We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit”

McGovern's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 54 Restaurants in Malahide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“First Visit”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Despite staying in Malahide on a regular basis this was my first visit to McGovern's.
I was not dissapointed and will be heading back again - Chicken wings to start followed by a burger.
Both reasonably priced and well cooked - No complaints at all - A good experience overall and recommend that you give it a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ribs160379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    93
    22
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, location and food”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went for a meal on a busy Saturday evening. Friendly and efficient staff were helpful and at hand. Food-wise we had loin of lamb and pan fried seabass. Both were very tasty with big enough portions... Cannot fault the restaurant on anything. great experience and would definitely go back there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sead J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lunchtime”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Malahide is a beautiful place and has a wide variety of place to eat. I was so dissappointed with McGoverns. Everything we asked for, seemed to be unavailable. 2 junior members of staff were running the place and have to say not very well. Some one who was wheelchair bound had to ask staff to remove obstructions from entrance to disabled toilet and this wholle area required indepth cleaning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MARYANNT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Having escaped from a city hotel we headed for the coast. For starters Malahide is lovely and well worth the trip. McGoverns has really good staff, the service is excellent. The food was very good quality and sensibly priced. I had muscles followed by sea bass and both were excellent. Judging by TA the town has 6 better restaurants. All I can think is that the locals are spoiled for choice.
Happy to recommend and would certainly go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Out_to_lunch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“weekend in Malahide”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed in Malahide a couple of weekens ago and we decided to try this restaurant. We both had the sirloin steaks and found them to be very good. Will definitely be back on my next visit to Malahide. Seems to be very popular with the locals. Always a good sign.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGovern's Restaurant also viewed

Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 
Malahide, County Dublin
Malahide, County Dublin
 

Been to McGovern's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing