We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel and Restaurant in Cork” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dan Buckley's Bar

Dan Buckley's Bar
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dan Buckley's Bar awarded: The Best Hotel Carvery Munster & Ireland 2014/15 The Black & White Munster Hotel Bar of The Year The RAI Best Customer Service 20113/14 The spacious, traditional bar offers you an extensive food menu throughout the day, with Carvery Lunch between 12 and 3.30 Pm. A delectable and mouth watering evening menu is served from 3.30 Pm to 9.30 Pm ( Monday to Saturday) and 3.30 Pm to 9 pm on Sunday. Join us on Saturday Nights for live music from 10pm! And Tuesday Summer Trad Music Sessions in July and August.
Cork
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Hotel and Restaurant in Cork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were at a Christening in the Castle Hotel in December 2013 and had an absolutely fantastic day. The room where the Christening was, was beautifully decorated, the staff were very helpful and so nice. The food was fantastic. I am a coeliac and the Castle Hotel is where I love to go as they really cater for coeliacs. Nothing is too much trouble. I trust them 100%. I would highly recommend it to other coeliacs. I love their cajun chicken ciabattas.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlehotelm, General Manager at Dan Buckley's Bar, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you very much for celebrating your recent family occasion with us. We were honoured to be a part of this special day and very much enjoyed looking after you all. Congratulations once again on your new arrival! Thank you for your very kind remarks and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    32
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
“Castle Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

The food, service and atmosphere are the best in Cork..an excellent family run hotel....call and see for yourself. You won't be disappointed...the menu has something for everybody and all desserts are home made...yum

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sargeCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlehotelm, General Manager at Dan Buckley's Bar, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of Dan Buckley's Bar at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your visit and our desserts in particular! We do hope that should you be in the area again, that you choose to eat with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oughterard, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Bar Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Busy bar with excellent bar food. Huge selection of food to choose from I enjoyed the Chicken curry.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oughterard64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlehotelm, Guest Relations Manager at Dan Buckley's Bar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for visiting us recently in Dan Buckley's Bar at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We are so pleased you enjoyed your food so much and we really hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Continuity of great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Yet just another great lunch in Dan Buckley's bar. It never disappoints. Not only is the food great but the staff are friendly and polite. No wonder there is usually a queue on a Sunday for the lunch. Keep up the great work. Its wonderful to have such good bar food in Macroom.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Naleoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlehotelm, Director of Sales at Dan Buckley's Bar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you very much for both your visit and your lovely review of Dan Buckley's Bar at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We were delighted to learn that you were so satisfied with our food and service and we look forward to welcoming you back to again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Food in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very nice menu with something for everyone. Farm or sea to table Freshness. Will definitely go again

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace15585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlehotelm, Director of Sales at Dan Buckley's Bar, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review of Dan Buckley's Bar at The 4 Star Castle Hotel. We are absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed our food and your visit to much. Thank you very much for your high praise and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dan Buckley's Bar also viewed

 
Macroom, County Cork
 
Macroom, County Cork
Macroom, County Cork
 

Been to Dan Buckley's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing