We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Fountain House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fountain House B&B
Ranked #3 of 8 Macroom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Upon arrival , our host prepared afternoon tea for us to enjoy and wind down. Low set building meant easy walking to our rooms which were of good size. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. The house is situated beside a lake with some lovely views and we also enjoyed the short walk along the waters edge (if there are no midgies). Town is only a short drive a short drive away for shops and restaurants. Enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleveland_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 111 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

Arrived tired and unannounced late at night.Greeted warmly and offered coffee and cake.Most important safe offroad parking for motorbike.Can only echo previous reviews. Delightful place.Most ideal for motorcyclists. Absolutely biker friendly. Great place to put your feet up after long trip or a day off.Special views at rear of house over lake.Stayed for several days here.Got soaked on second day and Breda took all my gear and tumbled dried the lot. Such kindness to a total stranger. It made the difference on the following days travel. I would give this home the highest of commendations. Motorcyclists should take advantage of this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank concolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great hospitality. We were given clear instructions how to get there. Beware if using satnav. It misses the house by about 700m. We were greeted with a cup of tea, scones and cakes. Recommendations for dining were made and accepted. Breakfast was of high quality and excellent choice. Room was very clean and tidy. Rooms at back seemed a bit bigger. A high recommendation and a lovely stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Tonyh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I would highly recommend Fountain House! Rooms were nice, clean and beds very comfortable. It had a lovely homely feel and Breda made us feel very very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Really enjoyed the homemade scones at breakfast!! Fountain House is in a great location, nice and peaceful. We really felt at home in Fountain House and definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyelook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Our stay in fountain house was really the highlight of our trip to Ireland. We had such fun with Breda and family. The hospitality extended to us was amazing. It was lovely to wake up,grab a coffee and sit in the garden overlooking such a beautiful lake....so peacefull ! The accommodation is spotless and has everything one could possibly need. Luxury at its best. We loved the Irish breakfast and the dinners were amazing. It was really the warm welcome and the friendly atmosphere that we loved most. This family were happy to help us with all our requests and needs.We cant wait to visit Ireland again and cant wait to spend longer in Fountain house.Next time I will feel that we will be returning as friends and not as guests! I rarely bother to recommend motels/hotels but this B&B deserves the highest rating possible.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great...well heated which was great and comfy beds. The guest wing is on ground le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noirin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We spent a delightful few days over Easter in Fountain House B and B in Macroom Co. Cork. Our five children can't wait to return. The welcome was tremendous. We felt just like royalty! The owners Breda and Pat could'nt do enough for us. Their children are so good and had no problem letting our lot play with their things and they all had such fun playing together. New friends we certainly all made. The food was delicious. Plenty of what we wanted, cooked fresh and so appetising. It's not everywhere you get up to the beautiful smell of home made scones. Whatever we wanted we got - No problem. The house is situated beside a lake and the back lawn leads straight down to the strand. How good is that! Bedrooms were super. The cleanliness was so evident. It was a pleasure to sit in the spacious dining room and sample all the wonderful food! Breda had great tips for family outings and we wish we could have stayed longer. We will definetely be back. Fountain House should get the award for the best B and B in Ireland. A 1 for welcome, friendliness, warmth, food, cleanliness, situation on the Banks of the Lee. A super family holiday destination. Well done

Room Tip: our children had great fun having a dip in the lake. All rooms are super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurabiggane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Situated amongst the picturesque drop back of a beautiful lake and beautiful landscape, as well a friendly and homely environment, this was one of the most beautiful guest houses, we’ve ever stayed in! The house itself is wonderfully decorated and modern, with great facilities and a fantastic atmosphere. One gets a sense of the traditions of Cork married with the modernity of the 21st century. We stayed for three nights, the location allowed us great access to the Lakes of Killarney and the wonderful beaches in West Cork as well as only being 5 mins away from the wonderful town of Macroom, buzzing with people and activities to do. To cap it all off, there was exquisite homemaking, the brown bed and scones are to die for!! What made this stay so special was the wonderful welcoming and friendly atmosphere from the owner Breda and her family. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a romantic break, as the walks down along the shore set amongst the tranquillity of the settting make it a truly wonderful place to come and relax and forget all lifes little worries.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macroom hotels
2.7 mi away
Cannaway House B&B
Cannaway House B&B
#1 of 8 in Macroom
49 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
3 mi away
Riverside Park Hotel
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Mills Inn
Mills Inn
#2 of 8 in Macroom
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coolcower House
Coolcower House
#6 of 8 in Macroom
25 reviews
0 mi away
Findus House
Findus House
#4 of 8 in Macroom
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain House B&B

Address: Fountain House Fountain House Fountain House Leeview | Cork Road, Macroom, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Macroom
Price Range: $81 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly recommended family run home. On the N22 Cork Kilarney road . 4 Km from Macroom town . Lackside reidence with magnificent landscaped gardens. Ground floor rooms, Private Parking. Warm Hositality. Extensive breakfast menu. Home Backing. Touring bace for Cork Blarnery, Killarney and bantry. Evening meals Bring your own wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fountain House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing