We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick stop over made nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quick stop over made nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

When booking a room on the phone, the receptionist was so friendly, I knew it would be a nice experience. On arrival staff were so friendly and the atmosphere in the bar and dining area was great. The room was comfortable and spacious. Parking is a little tight if the hotel is busy but on-street parking is not a problem and pay parking doesn't kick in until after 10 am - fantastic. Breakfast was good. The place is spotless and v nicely presented. Overall v nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom for your 'quick stop over' in Macroom and thank you most sincerely for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are all delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit so much and we look forward to hopefully having the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    107
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
183
252
13
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was my third visit to the Castle Hotel, and obviously really enjoyed my previous visits, so we booked again for a weekend break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We booked a special offer deal and upgraded the room for a treat. We had booked with the same deal on our last visit and found it perfect, we didn't feel we had to 'settle' for a restricted menu because dinner was included in the package, but this time it just felt very restricted. This is an issue as the food in the hotel is one of its biggest selling points so you dont want to find this lacking. We ate in the bar on the first night, which was excellent. I thought there had been more of a selection on previous visits but we really enjoyed what we ordered, and the barman Jamie was very nice, but on the second night we had our restaurant meal which was very little choice and included what we had already seen on the bar menu the night before, so we just felt we were settling for second best on the night we were meant to have a special meal. I suppose it just felt that we were missing out just because we had booked a 'special offer'. We wouldnt have minded paying a supplement for some dishes but it was irritating to not even be shown the 'proper' restaurant menu.
The room was nice, and very clean as always, and the staff were very pleasant as well but Im not sure about a return visit this time :(

Room Tip: The hotel has a car park but it is quite difficult to find, so ask in reception for directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie-os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom. We very much welcome the feedback we receive from our guests and we take your suggestions and remarks extremely seriously.
Thank you for making a return visit to us, but may I take this opportunity to apologise as your stay, as you describe, did not fully meet your expectations. Providing a restricted menu in our restaurant is not our general policy and we will discuss this matter immediately with our team.
We really do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on another ocassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midleton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel in January and because it was so good we came back this month.
When we arrived we received a lovely welcome and got upgraded to a suite which was beautiful. The first time this has ever happened to us.
The evening meal was first class and the service was very good.
Breakfast was great.
This hotel is so so clean and I am very fussy.
Will definitely come back for a third time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Director of Sales at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion of The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom!
We were delighted to welcome you back and it was our pleasure to be able to upgrade you. I have shared your lovely posting with all our team and we all look forward to hopefully seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Although this hotel is in a small town it beats some major city hotels for service and comfort. The staff are cheerful, helpful and make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive. The food is excellent and the service 5 star. With the added bonus of a pool and on site free parking its a hidden treasure that's worth travelling for.
Kath Barton

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath_barton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre for your recent stay in Macroom.

And thank you most sincerely for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. I have shared your very kind remarks and comments with all our staff and we hope you'll choose Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre the next time you're in Macroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a great stay at the Castle Hotel, over Easter.It was our second trip to Macroom. From check in with Kay, who is still so helpful and cheerful. she managed to arrange our day trips again to different attractions (the kids really enjoyed the crazy golf in Killarney.) The food was as good as ever. The bedroom was comfortable & cosy. The kids keep asking when we can go back to the"hotel" & pool. Hopefully next year!!!!!keep up the goodwork

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johngalw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
On behalf of the Buckley Family and our entire team,(including Kay!), may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments following your recent Easter visit to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Macroom.

We are delighted that you and the kids enjoyed your stay so much and we very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Macroom next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Would never have thought to visit Macroom for a weekend break, but as faith would have it a friend pointed us in this direction. Location is right on the Main street. Staff are exceptional. The most plesant and friendly staff i have encountered in a long time. We had a family room - perfect. 2 adults and 2 children can comfortably relax with eveything at their fingertips. Parkibg to the rear. Coffee shop and bar all within the hotel. We also used the swimming pool which was well worth a visit. Would recommend a stay at this hidden gem in Macroom.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caraq90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely remarks following your family stay at The 4 Star Castle Hotel. And thank you most sincerely for taking the time to tell us and other readers about your visit.

We're so glad you discovered Macroom and the 'hidden gem' as you so kindly describe us. We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We returned recently to this wonderful hotel hoping it was still as good as we remembered, and it was. It is quite a way out of Cork in the small town of Macroom but well worth a visit. The hotel frontage is on the main street and doesn't look that big but it's a tardis inside. It has it's own leisure centre at the back of the premises and a coffee shop at the front which was always packed with locals & guests alike. The staff are quite wonderful, nothing is too much trouble and if you can get the 200 euro package for 2 nights it's a wonder they make any money! We had the package with a free dinner with wine and you could choose from the main menu - 3 delicious courses plus a bottle of wine between 2 people. If you are anywhere in the area - go check it out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkslass3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCork, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to return to The 4 Star Castle Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit so much. You are very kind to post your comments here and share your experiences with others. Please do keep in touch as we will frequently run with that special value offer you enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing