sadness for you and we are all very happy here at the Hotel that our service went some way to easing the burden of such a difficult time for you.

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to the team here, I am delighted that we have such fantastic team here at I can assure you that we appreciate each adn every one of them for warm and guest focused nature.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel under better circumstances again in the near future.

Mise le meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We got a good deal for this hotel and expected the worst but to our surprise we were given a large room with a king size bed facing the river. We decided to eat at the hotel and found the food good value. The staff at the checkin and cafe friendly and professional. The only downside was the room did not have good WiFi reception and what was supposed to be Sky TV was only local channels.

Room Tip: Riverside better choice however maybe chose room closer to internet modem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Graham D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Riverside Park Hotel.

I am delighted to hear you had a good nights sleep , the key to a good stay and also that you were impressed with our room size.

In Relation to the Wifi, normally we have full signal to all rooms so the network must have experience some difficulty the evening you stayed with us, We would have been more than happy to resolve this issue is you had brought it to our attention as we will do all we can to ensure each and every guests needs are met during their stay with us.
At the Hotel , we provide 10 Free Channels to all guests, a mixture of Irish Channels, Sky News, Film 4 and also Tiny pops - a childrens channel, and a music channel and I apologise if this selection was not to your taste.

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to your review your stay with us as it is with feedback we can further enhance our guest offering.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Jus spent 2 nights in this hotel - best thing about the hotel was the staff - they cannot do enough for you - whatever you asked for they delivered - we had dinner in the bar on 1st night and the food was good but the breakfasts were brilliant - cereals, juices, croissants and then a choice of cooked breakfast - the hotel was quiet but meant the staff could give more attention to people staying there more attention

One other plus was the voucher for the model soldier factory which came with the deal we got - this is a great place to visit and allows the children to make a figure and paint it - well worth a visit

Room Tip: Ask for a family room - hugerooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanBMT_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear IanBMT_M,

Let me begin by thanking you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Riverside Park Hotel.

Thank you sincerely from all the team here for your kind comments and we were delighted to be of service to you and your family.

I will also pass your kind comments to the management and staff of the toy solider factory, they are a great asset to the Hotel as an offering and are such a unique place to visit.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here in early April with my partner and can't wait to return. We were checked in by one of the managers Adam who could not do enough for us, answering any questions we had about the hotel and the area.
The room was more spacious than what we thought it would be. A large comfy bed, tea and coffee facilities and plenty of seating. Both the bathroom and room were very clean and the shower was hard to beat, more relaxing then many other hotels I have stayed in. A view isn't usually something that bothers me in hotels but we had a gorgeous view of the river and surrounding landscape.
We had dinner in the bar that evening after a long lazy afternoon enjoying both the surroundings and the fire lighting in the bar. My partner had the meatballs and I had the fish and chips. both meals were very generous portions and piping hot!
Breakfast the next Morning was served by a bubbly girl who had no problem serving us even though we arrived 5 minutes before closing time!
We could not recommend Riverside enough for a relaxing night away. The two managers we dealt with during our stay, Mark and Adam were so accommodating and friendly. There didn't seem to be many staff around during our stay but given the time of the year thats not surprising. The staff that were on could not be faulted and we look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the river you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolo_polo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Lolo_polo88,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here with us at the Riverside Park Hotel.

Mark, Adam and all the team here were delighted to read your review and are very appreciative of your kind comments.
Each and every member of the team here take great pride in the Hotel and always try to go the extra mile to ensure our guests stay is one of relaxation and comfort.

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to post your kind comments.

Mise le meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Unfortunately this is my second negative review about this place. Ate here as part of a communion party last weekend , every course we were served was below average, starters were sent back as they were cold, or unedible.
Then came mains which was cold also. Desserts were served an all I can say is they gave children's portions to adults an again we complained and sent them back. Yes this problem was resolved but every course was a disaster. People mentioned they could hardly eat their beef main course as it was so tough and again COLD ! I pity the waitresses as they were in and out the kitchen rectifying problems all through the meal.
When my brother and his partner approached the manager to pay for the meal they mentioned how unhappy they were with the entire meal, and the manager Liam was so unprofessional in his attitude towards them. He said he had been in the kitchen and there was hardly complaints ! Hello ! We were all complaining ! Anyway he reluctantly gave them 60 euro of the meal which came to over 700 euro.
I then phoned the hotel to complain and ask to speak to Liam as my brother and partner were very upset that their sons communion meal was so bad for their guests and the man I spoke with Adam , said that he would ask Liam to contact me but that he doubted he would return my call as it had been already dealt with. Can I just say he never phoned me surprise surprise !

Well all I can say is to anyone considering having a communion, party , family meal etc don't bother. The managers aren't friendly or professional and the food is bad ! Like I said in an old review there all plenty other places to spend your money and get a nice meal and all feel welcome not treated like we were !
As a local family we will be telling everyone we know to stay away from the riverside hotel !

Stayed: May 2014
7  Thank Nother36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Spent two nights there with the family over easter. Have to say, we were really positively surprised. The food in both the Italian restaurant and the bar was excellent, and the staff was really nice, attentive and helpful. Breakfast was also nice, made to order, and complemented with fresh scones and croissants from the cold buffet- yum!
Rooms are a bit dated, but clean and comfy - as far as I know there were families staying in the rooms on either side of ours, but we didn't really hear much... we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLBIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerRSP, General Manager at Riverside Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear PLBIRL,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at the Riverside Park Hotel.

The team here strive to provide an excellent service and offering to our guests and I am glad your stay reflected that.

Our Head Chef Tamas and his team appreciate your feedback in relation to the offering in Riva Restaurant and also in the Bar.

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review.

Mise le Meas,

Liam Barrett,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Park Hotel

Address: Killarney Road, Macroom, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range: $57 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Lee Valley on the outskirts of Macroom and nestled on the banks of the River Sullane you can not help but be charmed by our location. Whether you are here to play golf, to fish, touring or just want to soak up the natural old time charm of Macroom, we are your ideal base. The hotels elegant decor and location give it that distinctive charm that will draw you back time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing