We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be faulted!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Castlebar
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't be faulted!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel should not be judged from its street view. Stayed here on 31st March for work purposes, unfortunately the only fault was that I was only staying for one night. The staff in this hotel are lovely so friendly and welcoming really felt like knew them for years. The room was fab - decorated really well, comfortable beds, absolutely spotless and quiet even though there was a wedding in the hotel the same night! We ate in the bar and could not fault the food... Good selection and great taste! The breakfast was great order taken from the table and nothing was too much trouble! Have stayed in a lot of hotels around the country especially with work and the castle is definitely up at the top of them! I will be returning and hopefully it will be for leisure next time so I can really enjoy all the castle has to offer!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank IrelandAis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlehotelm, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay in Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. In addition we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    112
    30
    12
    2
See reviews for
190
255
13
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We go for Sunday lunch here any time that we don't feel like cooking and it never disappoints! There is a very friendly atmosphere with lovely attentive staff. It is always relaxed but efficient. Well worth stopping off if ever in macroom.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank martina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlehotelm, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for dining with us at The 4 Star Castle Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you are regular guests and we very much appreciate you taking time to share your views here on Trip Advisor. Please do call again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

A very well situated hotel in the middle of west cork. The surrounding countryside with its rambling hills and water views were easily accessed from the hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly and courteous. The food was well presented and a very nice menu. The room was very comfortable but lacked a view and wifi was available but using the " bit buzz" service, which is inefficient if you are trying to do business. Hopefully this is going to be addressed. Overall a really enjoyable stay and for a week end break it certainly ticked all the boxes-just an hour away from Inchadoney wild Atlantic Coast .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaineobd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlehotelm, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay in West Cork and Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. In addition we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve.

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in the South West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have organised several training days at the Castle Hotel over the past 3 years, each time the staff have been top class, looking after every detail and making the whole day completely stress free.
The facilities available in their meeting rooms are top class plust the location in the center of the county makes it very accessable.
It also represents excellent value for money as their charges are very competitive, and they provide excellent bar and dining room menues

Room Tip: There is an excellent hotel car park at rear of building but it is not easly found so ask for direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ger222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlehotelm, Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing The 4 Star Castle Hotel for your recent event. We are very pleased indeed to learn that you found our meeting / training facilities so satisfactory and we are very appreciative of you sharing your experience here with others. We do hope that you continue to visit us and we very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

After arriving from Kilkenny with my mother for a short break, we instantly we're met with good old fashioned Irish hospitality and warmth. Thought it was lost when the Celtic tiger came to town. We were even offered a cuppa on our arrival complimentary in their lovely bar! After that it just got better. Room beautiful and spacious, executive room done out in apple green and stand alone light wood furniture! Down for dinner that night. Certainly lived up to its reputation! Food just glorious. Down to restaurant for breakfast. Met by Pat (what a lady) so salt of the earth, proper good Irish character, not all this new pretend characters! Look gotta go / just go and enjoy the experience! Hats off to the Buckley Bros. , pat, Eileen, Gaye and Megan! Def a hidden gem! From the Early Birds in Killenny! Thanks Castle Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkcatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlehotelm, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you! What a beautiful review of The Castle Hotel!

On behalf of the Buckley Family and our entire team, may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments about The Castle Hotel Experience.

We are delighted that you and your Mum enjoyed your stay so much.

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I have spent many years using hotels and accommodation throughout Co. Cork and the Castle Hotel is about the best I have stayed in.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, the menu and the food is outstanding and the rooms are very comfortable.
The hotel is on the main street, which is very narrow so one must drive with care. As a result one's attention is on the road rather than on the buildings, which is why I have missed it before.
Car parking is behind the hotel through a housing estate but keep going as it is well worth it.
In response to an earlier comment, there is a large playground in the town, up the hill.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlehotelm, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful review of The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We are so pleased everything was to your satisfaction during your recent stay. Thank you for both choosing us as your location and of course for sharing your opinion here on Trip Advisor. I have shared your lovely remarks with all our staff and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have just returned from a long weekend in Macroom. My choir of 30 went to perform there in a concert to celebrate St Patrick's day and we stayed at the Castle Hotel for the 3rd time. What a fabulous and friendly hotel this is. The staff are wonderful in every respect and are amongst the friendliest and most welcoming that I have encountered in any destination. The hotel is superbly comfortable and clean, the rooms are spacious, the food is top class.....there is simply nothing to fault. The leisure facilities are a welcome bonus. This is a gem, right in the centre of town. Congratulations to all and thank you and the wonderful people of Macroom for making our weekend one to remember. We hope to be back!

Room Tip: We occupied about 15 rooms and none of us had any complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meopi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlehotelm, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with us once again with your group! We are delighted to know that you all found your stay such a pleasure. Thank you for sharing your kind words and approval as it certainly helps others to plan their visit to The Macroom Area. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The 4 Star Castle Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
205 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,134 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing