We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
  
Ways to Experience Malahide Castle
from $14.38
More Info
from $31.05
More Info
from $28.75
More Info
from $494.51
More Info
Reviews (2,275)
Filter reviews
2,275 results
Traveler rating
1,257
767
198
35
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,257
767
198
35
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews talbot family avoca cafe butterfly house walled garden dart train great playground guided tour botanical gardens dublin area dublin airport day trip gift shop interesting history sunny day nice walk worth the trip great place to visit
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,275 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

We were lucky enough to catch the last tour of the day! Very informative lots of information on the Talbot family and what life was like over the 800 years they lived there. Beutiful property!! I would love to come back and spend the day walking all around it. Lovely shops

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank mbs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

Very interesting place to visit when you want to leave the centre of Dublin.Very well maintained historical castle with very professional staff; Our tour guide was really into her story about this place. I just love dit.
Very nice shopping centre and cafetaria next to it.
Place to be !!!!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Bombero47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019

We were 2 Adults and 2 Children... We took the guided tour and enjoyed it very much. English Norman Castle built in the 13th century. I hope that they can complete renovations and show more of the Castle. The 2 Children enjoyed the outdoor play area very much and unfortunately, We missed out on the 'Fairy Trail' as, it had closed already and We didn't walk the garden for the same reason!!… Beware Adults.. before the Playground area... visit the garden and follow the 'Fairy Trail' before visiting the Playground... Children will enjoy the Playground too much!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank sonyamsonyamsonyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019

We enjoyed our day at Malahide Castle. The tour of the castle itself was very interesting and managed to cover a lot of Ireland's history. The rooms are among the best decorated of any similar castle/house tour I've done in the past and capture different eras of the castle's history. The grounds are gorgeous and extensive and your ticket includes entrance to the West Lawn (with a cute fairy trail for the kids (and adults!)), as well as the Botanical Gardens and Butterfly House. All the attractions are a short walk from each other and the Avoca store and restaurant in the visitor's center. Highly recommended

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank schweiz2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

Malahide Castle is about half an hour drive from Dublin's city centre.

It is an ancestral castle used to be owned and occupied by the Talbot's from the royal family of Norman's descent (France) for 800 years. It is now owned by the State following its sales from the last Talbot in 1975 who had no heir.

It is a stunning castle. A concrete example of how the rich live in the era. It was first constructed 800 years ago by a Catholic family who have later had to convert to Protestant to appease the Protestant or Angelican government of the UK. It is politics at its finest. They were landlords who are witnesses to the Great Famine of 1840s.

It is a well preserved dwelling place with most of the furniture intact and the painting of the Talbot's family members. It is a quick tour of what is life in Dublin 800 to 100 years ago.

Entrance fee is 12.5 Euro which is a lot. Kids and students get discount. In an adjacent building of the castle is a visitor centre with a gift shop and a restaurant. Avoca Restaurant is a chain with branches in Dublin It offers wide variety of food. We tried its homemade ham along with 3 kinds of salad. It cost 15.5 Euro. The taste is not fantastic but acceptable. We tried meringue cake and cheese cake. these are fantastic cakes. Perfect for a coffee.

This is a great place to visit on a weekend. The lawn is huge and if walking is your thing, this is a good place.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank TravellingBayong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews