We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super B&B close to airport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Evergreen B&B
Ranked #2 of 12 Malahide B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super B&B close to airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a B&B near the airport for our last night and Evergreen was a great finish to our trip. What appears to be a modest house when you pull in to their on site parking, turns out be a little gem once you meet Olive. Charming and helpful, Olive is a great host and gives you all the info you need for the local pubs and restaurants along with directions and parking tips. Malahide had quite a number of restaurants and pubs which were packed on Saturday night. The room itself was nice and clean. Olive arranged to serve a hot breakfast before 8, to accommodate our flight schedule. A great send off to cap off a wonderful week in Ireland.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
115
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here just one night, our last of our trip and it couldn't have worked out better. Olive runs a wonderful B&B; our room was great and her hospitality was top-notch. The towns of Malahide (where the B&B is) and Howth (a few minutes away) are ideal for a laid-back day or two with great restaurants, shops and walking. Both are seaside suburbs and lovely, and the B&B is just a quick 10 minute ride to the airport. I cannot stress enough how convenient to services yet quiet the location is. It's also close to Malahide Castle if you're interested in that. Another plus is no stairs to your room so don't worry about lugging those bags. There's even a handy back door to make that all that much easier. Olive's breakfast was fantastic, too, and she is super nice and will help you with whatever you need. If and when we travel to Ireland again, I want my next last night to be here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

After dropping our rental car off at the airport for our last two days in Ireland we arrived at Evergreen hours earlier than expected, Olive offered to move our luggage into our room after it was cleaned, and then her and her husband drove us to the train station for our first visit of Dublin. This to me is way above the norm and we greatly appreciated it. The next morning after breakfast she helped us plan our second day of sight seeing in Dublin. That evening her husband helped me print out my boarding pass and also reserved our taxi for the next morning early departure. The whole experience ended our stay in Ireland on a very positive note.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our first visit to Ireland - what a lovely way to start. We spent two nights at Evergreen. Olive's warm hospitality and wonderful B&B should be experienced by anyone wanting a great location and a terrific breakfast! Rooms are very comfortable and her breakfast is simply superb.
She can direct you to great places to visit whist staying in Malahide.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennyC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Evergreen B&B over our anniversary holiday to Ireland, and we loved it. We were here for 2 nights, and from the moment we arrived, Olive made us feel right at home. She is extremely sweet, and very helpful in providing information on Malahide, Howth (a seaside town not far via the Dart system), directions of getting into the center of Malahide from her B&B either through the Malahide Castle grounds or around them, etc.

The rooms are extremely clean, too. We had a view of the garden from our room, and the room was fairly large sized. All of the sheets felt and smelled as though they were newly cleaned (which you would hope was always the case everywhere, but rarely seems to be). Even the bathroom towels were soft and clean smelling.

Olive is an awesome cook as well -- my wife had porridge the first day, and salmon and eggs the second (both of which she loved), and I had the Full Irish Breakfast both days. With my breakfast the pouched egg was cooked perfectly (which is not an easy task), and the white pudding and sausages and bacon were excellent. Toast and other breads came with it as well, and an assortment of cereals, fruits, yogurt, and juices were also included.

The first full day we were in Malahide, Olive actually drove us into the Malahide Castle Grounds (which is very close to her B&B) so we would not tire ourselves of walking the first part of our day. She also on our last day hooked us up with a taxi at a very cheap price to the airport (her B&B is only 15 minutes from the airport, but you would never know this when staying because you do not hear the planes at all, or even notice them).

Tea, juice, water, milk and yogurt are also always readily available in the dining area. The bedrooms are also fitted with free wifi and satellite televisions.

You must see the Malahide Castle and ground, which was owned by the same family (Talbot) for over 800 years, and is now a museum. Very beautiful, and in extremely good condition.

When we return to Malahide, we would definitely return to the Evergreen. Olive is a great person, and the facility is excellent. The location may be a little out of the center of town, but it is a quick walk through the castle grounds to get to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Olive was extremely helpful the day we were there. Great advice provided about Dublin. The early morning continental breakfast before the flight home hit the spot.
A visit to Malahide Castle and the grounds is recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avijh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We chose this place for a short stay in Dublin as we heard that staying in the centre of town would be noisy and we found out that Malahide was a good "out of town" place to stay. As it turned out, we were extremely pleasantly surprised. The place is very close to Malahide town centre with a good choice of restaurants/bars, a beach, and good train connections into the city (it's an excellent walk to the train station through the castle grounds, although it is a bit far but you can take a taxi). Olive is an amazing host and really goes the extra mile to ensure you have an excellent stay, with an excellent breakfast to be had every morning (full Irish, porridge, scrambled eggs on toast, beans on toast, cereals, yogurt, juice), the best we've ever had in a B&B, and the room was excellent - adjoining double rooms sleeping 4 people with a bathroom which was small but very adequate and spotlessly clean as was the rest of the room and B&B. Noise problems were absolutely non-existent. Olive's outstanding customer service was shown on our second morning when a member of our group had to get to Dublin on a 7 am DART train and Olive drove him to the station in the early morning voluntarily. This was a very pleasant surprise to us and shows what you can experience when you come to stay at Evergreen for your trip to Dublin. If you want a memorable Irish experience, look no further, I can heartily recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: If a family of four, ask for room 2, this is a room with two adjoining rooms sleeping 4 people with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThamesDanube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
1.8 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
5.1 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,569 reviews
3.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen B&B

Property: Evergreen B&B
Address: Kinsaley Lane, Malahide Co Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Malahide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxurious 3 star B&B 500 meters from Malahide castle and Gardens. Enjoy excellent accommodation, a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts, private parking all set in peaceful surroundings in a great location. All our modern rooms are spacious with en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Evergreen B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing