We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights to attend a family funeral and were most impressed. Though the wearthewr was extremely wet, the interior of the hotel was very welcoming and comforting. The rooms were of a good size and most comfortable, the food both in the regular restaureants and at the formal reception was of a high standard. What topped everyrthing was the attitude and approach of the staff who were not only efficient but naturally friendly. We have stayed at many hotels both abroad and in Ireland which were more grandiose and pretentious but far less professional and warm. We would/will certainly return. I would just add that we didn't use the Spa and Leisure facilities although others in our party enjoyed them. Very good value and a great assert to Macroom.

Room Tip: Reception seemed to arrange this automatically!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyP433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

May I first extend our condolences to you and your family. We are sorry to hear your stay at The 4 Star Castle Hotel was for sad reasons but we are so pleased to know that you found our hotel, staff and facilities so pleasing. I have shared your lovely remarks with our staff. We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future under happier circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 693 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

As a frequent visitor to the castle hotel for lunch I was disappointed with Sunday lunch.I had the roast beef as it had previously been excellent but this time it was tough,with a lot of gristle.What has happened to the very tender and lean beef that was always served ?The vegetables were warm not hot and no garlic potatoes on the day !! Portions were also a little on the small side .Unfortunately this is not the first disappointment in the last 9 months and wonder if ye need to review the buffet especially the beef.Service was excellent as usual.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mglireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for sharing your opinion following your recent visit for a meal with us at The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. The experience you describe does not sound in anyway satisfactory and I can understand how disappointed you must have been. This is not what The Castle Hotel is known for and I can only sincerely apologize and invite you to re-visit and give us a chance to redeem ourselves. We continuously strive to higher our standards and I know the team here are all very disappointed that your visit did not meet your expectations. We have taken on board all your comments and we can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon and we have the opportunity to show you why we were awarded The Best Hotel Carvery in Munster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here recently for 2 nights while attending a wedding. The room was spotless and had some lovely touches for the wedding like vit c tablets for the morning after and a welcome note. The food was amazing and the staff were very efficient and polite. One person at out table didn't eat butter and they had no trouble in accommodating him! I spoke with the wedding coordinator a few times Vicky. She was very helpful and there no query she was unable to answer. Over all I would recommend this hotel over and over again for any wedding or just a quite few days away!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okeeneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you! What a beautiful review of The Castle Hotel! We really do love Wedding Days here in Macroom and we genuinely enjoy looking after each and every bride and groom and their special guests!

On behalf of the Buckley Family and our entire team, may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments about The Castle Hotel Experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here from December 9th to December 12th 2013. From the moment we arrived the staff were professional, friendly, helpful and welcoming (but not suffocating). We parked in the hotel car park, a short hop to the reception, then up in the lift to our large and very comfortable room. Good sized double bed, good sized TV, nice bath and shower. The breakfast was great - a good choice of cooked breakfasts in addition to a great buffet. we had one meal in the bar, which was very good and great value. Macroom is a lovely town and there is alot to see in the surrounding area - if you have any questions the staff will answer them. Highly recommended, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJB502013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent winter break in Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the castle hotel on the 29th of nov, on arrival , as we were walking from the car park with our bags we were greeted by a very pleasant man who offered to tAke our bags ( we were told afterwards he was one of the owners of the hotel) this is where the little extras make a difference, he directed us to reception where we were met by the jolliest most helpful receptionist we have ever met and we do weekend breaks a lot, what a start to our night in the castle park, also the hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and a lovely warm feeling in the hotel, we went to our room, which was spotless and I had to make a comparison as the last hotel I stayed in was the mucross park hotel which could learn quite a lot from the castle hotel both in cleanliness and hospitality, the pool was lovely and clean and staff lovely, I can't speak highly enough about the back, shoulder and neck massage I had as it was absolutely fabolous, and the lady was extremely pleasant and obliging, dinner in the hotel was excellent I'm fairly critical being a chef myself, until it came to desert, there were 6 of us eating and 2 of us asked for the cheese board, we couldn't cut one of the cheeses, as lit was too hard the choice of cheese was unaceptable ,and overall it wasn't a bit enticing which was disappointing, also the young waitress wasn't very helpful when we brought this to her attention which was disappointing as we had gotten so used to such friendly professional staff,but other than this we had a wonderful stay in the castle hotel, I would recommend the chef has a look at his choice of cheeses , overal though we really enjoyed our stay, would love to stay here again, well done!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbocr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Director of Sales at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to share your opinion of The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom with us and others. And thank you also for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Macroom Co. Cork.
It was our pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your break so much and we are always delighted to receive feedback from our guests. I have shared your very kind comments with our team here and we all would very much welcome the opportunity to look after you once again, should you be in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here the other night. Dined in bar and quality of food was excellent. There was a Christmas party there as well, but they left to move to their own room. They were a lovely crowd and not rowdy or loud.

Rooms are definitely 4 star quality. One cannot fault the rooms. They are very well decorated and kitted out. Air conditioning is a plus. A separate shower rather than one over the bath would be a bonus. Still, the water pressure was fantastic. It certainly wakes one up and the management must be complimented for the water pressure. Many hotels of a more recent vintage have poor pressure.

Leisure centre has a pool, steam room jaccuzi and gym. The gym is well equipped and staff are very helpful. The pool is not huge, but it is not advertised as huge either. The only thing that would prevent me giving the place a 4 star rating is the lack of a sauna. There is a steam room, but personally, I prefer the sauna. herself is a steam room fan though.

We overheard the party crowd the following morning, who were very satisfied with the food as well as the quality of the rooms.

There is secure parking provided. Its a bit hard to find it, but it is signposted. Macroom is a motorists nightmare for traffic jams, so if you miss the turn, you could be half an hour turning back to find it! As a guide, find the Post Office on Main Street, if coming from Cork, turn Right just at PO and if coming from Killarney, it's just before it.

As a half way house between Cork and Killarney, I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saravima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We were so pleased to read your recent review of The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and of course for giving us such high praise. I have let all our staff members know of your kind words and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Macroom again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Myself and 5 friends had a wonderful relaxing girlie night away recently with evening meal, breakfast and spa treatment.This hotel offered good value and is situated in the center of Macroom town.Our rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped.The staff friendly and very helpful. There was a great menu selection for both evening meal and breakfast. All 5 of us had a range of spa treatments from the masseuse Majella,which were excellent and we were all very pleased with.
Wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay break away with the girls!

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits.

I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
212 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range: $111 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing